We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FISHING EVER!”
Review of Springmaid Pier

Springmaid Pier
Ranked #27 of 119 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Springmaid Beach Resort, the Springmaid Pier stretches 1,060 feet into the ocean. The pier holds the state record for Spanish Mackerel and hosts numerous fishing tournaments. The pier's BARnacles Bar & Grille offers tasty food and drinks in a casual atmosphere. The kids will especially enjoy the hand-dipped ice cream!
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“BEST FISHING EVER!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We love to go fishing at this pier! Friendly people and great fish... Very helpful if you are a beginner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheSandyCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    132
    66
    9
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We went to the pier around 6:45 am and the crowd was low. Husband wanted to fish so the whole family went (myself and 8 month old). We parked for free, but that was extremely limited. Parking was $5. To walk out into the pier it costs $1. We fished so that was included in rod rental and bait. Both of us fishing with one rod and one bait it was $36. My husband caught three spot croakers and we ended up giving them to a lady that was taking them home. She let us use her knife to cut up our bait. You need to run your frozen shrimp bait under the cleaning station to thaw it. People were catching fish quite often and there were at least four small sharks (12-14") caught while we were there. We left about 8:30, and the number of fish caught was slowing down. Get there early it is less crowded and the fish bite. A lot of people go just to walk the pier and see the fishermen.

Helpful?
3 Thank Marjpriedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shakey Grounds”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The pier needs work for sure run down loose boards thank goodness I didn't have to pay to get on it ..was included in my stay.. Fishing poles lined up all over I think they got tangled on themselves more than catching fishes.. not my thing..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calvert City, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the pier!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Loved. loved. loved the Springmaid Pier! Had a lovely gift shop, bar/restaurant with good food at a very reasonable price. Fishing was not our "thing", but if it's your "thing", fishing off this pier was also offered. We just enjoyed sitting out on the pier in the evenings, and enjoying the entertainment that was usually offered free of charge. Was so very relaxing, and was one of our favorite things to during our stay in Myrtle beach!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vgcinky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a evening in Myrtle Beach”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently found the Springmaid Pier while searching for things to do in Myrtle Beach. We had been coming to Myrtle Beach for years, but for some reason had never visited this attraction. It was our lose. My wife and I visited one afternoon and had a great time. My wife loved watching the fishermen haul in their catches and it was great seeing the different fish that were caught. There is also a restaurant on site, but we did not visit it. If you are interesting in fishing, you can rent fishing equipment. As we were leaving, we played a couple games of cornhole. The boards are there on the pier and free to use. I think if you come early in the morning, you might see more fish being caught. Great way to spend a couple hours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vols12vols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springmaid Pier also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Springmaid Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing