We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disappointment.”
Review of Caravelle Tower

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caravelle Tower
Ranked #130 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total disappointment.”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I cant believe what just happen to me. I reserve a room like 2 months ago when I came today the tower was under construction, fresh paint, tools on the floor, wet carpet inside the elevator, no pool at all it was bad, I even took pictures of the construction people going up and down painting and fixing stuff from my valcony it was a total dissaster, I would never stay here again and of course I would never recommend it. Nasty place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    28
    15
    15
See reviews for
54
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My family just visited the Caravelle Tower and was really disappointed. We've visited this resort for 10 years and this was the worst. There was ongoing construction that we were not informed of. There was drilling at 8:00am and there was a lot of painting. I tried to sit on my balcony and couldn't because a painter was right in my face. I tried walking out of my door and a painter was painting the door frame. One of the rooms we rented had a broken air conditioner that leaked the entire time and the room smelled like mold. The front desk offered to have someone use a dryvac to get up the water but what good would that do. It would leak again once it was turned back on. The pool at our hotel was also out of service during construction. This was our last year at the Caravelle Tower. I think we will visit Camelot or Dunes Village next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanis071211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We rented a condo from the owners directly. I have to agree that parking is tight and limited. I prefered the towers to the main building, it was very busy by their pool and noisy at night. People seem to like to throw stuff off the balcony there? Alot of young teens. Beware of jelly fish, numerous people got stung daily, the life guard will spray vinegar on the stung area. Bring benadryl just incase. The Caravelle is located in a quieter area, you need a vehicle to get to restaurants and stores. There are no life guard at the pools.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Pros: on the beach & good customer service. They let us check in really early - which was really nice. Cons- we stayed in the towers section- king studio. Really old and not updated probably since the the 80s. Our room had a VHS player!! No DVD ? Has all of your other basic needs- but there are much nicer places for the money. The ice machine is really scary looking, the elevator smelled like urine, and you can hear every sound outside. That is a biggie when it is bike week. Car alarms going off non stop from the vibrations of the bikes. Our chair on our balcony had 3 legs. If you can stay for 3 days, we would recommend the forest dunes. Same area, less money, and much nicer

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolaisnacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We had 4 adults and 2 7-year olds. We felt very cramped. The daily maid service was not so good. They never emptied our trash cans which were very small and needed emptied everyday. The room was nice. Overall was a good experience, would recommend it for a smaller family. Wifi only worked downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danconsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Cant beat the room for the price and what an incredible view.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mochajoe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke,VA
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Stayed at the Caravelle Tower in July.The staff was VERY friendly and helpful!Loved the location,the suite we had was clean and well appointed.The only negative aspect was the long delays waiting for an elevator.It could be a very time consuming ordeal to get from your room to the beach or parking areas.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — elevators
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whittRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#78 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Suites
Monterey Bay Suites
#88 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#72 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#31 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Tower

Property: Caravelle Tower
Address: 7000 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3642
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Caravelle Tower Hotel Myrtle Beach
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing