We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property Beautiful, Staff Incredibly Friendly, Rooms Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #14 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights this weekend at this property. I will begin by saying the location is excellent. The facilities are great. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. But, a review just would not be complete without both sides of the story. To begin, we were originally booked for 3 nights. This hotel has a 3 night cancellation policy. But, then Snowmagedden hit the SE US and kept us from hitting the road for the 4 hour drive to Myrtle Beach. Though it took a few calls, they adjusted their cancellation policy and let us cancel one night the day of the original start of our stay. This was commendable. The property is really a nice one. It is well manicured and the entrance is nicely done. The Valet is 18 per day, but the staff was awesome and it was worth the money for us to have our car at the front when we wanted it. The check in went really smooth and the front desk told us that they and a really nice room for us. Oceanfront corner room on the 3rd floor. He said it was one of the nicest rooms. I will say it was not the nicest hotel room I have ever been in, but it was more than adequate. It was spacious and had a window in the bathroom facing the ocean, a very small balcony with sliding glass doors also facing the ocean, but overlooking the incredible pools. There was a side "window"/ sliding glass doors with no balcony (just railing) that gave a great view of the pools and the ocean. This room was room number 307. It was very bright and airy. I will say this room did not feel like the cleanest room that I have ever stayed in, but was not the dirtiest. The room seemed dated and in need of renovation. For example the furniture had a few stains, the leg fell of the ottoman, the carpet had been repaired (poorly I might add) with a patch that was not matching and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. However, it was an otherwise typical Marriott room. If this was one of their better rooms, then I would hate to see the rest of the property.

Having said all of that, the staff made our stay worthwhile. The front desk, "The Bar" staff, the restaurant, and the Valet staff were all excellent. They met every need.

The last night, a large group of guests on the were coming on and off the third floor from 11:45pm-3am. They were cursing, yelling, laughing, one gentleman with a wheelchair had a bike horn that he was honking. We called hotel security. They quieted them for a short while but they went right back to it. Needless to say it was not a very restful night. When I shared my story with the front desk the next morning while checking out, they were very apologetic, empathetic, and were willing to give us "extra" Marriott Reward Points as an apology.

I have to say, that I have stayed in several resorts in the Myrtle Beach area and this one was not one of my favorites. I do not think that we would stay there again. Sorry Marriott, I wanted to love you.

Room Tip: Ask for a "corner room" facing the ocean. Tell them you want a room that has two views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnbikersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in regards to your most recent visit to our property. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a top rated experience and they walk away with a very enjoyable experience. I understand from reading your comments that you did have some issues with the cleanliness of your guest room and the noise level from other guest. I wanted to personally apologize for those issues. We take our guest satisfaction and cleanliness of our resort in the highest regards. We will make sure that we learn from your comments and ensure to we correct those issues for future visits to our resort. I appreciate you taking the time to mention how pleased you were with our staff and the service that they provided. Thank you so much again for providing us with this most valuable information. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of having you return to our resort for your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area, as we would love the opportunity to showcase the services that we are known for and pride ourseleves in here at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Great views, Good accommodations, comfortable bed and convenient parking. It was a cold weekend and except for the noise of the A/C outside the room we had a delightful stay They only 2 dings would be non plush towels and a sheet that kept come loose while sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckcocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear chuckcocke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the cold weather. Next time, we would love to have you stay in one of our oceanfront guestrooms, so you can enjoy the sound of the ocean and take in the great views. And in the future, please just let our team know about the towels and sheets and we would have been happy to replace them for you. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We were here for 9 nights including Christmas, New Year's, and a week long bridge tournament. We had a terrific corner room. Staff bent over backwards to accommodate us with every request.
My only negative comments revolve around the aging building..public restroom plumbing and cranky air conditioning all over for example.
However, this is a lovely great location place to stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank PickyDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Dianne B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the resort. We appreciate your kind words about the staff and how they were able to accommodate all of your requests over your 9 nights stay.

With the resort being over 10 years old, wear and tear does happen over time. We are always looking for ways to improve, so thank you for the feedback regarding the condition of the resort. We hope you see you again the next time you come to Myrtle Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just completed a week long duplicate bridge tournament here. Bridge players unfortunately are not always an easy crowd to host. We found EVERY staff member we dealt with, bell, desk, room service, room cleaning, restaurant, all of them to be very friendly, helpful and well trained. Yes there were some hvac problems with the weather quickly rotating, sunny, stormy, warm, cold, and up to 500 players wanting room service during a 2 hour window and another up to 500 wanting restaurant or bar service at the same time. They handled everything we saw as professionally and quickly as anyone should reasonably expect. Thank you Marriott!

Room Tip: We got a better ver nice corner king room because we checked in early and did not care that the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear echobird,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the staff did a great job. Thank you for your kind words about how friendly, helpful and well trained everyone was that you encountered. Hopefully next time you stay with us, we can get the weather to cooperate! We hope you had a wonderful holiday and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The location and service are good but it's an older hotel that needs to be renovated. Everything shows signs of wear and tear. Furniture and decor are dated.

However, the service is great and staff are very friendly and accomodating. Food is good too with the exception of the poolside bar and grill. Didn't care for anything on their menu. We had an oceanview room which also gives you a full view of the roof of the adjacent building with loud air conditioning units on top of it. Not attractive at all and very loud too. If you can't get an ocean front, I would go with the garden view away from the air conditioners.

I would not stay here again unless the facility is remodelled but again your 4-star ocean front hotel choices in Myrtle Beach are limited, so it's this or nothing.

Room Tip: Keep away from air conditioning units on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YYC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear YYC2012,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the resort. We appreciate your kind words about the great service and friendly staff. We are sorry to hear that you felt the resort could use a renovation and that you did not enjoy the food by the pool. We are constantly seeking ways to improve. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will give the resort another chance the next time you make your way to Myrtle Beach. We would love to have you stay in a sleeping room that is more to your liking and hope you can experience the other amenities our resort has to offer. Happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

restaurant a bit pricey for the off-season, but the food was excellent and the service was good. the rooms were, well, roomy, and clean and comfortable and the rate was reasonable. the staff consistently went out of their way to say hello, to smile and to be helpful.

we were there for 4 nights and our conference was on-site. i saw no rough spots. everything i saw happened when it was supposed to and how it was supposed to. everythng worked. nothing broke.

we had a pleasant ocean view from the 15th floor. lovely. overall the site was well-maintained and designed for easy use. we could have walked across the corridor from our conference rooms to the attractive pools and directly to the contiguous beach. would that we'd been there for vacation so we'd have had more time to relax and enjoy.

the garage and open-air parking are no-fee and at lobby level -- very convenient. valet parking and assistance are readily available for those who need it.

this was my second stay here. the first, two years ago, was similar. i would not hesitate to return again.

if it's your first time, watch the signs carefully when you drive onto the property since marriott has some condo buildings as well as the hotel. however, once you've found your way it's not complicated. gps is your friend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joebobbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear joebobbilly,

Thank you for your nice review of the resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the conference ran smoothly. We love the feedback about all the staff smiling and saying hello and that you felt the property was well maintained. We would love to have you back another time, so you can truly relax and take advantage of all of the resort's amenities. Happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were here again for Thanksgiving and got the usual great service.

Thanks to Carol on reception, Chesnay and Christian in the bar and Mo in Ocean's restaurant for looking after us and to the chambermaids (sorry for not knowing your names) for keeping room 908 (which was great as well) very comfortable.

We hope to visit for what will be a fifth time next year, maybe in a little warmer weather ideally.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenMuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear GreenMuggers,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the resort. Thank you for mentioning all the associates that helped make your stay great. We appreciate your loyalty to the Myrtle Beach Marriott and we look forward to having you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,359 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,772 reviews
9 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £126 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grand Dunes is an oceanfront hotel in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis, a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing