We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back!”
Review of Ocean Plaza Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Plaza Motel
Ranked #157 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Seymour, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will never go back!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Room was clean and good size for price. No card entry on doors here or the other sister hotels. Money got stolen from wallet. Never found, did file a police report but they couldn't find anything. They do no keep good records of who goes in to clean and the times. I will never go back here or the sister hotels of the polynesian, ocean plaza.

Room Tip: ALWays get a room with the card entry!! IT will tell you who was in and when.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GretchenClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    44
    47
    32
    110
See reviews for
79
64
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My family and I came here for a weekend getaway. We were a little skeptic because of reviews but for the price we decided it would do. When we booked our room we told them we have two small kids and need a working elevator. When we checked in we were on the top floor (7). The elevator only goes to the 6th floor, so we had to carry our kids and luggage up another flight of stairs! When we got to the room we immediately went and bought disinfectant spray! The floor was damp and squished under your feet. After walking on the floor for 5 minutes my son had black feet. We kept our shoes on the whole time. The bathroom was disgusting! The toilet still had poop on the bottom of the lid! We called for extra pillows and someone to clean the bathroom, they told us the hotel had no more pillows and someone would be up to clean the room. ( they never came)! The only good thing about this room was ocean front and since we weren't going to stay in the room too long we decided to stay. The front desk clerk was not helpful at all! We asked where the pools were located and she said she didn't think they had a pool. She asked another employee and they had no idea Either. She called for the manager and the manager said the pool was closed and if we wanted to swim we had to go next door. (very misleading since the pics show a few pools and jacuzzis). To get to the beach was like a maze. The staff also could not tell us the easiest way to walk to the beach. I guess you get what you pay for. We will not be back to the nasty hotel. It was a disaster

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Eastover, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

WOW!!I would like to thank all of the staff at the OCEAN PLAZA for a nice affordable long weekend ,we had a ocean front room that had everything we needed it was clean and comfortable, and even tho our coffee maker broke we were sent a new one very quick . Thank YOU !!! happy to meet such nice people .Linda Johnson 3-22-12 3-26-12

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My friend and I stayed here for our spring break because of the inexpensiveness and the fact that it was one of the only places we could find that allowed 18 year olds to rent a room. We stayed in an oceanfront room on the top story. The room was not close to as bad as the reviews have said. There was minor things like a busted headboard and lamp shade. The washclothes/towels that we were given were kind of sketchy, having holes and black and yellow spots on them. Other then these minor inconveniences the room was great. It had a great ocean view, nice beds, everything was clean wen we got there. They did only clean the rooms like twice the entire week. But for how inexpensive of a hotel this is it was better then I could have expected. I'd defiantly stay here again and recommend it to friends but its more for college kids or families on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a ocean front room. Its only like $5 extra a night and defiantly worth it. Reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVondriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel is a college party house!!!!!!!!!!! Not very clean. Our appliances in our room were damaged. The remote didn't work. We were promised the hotel would have the indoor pool open, but they didn't. However, they did move us to the one that did have the indoor pool and on the way there I was approched by two thugs standing in the parking deck!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I've Read All The Bad Reviews,And Wasn't Sure About Checking In Or Not,But My Husband & I Were On A Budget,& The Price was Right,So We Checked in & Was Really Surprised,The Room Was Really Really Nice,It Was Really Clean,Its Not Fancy But We Really Liked It,The Room Didn't Smell of Mold & Mildew Like Alot Of Other Hotels Do,The Staff Was Nice,The Room Was Nice,The View Was GREAT,& Its in Walking distance Of The Boardwalk,Will be Going Back:)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheila172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Needed an inexpensive place for one night. Sceptical because of the low price of $29, but was checking in late and leaving early. Not much to look at on the exterior, but our room was actually very nice. Clean, nice bathroom, nice kitchen area with large fridge. Would definately stay here again in the off season.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MBowman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
688 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#95 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
49 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#129 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Strand
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Stra...
#151 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Property: Ocean Plaza Motel
Address: 1005 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing