We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #13 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very good quality. Worth the money. The restaurant is nice and the wine was great (Chardonnay preferably). We stayed in a double bed room and it was very nice. A bit on the small side, but nice. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SMThomas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear SMarie_21,

Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic review of the resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and had excellent wine! Next time you stay with us, you will have to try out the spa! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    382
    152
    55
    25
See reviews for
438
334
21
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The staff and service at the Grand Dunes is top notch! There is "almost" no reason to leave the resort. The Spa staff was friendly and the service were relaxing. Great place for our "Ladies Only Weekends"!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveDBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear LoveDBQ,

We are thrilled to hear you had a great time during your ladies weekend! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed here and reviewed here before but just wanted to review again because we had such great service this weekend staying at Marriot Myrtle Beach.

We had a corner room which had a window in the bathroom. We arrived late at night and I noticed the bathroom had a curtain which was sheer instead of opaque. Being late at night (or early in the morning) we just used the restroom with the lights off because we were afraid to be seen by anyone who may be looking in. In the morning I went to the front desk and they told me they would look into it immediately. Well they did. They also called me to apologize for the inconvenience and let me know what they were doing to fix it. Strangely apparently all the restrooms with windows have this sheer curtain so they told me they would look into it for a permanent fix but fixed it for us in a temporary way for the weekend (covered the window). Although slightly less than a perfect-looking fix it was a perfect fix for me because we had prompt and definitive service.

Example number two of good service was that we had a cabana rented for the two days. It is a very comfortable seat and once rented I figured we wouldn't have to worry if we got to a slower start in the morning bc our seat would already be reserved. The second day when we went outside there were people sitting in our cabana (clearly marked with our name). SInce I am not one for confrontation (especially on vacation) we went in to concierge who handled the situation promptly (refund for our cabana and finding us another cabana) and professionally (speaking to the couple using our cabana to solve the problem). Another "imperfect" situation handled well by the Marriott staff.

The reason I decided to write this review (even though we have been here before and reviewed last summer) is because of one staff member who I believe goes above and beyond on a daily basis. Jen from NJ was our server at the pool/cabana both days and did an excellent job. She is very prompt, made good drink suggestions, and was never too intrusive. It must be very hot and tiring being a pool server there but Jen and the other servers we interacted with always had a good attitude and did a great job!

We had another great stay at the Marriott in Myrtle Beach and will be back again!

Con: Marriott as mentioned above you could use some opaque curtains in the restrooms on rooms with a bathroom window.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willowvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Willowvacay,

Thank you to your loyalty to the Myrtle Beach Marriott and writing another review of the resort. While we are sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay, thank you for sharing your experience about how we recovered. We truly appreciate you noting the prompt and definitive service you received. We apologize for the curtains in your room as well as the cabana mix up. This feedback is what helps us improve, so thank you for bringing it to our attention.

And thank you for mentioning your server, Jen on the pool deck. She will most certainly be recognized for a job well done. We hope to see you again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel was excellent. Pool area is wondeerful and wait staff are readily available for meals and drinks. Beautiful facility. I have stayed there twice with the same result and highly recommend. Food served at hotel was pricey as expected but good. Exercise room and spa area was very nice and there was a large patio with chairs that overlooked the pool area and provided a view of the ocean.

Room Tip: King ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Tom B,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the resort's facilities and the service. We are thrilled to hear this was your second stay with us and we hope to have you back again the next time you are in Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is pretty...nice pool area....friendly staff. We ate dinner in "The Bar", burger was yummy. BUT...the beds were the worst beds I have EVER slept on! I was miserable (and thankful that we were only there for one night).

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeAnna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear DeAnna M

Thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your recent visit to our resort. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you were happy with the staff as well. I apologize that you had the issue with your bed in your guest room. In most cases our guests usually rave about the beds in our guest rooms as the mattress are pillow topped. We would love the opportunity to get into the guest room that you stayed in and check that mattress as it sounds like it may need to be replaced since you had such a hard time with it. We would appreciate any information you can provide to us so we can get into the correct room. Feel free to contact us at the resort so we can get it taken care of for your next visit.

Thank you so much again and we do hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently stayed at this property for a weekend husband and wife getaway in June of 2014. We normally stay next door at the Marriott's Ocean Watch Villas to accommodate our family of 6. Let me start off by saying that The Marriott Hotel is a step above the rest and really spoils you to the point of not being satisfied staying anywhere else.
We rented our room on The Marriott website directly, as they guarantee the best rate or provide a discount if a better rate is found. We used the mobile Marriott app and were notified early in the morning before we left home that our room was ready. At check-in, we had to wait about 4 or 5 minutes and were 3rd in line with only 1 person working at the front desk around 1:30pm on a Friday. The front desk person was polite, but did not provide much information about the hotel or our room. We requested a King bed at our time of booking our reservation, but were placec into a room with 2 queen beds. I called back down to the same young lady and asked if a king room was available. She said a resort view King room was available and had the bell person bring keys to us within 3 minutes.
The property has been very well maintained and looks and feels very modern. The room was very clean and the decor was up to date, with the exception of the gold trimmed mirrored closet doors. Our refrigerator was in dire need of defrosting and it was very iced over and apparently not checked by housekeeping prior to our arrival. There was not a microwave in the room, so dining out each meal is almost a certainty when staying here. We had lunch at the poolside bar and the food was very good and the price was about what you expect to pay for the convenience. Breakfast prices were too high for us and we decided to dine outside of the hotel for all other meals with the exception of the one lunch. The pool landscape is immaculate and each pool was sparkling clean. You feel like you are in a Vegas resort and no where near Myrtle Beach as you relax poolside. The hammocks located Oceanside are peaceful and comfortably accommodate a couple for a romantic setting. I used the fitness room and the treadmill and dumbells were of Marriott quality.
We were planning to have a cup of decaf coffee in our room Saturday night, but there was only one packet of decaf. I called down to the front desk and was told that someone would bring coffee right up to our room. No one ever showed up and this was the biggest disappointment of the service that we received at this hotel. I realize that mistakes are made every day in all professions, but this one did not sit well with us. We waited and waited, but still not sure what happened to the coffee delivery. We certainly paid top dollar to stay here, so you expect all the luxuries to be provided in a timely manner.
Overall, this hotel is a very nice couple getaway if you are in a position to pay top dollar. The staff was very friendly and the amenities are by far the best selling point of this property. We would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't for the coffee episode.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear TravelDurham,

Thank you for selecting our resort for your weekend getaway and thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your recent visit with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. I would like to apologize for the issue you had with the additional coffee not being brought up to your guest room as requested. This is not a standard in our service and we will make sure that we get that corrected for any and all future stays.

Thank you again for providing us with this very valuable feedback and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Quiet resort atmosphere with nice beach and great pool complex next to the beach. Our partial ocean view room had a wonderful view. If a crowded weekend then a balcony room might be worth it as a quieter way to sit outside than by the pool. Some nice luxury extras like padded lounge chairs by the pool that could be reserved. We had food service at the pool two days and would recommend it. The breakfast buffet is also good. We thought the food was very reasonably priced for a resort hotel. If you want to be near the action of downtown and be able to walk to attractions or the boardwalk this is not the hotel for you. But for a romantic or relaxing myrtle beach vacation we thought it was great. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RiverCityBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear RiverCityBetty,

Thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your most recent visit to our resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and enjoyed the amenities that our resort provided.

Thank you again for your lovely post and we do hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,311 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing