We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk on the wild side...”
Review of Springmaid Pier

Springmaid Pier
Ranked #22 of 118 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Springmaid Beach Resort, the Springmaid Pier stretches 1,060 feet into the ocean. The pier holds the state record for Spanish Mackerel and hosts numerous fishing tournaments. The pier's BARnacles Bar & Grille offers tasty food and drinks in a casual atmosphere. The kids will especially enjoy the hand-dipped ice cream!
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walk on the wild side...”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Awesome views...go out at night and feel the waves...during the day you have great views of ocean wildlife...sea turtles, sharks, and jellyfish...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 07sunshine20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    130
    64
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Little Diversion”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a wonderful seafood dinner at a local restaurant, we took an evening stroll down the pier. It's clean, wide with lots of nice people enjoying the view or fishing. There is a bar and a couple of small stores.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey29732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pier is nice but...”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The pier is nice but myrtle beach has gone to crap. I loved this place as a child, now I haven't visited in many years because of how bad it sucks. Dirty Myrtle is right. Charleston is the place to go in SC.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullens, West Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“first time fishing”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

this was our first time fishing from the pier. the staff were very helpful in getting us set up and started. and the price wasn't bad at all. the kids had a blast even though we only caught a total of 3 fish. we did get to see a pretty decent size shark that got hooked. and saw a jellyfish or two swimming by. the pier sits angled with the airport, and the kids loved watching the planes flying so close. we went earlier in the afternoon and it was not too crowded. and it is something we will do again on our next trip. it cost $1 per person to walk out on the pier if you are not fishing, which is reasonable in my opinion

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ckphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pier but....”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great pier as far as location and size but we fished on it for several days and didn't catch anything really. From the fisherman's view point the water is very shallow which keeps the water muddy looking all the time.

Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springmaid Pier also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Springmaid Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing