We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Stay”
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was very unhappy with my stay at Long Bay Resort. We got to the hotel late (due to a flight) and were extremely tired. When we walked into our room, the mattress covers were covered in stains. We pulled down the sheets to go to bed and there was dried blood on our sheets. We had to wait 30 minutes for someone to come change our sheets and no one ever apologized. The next day, they took care of the dirty mattress covers by removing them and just exposing the mattress. The assistant manager told us she would "make it up to us" but nothing was ever done. We had to call the front desk to have a maid just bring us towels and empty the trash. It is a very unorganized hotel. The hotel is older and is definitely hurting from salt water air. It needs to be updated and painted. I will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

It is with great concern we received your comments outlining the problem you had with our service. First and foremost, on behalf of Long Bay Resort, I would like to personally apologize for your inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the issues in your room. I assure you we are taking the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the future. If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,203 - 1,209 of 2,651 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

The room was clean, the staff was friendly and we had a great view of the ocean! My daughter loved the pool, and the free DVD rentals were wonderful. This was a great vacation. Our third stay at this hotel was the best one yet. I would highly recommend this property.

That said, I would like to just say that the guest rooms could use new bed spreads, and the Wi-Fi was very slow. Other than that, nothing negative to say about it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pand_1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Long Bay Resort, we are happy to read you had a Great Stay with us. We look forward to demonstrating services special for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

nice accommodations. Loved the view. Coupons provided for area attractions made the rate a better value. Kids loved choosing the DVD's. One bedroom was missing a TV which was a little disappointing. Will probably return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we thank you for staying with us. We are glad your kids enjoyed the DVD's. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

First time at Myrtle Beach and we had a great time with so much to see and do. The resort was spacious enough that we weren't stepping over each other. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Only downfall was my wife hurt her ankle and we had to leave early (no discount was allowed due to the emergency) if that wouldn't have happened we would have stayed. Since it was an injury I felt they should have given us a credit towards another stay at a future date or partial refund.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Long Bay Resort for your first stay in Myrtle Beach. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Our staff is pleased to be of service and eager to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon! The trip was wonderful, but our hotel room was disgusting!! The carpeting was soaking wet in front of our doors outside, the beds were wrinkly and looked like they just remade them, there we're staines on the bed cover, Footprints!!! On our pillow cases, the hallways we're disgusting and stunk! Such a bad experience especially for the money we spent to stay there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique12986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

First and foremost, on behalf of Long Bay Resort, I would like to personally apologize for your inconvenience you may have experienced. We accept responsibility and I assure you we are taking the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the future. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Should you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed week of 8/3/14. Pools, hot tubs are great. Walking distance to beach.Service was excellent. Pool chairs/tables/lounges were plentiful. Having the ability to park in a garage, walk to your room, ride the elevator to ground floor for pools, hot tubs and walk to the beach overrides the facts that the WIFI was very slow, Rooms need to be updated, carpet replaced, musty odor in room, dirty behind murphy bed and becoming pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean views, more of a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Oldtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your comments. We are happy to see that the distance to the beach and the service was excellent. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Long Bay Resort and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just got back today from our stay at Long Bay and we had a fantastic time!

Pros:
Pool area is great. Even when it was busy it didn't seem too crowded. There were plenty of activities to keep everyone entertained.
Kids club was a nice perk for my kids who made sand art ornaments and tie dyed t-shirts for minimal costs.
Beach access is right off the back of the hotel. It is a public beach with lifeguards on duty during day time hours.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The concierge went out of his way to offer any assistance he could give.
Housekeeping staff was in Our room daily changing garbage and towels.
Parking on your room level in covered garage.

Cons:
The hotel does look dated in places. The decor/fixtures could use updating, but it is clean!
Wi-fi was very spotty. Sometimes it worked and other times it didn't.
Cell phone service (At&T) was limited most of the time due to the parking garage and tall buildings.

If you're looking for a good deal but still wanting on site leisure opportunities, this is a great place to get both. Overall we had a great time and would recommend this resort to other families with children traveling to myrtle beach.

Room Tip: There are multiple floor plans, so Look at floor plans and see which is best fit before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar C, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I was delighted to hear you had a great vacation at our hotel and the staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,237 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,280 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,071 reviews
7.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3847
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £42 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing