We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myrtle Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveller rating
726
411
174
63
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
411
174
63
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshibiscus spapool areabeautiful resortpartial ocean viewocean frontvacation clubresort feecorner roombeach chairsgreat poolcommon areastime shareping pongthe entire staffoceanfront roomspring breakoff season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Before it got so cold a few buddies and I went on a golfing trip to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. We really enjoyed our stay at the grand dunes. The rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained. The workers were fabulous too and treated us very well. Because it was off season, the rates were a good deal too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a survey concerning your recent visit to our location, The Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort and Spa. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy yourselves and that you were pleased with the service provided by our staff. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon when you return to the Myrtle Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights this weekend at this property. I will begin by saying the location is excellent. The facilities are great. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. But, a review just would not be complete without both sides of the story. To begin, we were originally booked for 3 nights. This hotel has a 3 night cancellation policy. But, then Snowmagedden hit the SE US and kept us from hitting the road for the 4 hour drive to Myrtle Beach. Though it took a few calls, they adjusted their cancellation policy and let us cancel one night the day of the original start of our stay. This was commendable. The property is really a nice one. It is well manicured and the entrance is nicely done. The Valet is 18 per day, but the staff was awesome and it was worth the money for us to have our car at the front when we wanted it. The check in went really smooth and the front desk told us that they and a really nice room for us. Oceanfront corner room on the 3rd floor. He said it was one of the nicest rooms. I will say it was not the nicest hotel room I have ever been in, but it was more than adequate. It was spacious and had a window in the bathroom facing the ocean, a very small balcony with sliding glass doors also facing the ocean, but overlooking the incredible pools. There was a side "window"/ sliding glass doors with no balcony (just railing) that gave a great view of the pools and the ocean. This room was room number 307. It was very bright and airy. I will say this room did not feel like the cleanest room that I have ever stayed in, but was not the dirtiest. The room seemed dated and in need of renovation. For example the furniture had a few stains, the leg fell of the ottoman, the carpet had been repaired (poorly I might add) with a patch that was not matching and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. However, it was an otherwise typical Marriott room. If this was one of their better rooms, then I would hate to see the rest of the property.

Having said all of that, the staff made our stay worthwhile. The front desk, "The Bar" staff, the restaurant, and the Valet staff were all excellent. They met every need.

The last night, a large group of guests on the were coming on and off the third floor from 11:45pm-3am. They were cursing, yelling, laughing, one gentleman with a wheelchair had a bike horn that he was honking. We called hotel security. They quieted them for a short while but they went right back to it. Needless to say it was not a very restful night. When I shared my story with the front desk the next morning while checking out, they were very apologetic, empathetic, and were willing to give us "extra" Marriott Reward Points as an apology.

I have to say, that I have stayed in several resorts in the Myrtle Beach area and this one was not one of my favorites. I do not think that we would stay there again. Sorry Marriott, I wanted to love you.

Room Tip: Ask for a "corner room" facing the ocean. Tell them you want a room that has two views. I would think that would be 207, 307, 407, etc.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in regards to your most recent visit to our property. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a top rated experience and they walk away with a very enjoyable experience. I understand from reading your comments that you did have some issues with the cleanliness of your guest room and the noise level from other guest. I wanted to personally apologize for those issues. We take our guest satisfaction and cleanliness of our resort in the highest regards. We will make sure that we learn from your comments and ensure to we correct those issues for future visits to our resort. I appreciate you taking the time to mention how pleased you were with our staff and the service that they provided. Thank you so much again for providing us with this most valuable information. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of having you return to our resort for your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area, as we would love the opportunity to showcase the services that we are known for and pride ourseleves in here at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Great views, Good accommodations, comfortable bed and convenient parking. It was a cold weekend and except for the noise of the A/C outside the room we had a delightful stay They only 2 dings would be non plush towels and a sheet that kept come loose while sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckcocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear chuckcocke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the cold weather. Next time, we would love to have you stay in one of our oceanfront guestrooms, so you can enjoy the sound of the ocean and take in the great views. And in the future, please just let our team know about the towels and sheets and we would have been happy to replace them for you. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We were here for 9 nights including Christmas, New Year's, and a week long bridge tournament. We had a terrific corner room. Staff bent over backwards to accommodate us with every request.
My only negative comments revolve around the aging building..public restroom plumbing and cranky air conditioning all over for example.
However, this is a lovely great location place to stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank PickyDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Dianne B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the resort. We appreciate your kind words about the staff and how they were able to accommodate all of your requests over your 9 nights stay.

With the resort being over 10 years old, wear and tear does happen over time. We are always looking for ways to improve, so thank you for the feedback regarding the condition of the resort. We hope you see you again the next time you come to Myrtle Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just completed a week long duplicate bridge tournament here. Bridge players unfortunately are not always an easy crowd to host. We found EVERY staff member we dealt with, bell, desk, room service, room cleaning, restaurant, all of them to be very friendly, helpful and well trained. Yes there were some hvac problems with the weather quickly rotating, sunny, stormy, warm, cold, and up to 500 players wanting room service during a 2 hour window and another up to 500 wanting restaurant or bar service at the same time. They handled everything we saw as professionally and quickly as anyone should reasonably expect. Thank you Marriott!

Room Tip: We got a better ver nice corner king room because we checked in early and did not care that the view was of parking and roads, not the ocean. 500s room floor was quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear echobird,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the staff did a great job. Thank you for your kind words about how friendly, helpful and well trained everyone was that you encountered. Hopefully next time you stay with us, we can get the weather to cooperate! We hope you had a wonderful holiday and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews