We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polynesian Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #191 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 29 June 2014

They charged a fee saying it was a tax that was not included in the booking fee, NO PARKING ZONE someone was parking right behind us and was difficult to get out of handicap space, holes in sheets, filthy dirty, bad mattresses, Stay any place but here, miss management , no safes, WHAT A JOKE of a hotel worse than 3rd world resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is gross! It's dirty, mold everywhere, carpets weren't vacuumed, there were candy wrappers under the bed (obviously they don't clean between patrons). We asked for the room to be cleaned and vacuumed and they didn't send anyone. We complained about the disgusting shower curtain and they didn't even change it. The towels were stained and like sand paper, the walls and dresser were dirty. The dust on the air conditioner was two inches thick. Simply.....disgusting!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georgette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My boyfriend and I needed to book a hotel pretty fast and at a good price so we chose the Polynesian without reading any of the reviews. When we got there, we noticed that it looked a little bit dirtier than the pictures, but didn't really think much about it. When we went to check in, there was a little bit of a wait so we decided to read some reviews about the place. We were terrified and almost ready to cancel our reservations and look for some other place; however, we decided to give the room a try and base it off of that. When we got to the room, we were PLEASANTLY surprised of what we found. Of course the room is not a five star place, but it's definitely not as bad as what I read on here from other reviews. I believe most of the problem is that people want to stay somewhere cheap, and experience a five star hotel. My only problem with this place would be that the staff is not as friendly as they should be, but if they dealt with any of the stuff that was on here, I would be rude too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who knew they got what they paid for.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idontknow123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

if you like mold,dirt,old rotten wood molding this is your dream stay. floors are nasty carpet, bathroom awful, toilet not attached to the floor. caulking thick as an inch or more around toilet and tub. mold growing in it. old T.V. small. none of the rooms are anything like the pictures they have on their website. elevators [2] stopped working. reported it to the front desk. I was informed someone was working on them. they must be transparent. next day I ran into the maintenance super. ask him about the elevators, said he was on the phone with a repair person, trying to get them to come fix them. would not listen to the other issues. this place may work for some, but our 8 day stay was the worst ever. never again. vacation is supposed to be enjoyable, living in a dump for 8 days makes everything else you do less enjoyable.

Room Tip: go to another hotel/motel or realtor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david-nitfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Extremely dirty. The toilet did not work. It was just awful. Never again. I immediately went back and canceled my stay when I saw the room. The bathroom had mold. The carpet was dirty and the walls were not much better. Kids were doing drugs all around the hotel. There were two teenagers passed out in the door way. This not the place to bring a family.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dhend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

DO NOT PAY ATTENTION TO THE BAD REVIEWS!!

The bad reviews we read after we booked almost made us want to cancel, but we figured it couldn't be so bad. When we got here we expected the worst hotel on Myrtle Beach. We only payed a deposit to hold the room and pay the rest when we got there and asked to go look at the room before we played for the rest of the week. The moment we stepped in the room, we were impressed. It blew past our expectations, it was very clean, roomy, and not falling apart like everyone said, and we were ready to pay for the rest of the week. We had so much fun, we made friends with everyone on our whole floor and partied with them every night. This is a great place if you're fresh out of Highschool or College considering that's 90% of the people staying here. If you get on the 1-3 floor ocean front, you will love it. Non-oceanfront rooms and the 4-9th floors are worse the higher up you get. We came on senior week and had a great time. ENJOY!

P.S. We liked it so much we booked an extra night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank CountryBoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Very highly priced for very run down hotel....old rooms, nasty hallways, dirty carpet, old tvs, extremely old mattresses. DO NOT WASTE MONEY HERE. 2nd floor room with ocean view blocked by Palm trees. Phone in room does not work. Location+

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Srs5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#142 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
708 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#97 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
53 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#165 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Beach & Golf Resort

Address: 1001 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#104 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £36 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Polynesian Beach & Golf Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Polynesian Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Beach And Golf Resort
Polynesian Beach & Golf Hotel Myrtle Beach
Polynesian Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing