We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

We stayed in the Best Western for three nights and had no real complaints about our stay. Our room was in the main hotel across the street from the ocean. Once you were able to get across the street, the beach was great. The hotel staff was friendly and the room while much smaller than we expected was very clean.

We didn't use the kitchen in the room, but I could see it being used if we had stayed a few more days. Very convenient to have a full size fridge to throw leftovers, drinks, etc. in at the end of the day.

We'd stay at the hotel again but would upgrade to the ocean front rooms on the beach rather than deali with walking across the roadway.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean
  • Disliked — No crosswalk to get across busy street to access beach
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naturegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    507
    156
    70
    33
See reviews for
745
631
58
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

After reading many good reviews, my Mother, daughter and I decided to stay a night before heading to the airport for our flight home. Bad Decision! Our King room was dark and very noisy due to being on the lower floor .Many people were yelling, and the room itself although clean was run down. I expected better of a Best Western . I suspect that the good reviews may be for the rooms across the street on the ocean. Also, way over priced! They had better motels up the street that looked better, and they were only $50.00 . Don't stay here if your looking for anything better then a run down motel. My 8 year old daughter explained it perfectly by saying the place should be called the worst western not the best!

Hamilton, Canada

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamilton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

Waiting time to check in and out---Long. The wireless high speed internet access was non existent. The room was decent though, but a little pricey for what else was available while we were down there.

  • Liked — Near water
  • Disliked — Wait times at front desk
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hondojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

We are a 3 generational family and this is our 6th visit. We really like the rooms, the friendly staff, the clean pool and lazy river, and the slower pace of this end of Myrtle Beach. We are very close to the ocean and that is nice. We spend 51 weeks each year in eager anticipation of our next vacation week here.

  • Liked — Pool and breakfast
  • Disliked — Not enough bath towels
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PaMissPriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2007

Noisy. Two stars. THe place was low class. There was parking in front of the door and in the back of the room too. THere was noise and yelling in both places. Not a good night sleep.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank miniNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

I stayed with my Wife and 2 kids (7 and 9) in June for 4 nights in the non ocean front section of the hotel. We had a great time. The pools are clean and well kept. The rooms are nice and clean, nothing extravagant, but well worth the price. We had a private balcony overlooking the pool that provided a nice spot for morning coffee.

The hotel is on the quiet end of Mrytle Beach and the owner does not seem to tolerate loudness or parties, etc. As a matter of fact, I saw him every day and he never failed to ask how things were. So, if you had an issue in this hotel I feel confident he would listen - and make it right.

Overall, this is a nice hotel in a nice location with a friendly and helpful staff. We had no issues getting breakfast, parking, or with any services.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleplain, NJ
Level Contributor
192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

Stayed here after investigating many beach front rooms. Chose this one because it was reasonably priced, and included a plentiful continental breakfast, daily newspaper and coffee machine in the room.

The front desk was knowledgeable and friendly. Our room housekeeper did a nice job. Maps, directions and printing of our boarding passes were some courtesies given to us by the staff!

The hotel is right across the street from the beach and when you tire of the sand, relax in the very clean pool area. Enjoy an ice cream bar you can purchase from the cart. Nice to relax and leave the work schedule!

Breakfast was good. Cold cereal, assorted juices, milk, fruit cups, bagels, danish and of course coffee and tea! A lady makes homemade waffles for you. The sitting area is very limited but we enjoyed breakfast outside on wrought iron tables or the pool area had tables.

Lots of families rented but noise is kept to a minimum at night. Glad we made this choice and they will see a return customer!

  • Liked — Across the street from the beach, good price, continental breakfast!!!
  • Disliked — Not enough inside table space for eating breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylAnnRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean. Our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers, and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing