We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend”
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
Ranked #39 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We rented 4 three bedroom units for a family gathering - accommodations were great, maid service could not have been better, fantastic view, and a plus to have Starbucks and Martins in the same building. Fifth year we have done this, already looking forward to next year!

Anna C.

Room Tip: Ocean Front for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 191MAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Allow me to express the warmest and the most sincere regards to you and your family on behalf of the Long Bay Resort. I am happy to read your visit with us was just perfect. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    688
    296
    161
    151
See reviews for
1,298
339
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was our second visit to this resort. We came back due to the previous visit being generally positive. This time, not so much. We stayed 3 nights in December as a mini getaway.
First, let me say that I do have fairly high expectations, but not high enough that they are unrealistic. We won't be returning to this resort based on this stay.
First, when we arrived, check in was quick and painless. Desk staff were friendly. We got to our room quickly. The room was a ocean front suite. The room was clean and had no odors. The room had very little personality and was pretty boring, but hey, it's just for 3 days. The bathroom fan vibrated like it was loose and threatening to fall on your head. The first morning we were greeted by hammering from the unit upstairs. It sounded like someone was hammering on the floor.... Then, bugs started coming crawling on the wall in the living area and in the bathroom. Not sure what kind of bug, but any bug is not good. Finally, the indoor pool area was being used by one of the "owners" to have a birthday party that was full of people and their kids. They were making it very difficult for my wife and I to use the hot tub and the pool. When I approached the staff about this they told me they were allowed to do this.
The resort's indoor pool area is showing pretty strong signs of use and lack of upkeep. We were very disappointed with the general condition of the resort now as we were generally pleased during our last visit.
Pluses are the beds were fairly comfortable, the staff was generally efficient, and the hot tubs were hot. Parking was convenient as well.
There is too many other resorts in MB to return to a resort that doesn't maintain its amenities or allows outside people to use their facilities denying paying customers from enjoying them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmicvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the noise in your room. The company is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. At Long Bay Resort, we are in constant pursuit of perfection. Currently, we are working on the general condition of the Resort that will prevent similar problems from occurring in the future. If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Spent a great week with 15 of my golf buddies. Accomodations were comfortable and maid service was good. Enjoyed beautiful ocean views from our large balcony. Breakfast was part of the package, buffet style with omelet chef and great serving staff. Enjoyed playing golf on five premium courses. This place is a good value for your money. We have been coming here for several years and the experience is always above par.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Long Bay Resort. We strive to provide you a room that is clean and comfortable, with friendly attentive service as we always want to be your first choice. Our staff will be happy to assist you at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We want to preface this with saying that we have 20 years of customer service between us and therefor rarely post negative reviews because we know all too well the hardships employees face behind the scenes while juggling the needs of their guests. That being said...
We were woken up at 8am by very noisy construction right outside of our room. To our alarm a stranger was kneeling outside of our window, which we later found out was to use the power outlet leading from our hotel suite. We called the front desk and the women we spoke to said she had no knowledge of there being construction this morning and that she would talk to her manager. Construction continued for another two hours. And the front desk NEVER called us back to address the issue! We've never stayed at a hotel that had such a low standard for customer service. The irony is that the "management" will most likely provide a well-measured face saving response to this trip advisor review. A review that never would have been posted with such negativity if the front desk hotel staff did in fact contact her management, we still question if she actually passed the message along. We don't even want to think about the possibility that the manager received our message and chose to summarily ignore it by not to responding. When we went to check out, and were asked how our stay was, we told the women at the front desk that we were woken up by construction at 8am outside of our room. Her very curt response was "Oh it's Monday." When she saw our confused looks as to how that answer provided an explanation to our rude awakening, she then said "They usually start at 9am." APPALLING! The voice of the woman at the front desk was the same as the one on the phone, she seemed completely unconcerned with the issue and more than happy to have us check out much earlier than needed. (We decided to check out early because of the headache of the construction.) If you know there is construction every Monday at 9am why would you put guests in a room right by the construction, when it is not busy season and the hotel was not at all full. We were made to feel as though they really didn't care whether we enjoyed our stay or not.
We are not ones to tell people not to stay somewhere as everyone should have their own experience, since we believe everyone's experience is their own opportunity to form their own opinions and create their own memories. This is just a warning for people who work hard for their vacation time and cherish that limited time as much as we do. We don't want you to waste your money or time at a place that could not care less about the guest's experience. (For management purposes we stayed The night of December 1, 2013 and checked out at 10am December 2, 2013. We didn't catch the woman's name who was at the front desk at the time because we were so appalled by her brusque responses, so hopefully date and time can help you figure out who needs further training in customer service.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the noise in your room. We appreciate your feedback as we always strive for perfection, taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again. This is especially saddening because at Long Bay Resort, we are committed of bringing 100% satisfaction to our guests. Should you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It is off season but we decided to come to Myrtle Beach for an event at the convention center last minute and wanted a place with separate bedrooms for our two families. We looked around but found Long Bay Resort had a three bedroom condo for a really reasonable price. Seemed too good to be true but we went for it! We loved the ocean front 3 bedroom condo and enjoyed the indoor lazy river, pool and even more so, the multiple hot tubs. We were not sauna fans so we didn't use it and didn't have time to use the fitness room but had a lovely buffet breakfast at Martin's, had a few drinks and snacks at the café, got a Starbucks buzz from some good coffee and went next door to a great sports bar that had wonderful food, drink and peanuts we could enjoy while we waited. We were not far from a multitude of other places to eat and had a blast at the Broadway on the Beach sites, especially the Crocodile Rocks dueling piano bar. Had a blast and planning another trip in January!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieA585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Long Bay Resort for your recent stay in Myrtle Beach. I am happy to hear that the 3 bedroom Condo and its amenities met your expectations and that you had a lovely breakfast at the restaurant. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed in a single room with 2 queen beds this trip. Rooms still look like advertised on the site. We came in November and stayed 5 days. Cost for room with 1 adult and 2 kids was $275. They have updated the laundry room. $1.50 for wash, $1 to dry. Quarters only and no change machine present. we had to get quarters form the Ocean View Cafe. Was disappointed in the wash cycle as there was no real rinse cycle to add softener. Also, there wasn't a laundry detergent/softener machine to purchase needed items. They also moved the gift shop to the ground floor. In its place was a business room with a table and chairs and 2 computers for guests to use free of charge. As a graduate student, I found use of this room to do my school work. We visited the Ocean View Café for a snack one evening. For me and both my daughters our bill came to $25 even for 2 bottled waters ($1.50 ea), a fountain drink ($2.15), loaded nachos ($6.95) and 2 burgers ($4.95 and $6.95). Appetizers started around $4, burgers ranged from $4.95- $6.95 and chicken sandwiches $4.95-$5.75. The food was decent. Wifi in this hotel was hit and miss as was the cell phone service. We had no cell service in the laundry room, business room or the café. I had better cell service while standing on the beach. We'll stay again next year :)

Room Tip: We always stay in ocean front rooms. For the busier seasons, I suggest staying in higher levels to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Long Bay Resort. We are glad to hear that your are planning to stay with us next year. I take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Long Bay Resort and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We've been coming to Myrtle Beach every fall with 8-12 golfers for the last 17 years, I believe 12 of which we've stayed at Long Bay. What they offer can't be beat. They have a first class team to make all your arrangments, three bedroom condo's are perfect for each foursome, Martin's for breakfast has great food and service, check in is a breeze, parking is very convenient, and their central location makes it easy for north or south end courses, restaurants, and night clubs. We've stayed other places a few times if all our courses to be played are either far north or south, but we always come back to Long Bay. We've already begun planning our November 2014 trip with a return to Long Bay.

Room Tip: North end rooms have a little better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for for continue choosing to stay with us at Long Bay resort Hotel, we are happy to read your visit with us are always conmfortable and amazing. Our staff is pleased to be of service and eager to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Property: Long Bay Resort
Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3847
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing