We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Trip”
Review of Myrtlewood Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Myrtlewood Villas
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Golf Trip”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

12 guys on a golf trip. 3 two bedroom units,all different, because they are privately owned. no maid service unless you want to pay extra. washer and drier in all units, so not a problem to do towels by yourself. Great location great price very close to restaurants ,bars and golf courses.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtag17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    141
    99
    84
    110
See reviews for
310
83
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay..Has nice rooms, and views are amazing.Location is close to everything that you'd want to see, beach, and lots of shopping near by. Kitchen has everything you will need for cooking.However there are many hidden fees, that are not explained to you when booking. Pool and parking fees etc.Customer service was awful, staff was very rude and unconcerned about our needs. While rooms were nice the could have been cleaner. The iron in one of the rooms did not work, and we were told that owner was responsible for replacing it. There was not any trash bags in one of the rooms and adjoining bath, was told we would have to get our own. Will not be staying here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Jakarthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Dorchester, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The property was great looking from the out side but the units are not kept up! The carpet was dirty and the sheets looked very dingy! We had to go and buy pillows because they were so flat and looked dirty!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tweety51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Upon entering the beautiful community and even entering the unit we were assigned, we were impressed with the Myrtlewood Villas. The grounds are beautiful and picturesque. The unit was great for accomodating our family of four. The two bedroom, two bath, full kitchen, dining area and livingroom with patio facing a beautiful golf course was almost as good as being in our own apartment.

Our weekend stay was nice, but once we settled in, we were not happy with the overall housekeeping. The furnishings in the unit that we stayed were not so much outdated but worn. Spare blankets were not folded, the carpet was dirty, vents were caked with dust, and the screen to the sliding door was splattered with who knows what. Our mistake was in thinking that reporting these issues to guest services would make a difference. I will say that the staff was nice and helpful where they could be. It wasn't until we reported that the TV and DVD player in the livingroom did not work that we realized that there is a difference in timeshare rentals versus big named hotel rental. Property repair issues often have to get the approval from the owner. Thank goodness there were two other TV's in the unit.

Although the unit had all the comforts of home, we did not feel very comfortable walking around barefoot or even sleeping in the beds. The kingsized bed in the master bedroom was two twin mattresses with a cushion wedge to cover the seam. That made the middle of the bed a little uncomfortable. When we left, I felt like we needed to take a long hot shower and wipe our bodies down with alcohol clothes.

I am a little hesitant about recommending Myrtlewood Villas because of the housekeeping. However, I did enjoy the setup and space. I loved the livingroom with television concept for family time (even though our television didn't work) and the separate bedrooms. The price was right, the property was lovely and the pool and fitness room were adaquate. The Villa was close enough to all the attractions, plenty of shopping, and within 2 miles of the beach. I did not check the Tripadvisor reviews before going because this place was booked for us. So, I would not blatently say don't book this place, I would just say "Beware".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronajona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

this is the second time I have stayed here for a golf trip with friends. Each time it has been the ideal accommodations. Centrally located to literally everything. This will be our place to meet for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was very impressed with Myrtlewood Villas. We decided to give it a try versus the normal hotel style.
Check in was a little chaotic on a Friday afternoon, but the staff was nice. We received a nice 2bed/2 bath fully furnished condo with washer/dryer. The unit was on the first floor and had a golf course view. Broadway at the Beach was only a 5 minute drive.

Booked through Orbitz.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My initial impression upon arrival at Myrtlewood was disappointing. As previously stated by other guests, it's a crapshoot what you 'll find in the way of accommodations when you arrive. Myrtlewood is a very large condo complex. I attempted to call the reservation desk on numerous occasions prior to arrival; I was never able to reach a live receptionist - their answering system is pretty much automated and when you finally reach a prompt to leave a message (I think messages are recorded in a netherworld) don't hold your breath waiting to hear back. I left three messages and received zero return calls.

My initial condo rental was three flights up (not fun when you're hauling luggage and foodstuffs). Upon entering the rental, the first problem encountered was the discovery of an 85 degree indoor temperature. The AC was not working. The remaining issues were dirty rugs, aging furniture, less than clean bathrooms and bedroom fans that were inoperable.

I will say maintenance was quick to arrive and pronounced the unit DOA. We were assigned to a new condo unit on the 4th floor in a newer section of the development (which mercifully had an elevator). There was no comparison in quality and cleanliness. The new unit was tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. So, as previously stated, when you reserve a condo in this development you don't know what you're going to get until you arrive.

Our visit had a happy ending and was centrally located to areas we wanted to visit. However, its' location for beach going could be an iffy proposition based on beach parking fees. They ain't cheap - especially if you go every day.

There is one little detail about driving in Myrtle Beach that isn't in the tour books; there are no left hand turn signals on the main highways. When you enter a left turn lane there are no lights to control when you can actually turn left. It's a game of chicken (and a prayer). It's quite an experience. The locals just shrug and say "welcome to South Carolina". Go figure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obliv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,795 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
5.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtlewood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtlewood Villas

Property: Myrtlewood Villas
Address: 1410 48th Avenue Ext N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-8700
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Myrtlewood Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best in a Myrtle Beach vacation, book with Myrtlewood Villas! - Over 250 one, two and three bedroom condos available, all standard with conveniences like full kitchens, washer/dryers and TVs with cable - Diverse bedding perfect for any size group - Specializing in group reservations - Only a short drive from the most popular Myrtle Beach attractions, including Broadway at the Beach, Myrtle Waves Water Park and the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk - Multiple outdoor pools available, as well as an indoor pool and lazy river - Fitness center available to all guests - Multiple picnic shelters and BBQ grilling facilities - Sand volleyball courts and shuffleboard courts - Two on-site golf courses With great location only a mile inland from the Myrtle Beach coast and tasteful, modern accommodations sure to satisfy, Myrtlewood Villas is sure to be perfect for your beach vacation! Offering guests one, two or three bedroom condos with modern conveniences like fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryers and multiple TVs with cable, these sterling properties are a perennial favorite for Myrtle Beach visitors. The surrounding property of Myrtlewood presents its guests with great amenities like multiple outdoor pools, an indoor heated pool and lazy river, hot tubs, sand volleyball courts, exercise facility, picnic areas and two championship-quality golf courses. Myrtlewood Villas is located mere minutes from the most popular attractions available along the Grand Strand. From shopping and nightlife at Broadway at the Beach to taking a stroll along the recently renovated Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, a short drive is all it takes to connect you and your guests to non-stop fun! Make sure your next Myrtle Beach vacation is your best one yet and book a fantastic condo with Myrtlewood Villas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Myrtlewood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtlewood Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtlewood Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing