We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Show”
Review of The Carolina Opry

The Carolina Opry
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.40*
and up
The Carolina Opry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you only see one show... this is the one! "Top Attraction in Myrtle Beach" according to CNBC! The Carolina Opry has won every major South Carolina tourism award including Most Outstanding Attraction and the prestigious Governor's Cup. And it's the only show that has been featured on NBC Nightly News, CNN, TNN, and USA Today, which called it "A Big Hit". The New York Post called it "A Hot Ticket".Entertainer and entrepreneur Calvin Gilmore launched The Carolina Opry on South Carolina's Grand Strand in 1986. His live music variety show features a cast of 36 of the nation's top singers, dancers, comedians and musicians in its own 2200-seat show palace with state-of-the-art sound and lighting and three giant video screens. The show, which is continually updated with new music and comedy, is two hours of high energy entertainment that blends humor and dancing with everything from rock 'n roll, Broadway and country to classic hits, pop melodies and gospel.Young and old are counted among its fans who are sure to include a performance in their visit to Myrtle Beach.In November and December the theater is transformed into a winter wonderland where the magic of the season comes alive in The Carolina Opry Christmas Special a wonderfully dazzling, jolly and sentimental musical celebration of America's best-loved holiday..
Erwin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Show”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was a great show, the one my husband enjoyed the most. We now know why it is voted number one. We would recommend anyone who has not seen it to go.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luvsweeniedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,066
    279
    113
    30
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas show”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The performers (singers and dancers) are the best! Very talented, costumes are beautiful. Great comic relief too. Would highly recommend this to anyone who has not seen it and would definitely return to see it again. Loved every minute of it!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Christmas Show”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Saw the Christmas Show...what a blast! Great talent..singing, dancing, comedy. Sold out crowd seemed very appreciative! Would definitely do this again. Also..was great to hear the word Christmas and Jesus Christ used freely.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Christmas Show Fun”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We went back to see the Christmas Show and it was just as good as the regular shows the Opry puts on. I took my granddaughter to see the show and she loved the live singing and dancing. We saw the tap dancers "All That" in the show and they were also in the Macy's Parade and she told every one about them. She wants to go back and see the other shows in the summer. Worth the time and money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCB1646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardeeville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Made me feel alive”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went to the The Carolina Opry on Nov 6th and it was the highlight of our entire vacation. Also went to Legends on Nov 8th and Jersey Nights on Nov 9th. The other shows were not even in the same class.
The music was wonderful and being a veteran I thank you for the tribute to our troops while singing I'll be home for Christmas. Thank you for not taking Jesus Christ out of Christmas and ending the show with He's Alive was fitting and beautiful. Seeing a performance like that made me feel alive and thankful to be an American.
Prior to coming to the Carolina Opry I had read on trip advisor someone complaining about the seating being cramped. If you are morbidly obese and your backside is extremely wide I surely can see that you might have a problem. You cannot park a mack truck in a compact parking space comfortably.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carolina Opry also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Carolina Opry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing