We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Excellent, As is Property Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #14 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stay at least once a year and the staff this past trip seemed much more helpful than in the past. The hotel has stopped charging for parking, though there is a 15 resort fee. Being on the beach in a slightly exclusive area make is a better pick for us that Marina Inn at Grand Dunes (on the inter coastal waterway nearby). Rooms were good and a/c quiet. I would say the front desk staff we encountered (Dillon?) could be transferred to a Ritz at any time....that good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear ritzytopaz,

We are happy to hear that you felt the staff has improved and you enjoyed your sleeping room as well as the resort's location. Thank you for staying with us year after year. We hope to see you again next time you are in Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

I booked this hotel two weeks before our arrival and thought it was going to be great place to spend the last two days of our vacation while visiting the boy's sister. Upon arrival, I was wowed by the lobby. Check in seemed rushed. The desk agent said we had been upgraded to a full ocean view. However, he added, the room had two double beds although we requested one king. When the boy asked him if there were any king rooms available he said no. We went up to our room on the second floor and when we entered it smelt like you were in the pool house where they kept the chlorine. A full ocean view in this room was more like a partial ocean view. We swung open the Juliet doors and yes we could see the ocean, but we could also see the kiddies at the pool and their parents smoking butts and hear the pool music. Not for us. The real disappointment was the room itself. If we closed the curtains and guess what kind of hotel it was, it seemed more like a Comfort Inn than a Marriott. It didn't look dirty, but it just felt dirty. Please note, there is nothing wrong with a Comfort Inn, we've stayed there many times, just not on a price tag similar to what we were paying here. We decided it would make for a long two days to stay, and brought our luggage back down to the lobby to check back out. We were pleased that when we explained to the front desk staff that the resort just wasn't for us, that they were apologetic and offered to make us comfortable. We appreciated their efforts which help up to the Marriott brand and made the incident a little less painful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Flyergal,

We appreciate the time you took to post a review and provide your feedback as it helps us to ensure we live up to Marriott standards. I am sorry that we feel short in this instance and that you were disappointed by your accommodations. Thank you for the honest feedback. We hope you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay in the Myrtle Beach area and we wish you both a wonderful time wherever your next vacation may take you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

close to all attractions. super staff to all, employe"s . 5 stars, from us! gotta try a fireworks store ! we have never bought these before, But we did there, did not go crazy although, be careful of the places you light them? if anyone is in to fish+all ya can eat boy oh boy , get there soon, we are going back to finish what we started!!!! great stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICKANDCARMEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear RICKANDCARMEN,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and go to enjoy all that Myrtle Beach has to offer. Thank you for your great comments about the property's location and the staff. We hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have been coming to this resort for the last 5 years for my birthday celebration and will continue to do so. September is a wonderful time of year here at the beach. The hotel staff has always been accommodating and it has been so nice to see the same staff from year to year. We have visited the spa each year and it has always been one of the highlights of the trip.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Melonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Melonie D,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Myrtle Beach Marriott. We are thrilled to hear that you have been here for the last 5 years. Happy belated birthday! Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of the resort and the spa. We can't wait to have you back again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Upon arrival, you are wowed by the lobby, location and the fabulous view of the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are OK, kind of small for a resort hotel and the evidence of wear and tear are really starting to show up. Carpet seams in nearly all hallways and major rooms are showing, marble thresholds are cracked, rusty access doors in the ceiling of the showers, gutters on the outside are leaking, the landscaping has not been kept up to the Marriot standards I have seen at other resort locations. The taxes and resort fees really add up, $15.00 per day added to the room for resort fee, room tax of $17.50 per day, Occupational taxes of $15.00 per day then tax on the resort fee of $1.35 per day- let's see- nearly $50 bucks a day for taxes, then valet parking is $18.00 per day. While it was a grand location on the Grand Strand, I won't be staying here again unless business requires it. I can get a condo much cheaper and have a microwave. There was a fridge in the room and a safe. The matress was not up to the quality I have experienced at other Marriot hotels, nor did they provide my extra pillows I requested, I reserved a king bed 6 weeks before my visit and got stuck with 2 doubles, I wasn't really happy about that either, when I pressed them on it, they just shrugged their shoulders and said limited availablity. Not what I expected at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChattaElder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear ChattaElder,

We are very sorry that you have had a poor experience at our resort. We always try to maintain Marriott's high quality standards and apologize if you feel we fell short in regards to upkeep. During the summer months, the resort does get some wear and tear and we apologize that this negatively impacted your stay. Each guest is notified online when booking a room that there are resort fees. I apologize if this was something you were not made aware of. We wish you wonderful travels wherever your next trip may take you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a hotel that appears to be many years older than it is. It's a heavily trafficked establishment and as a result is in desperate need of some tender care and investment. The rooms are basic and cheaply appointed in the extreme. Some in our group had ocean front viewes which were great, but all the rooms had poorly finished bathrooms and cheap, basic furnishings. The balconies were tiny and dirty and there was nothing that made you think fresh or modern anywhere above ground level. The elevators are antiques - dirty, damaged and in need of replacement. The check-in staff/reception employees were very pleasant as were the concierge/front door staff. The bar on the ground floor is my last comment. Beyond being old and tired, there is a young woman whose name tag announces she is from Boston MA. Wow. She needs to check her attitude at the door. A different door. But not here. Unhelpful, snippy and full of her own smart attitude, I was taken by how unhelpful someone in the service industry could be to paying customers.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank cervezaguy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear cervezaguy12,

We appreciate your honest review of our resort. We always try to maintain Marriott's high quality standards and apologize that we fell short in this instance in regards to the condition of the resort and the service by the pool. Our resort does get wear and tear over the summer months and we appreciate you giving your feedback on this, so that we can continue to improve. We apologize for the server's attitude by the pool. Please know this is an isolated incident and very rarely do we hear of an associate not being helpful and friendly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We wish you wonderful travels wherever your next trip may bring you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I travel pretty frequently so for me to give a hotel a FIVE is saying a lot! From the early check in that was extended to us to the gracious hospitality by the ENTIRE team at this hotel! I can't wait to go back! This was my first visit to Myrtle Beach & I honestly wasn't expecting much, my kids chose this destination! But this hotel was the best...relaxing, clean, peaceful, food outlets were great, pools were awesome, beds were comfy!

Room Tip: when we first checked in, we had a "ocean view" room which was fine. Hotel was nice enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear beth s,

We love your review! We are thrilled to hear that everyone you encountered from the treated you with gracious hospitality. Thank you so much for the kind words. We are glad that you had a great time with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £140 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grand Dunes is an oceanfront hotel in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis, a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing