We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Bad as The Negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as Bad as The Negatives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked this location last minute with some apprehension due to the nature of some of the negative feed-backs, but discovered not all of it was warranted. Granted the room was absolutely not properly cleaned with cereal, pieces of food and even toys still on the floor; and bed sheets with strange black makings (possibly make-up), but other than that I found the location quite comfortable and staff member Blake very kind helpful and professional. Would stay again. properly cleaned

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DrPepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    507
    156
    70
    33
See reviews for
745
632
58
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Unbelievable hotel...great staff who checked us in fast! We stayed in a king mini suite and it reminded me of a room on a cruise!! The quality of the towels and linens amazed me (nicer than what I have in my own home..lol) We were completely blown away and never wanted to leave the room!! The breakfast was incredible...homemade belgian waffles!!! This hotel ruined us for any other hotels at the beach...we cannot wait to go back there!!!! Sincerely, Julia/Rock Hill, SC

Green Features: Very clean hotel....the towels were great quality (pleasantly surprised)
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were very close to the ocean, but also had access to two hot tubs, and two swimming pools. This was the reason we were in Myrtle Beach. We wanted to swim and enjoy the Ocean. The Hotel Staff were very professional and lots of fun. The breakfast was worth getting up early for, food was great and staff was friendly. Sink in room was very high. Needed a stool to reach sink to wash face and brush teeth. Over 5'6" no problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience--and thanks for staying with us. We are so glad you availed yourself of our easy beach access, our greatest natural asset. Thanks, too, for the kind words about our breakfast service; we do try to make it worth getting up for! Sorry for your personal inconvenience, but thanks for your pleasant attitude about it. I'm sure your comments will prove as useful to others as they have to us. When you publicize your comments, it helps us to improve, which is precisely what we always are working to do. Hope to someday welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Reviews in Trip Advisor helped me in my selection of Best Western Grand Strand and I found my stay to be quite enjoyable. Room had 3 double beds in two rooms, small kitchen area, and short walk across the street to the beach was not bad since there is a cross walk right there. I had a problem with my toilet not flushing, but maintenance was right there and after some work found a previous guest had flushed down a bar of soap which caused a flushing issue--maintenance fixed this right away and cleaned up after wards. Good buffet breakfast with variety and some changes from day to day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I want to thank you for your direct and honest words regarding your stay with us. When you "tell it like it is," others benefit. As to the issue you encountered--there's no preventing the unexpected, and my staff and I could never be happy with an issue in one of our rooms, but we are proud of our around-the-clock readiness to deal with anything. Your comfort is our only goal and we are ready at all times to do whatever we can to provide for it. Like everyone, we're on the learning curve--and striving to provide a superior stay for our guests. You are helping us to improve, and keep on improving. Have a wonderful summer, and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurinburg, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

At my request due to health issues asked to be placed on ground floor or 2nd floor if no elevator so I didn't have to climb stairs. We were placed in a nice, but very small, room on the ground floor next to the laundry/maintenance room. First night was fine. Friday night had to call office due to door slamming in the laundry. Saturday 6:15am door slamming began again. Complained at check out and mgr was very arrogant and basically said it was my fault for asking to be on the ground floor. I didn't ask to be placed by the laundry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patricia A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I apologize if somehow I managed to convey to you any message besides that which my staff and I hold closest and most dear: There is nothing we wouldn't do to provide for the comfort of our guests, and nothing we would intentionally do to cause them discomfort. Your peace and quiet are important to us, and I am disappointed that you were disappointed. Also, please know we are taking steps to make certain this truly unusual event becomes, in the future, an impossible event. I sincerely hope for another opportunity to provide to you a superior hospitality experience. That is our mission and our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are a bit small but overall compared to other hotels in the area it's totally worth not having the extra space. The employees are so nice and helpful. The hotel is extremely clean and quiet. I will be returning to this hotel my next vacation...overall it's just awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgsb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Decided to stay at this location based on reviews from trip advisor. Ocean Front bldg, 5th floor 2 Queen beds, didn't get corner room as requested but it worked out ok. Indoor pool & hot tub were clean and comfortable temp, nice to use at end of long day. Room was clean, Kitchenette in room was nice (was supposed to be set up for service for 4, but many of items there were only 3 of but didn't complain since we had 3 in our party and but there was no dish soap), full size fridge w/ ice maker. Wireless router in room, so had no problems with wi-fi. Only room complaint was that the air conditioner was right next to bed and blew cold air directly on me all night, tried everything to prevent it but no avail, just bad room set up. Bathroom is very small and no place to put things in tub. they were remodeling some rooms while we were there, but couldn't hear any noise from it. Ocean bldg was very quite in general, never heard any of our neighbors at all. Key card access only- no issues with security, parking was sufficient at our bldg.
Short walk across street to Breakfast, area inside is very small and crowded, with some addtl seating outside, if you got there before 830 it wasn't a problem. Hot Breakfast was average. Carryout breakfast consisted of small bottle of water, granola bar, danish and choice of apple or banana, not much but good enough. They do charge an additional $5 cash key deposit which wasn't noted anywhere, but was returned on check out. Most of the staff was wonderful, one of the front desk clerks was unfriendly/not very knowledgeable of area, but would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If staying in ocean front definitely recommend 4th floor or higher so you can see ocean over sand du...
See more room tips
Green Features: They did offer a recycle bin in the room, although I didn't see a recycle bin on maid's cart so I question if they really recycle. The room was motion sensor monitored so when returned from being gone all day, AC had shut off and it was a bit stuffy, but it cooled off quickly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Thumper_pls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean. Our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers, and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing