We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #17 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Simpsonville
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for the kids!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Love this resort it's great for the kids. We stayed while I ran a half marathon and the room and staff were both great! The beach is also very nice and the pool set up is perfect for kids with a nice water slide. The views are great and the balcony in the room is a great bonus!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bval323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Bval323,

Thanks for posting your comment on your recent visit to our resort. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourself and the resort amenities that we offer like the pools and water slide. Congratulations on running the half marathon as well. We hope to be able to see you all again on your next visit.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    370
    145
    55
    24
See reviews for
419
319
21
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fayetteville, ga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Thanks again Marriott! Carey thanks too. Staff very attentive. Enjoyed the delicious cookies with the chef. Daughter loves her tye dye shirt. We've been visiting this resort the last 9 years and always look forward to our return. See you in 2015!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear traveln,

We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your annual visit to our resort. We love repeat guests and getting to see them each summer. Its like seeing family each time they come. We are happy to hear that you all enjoyed the activities like Kids in the Kitchen, where you were able to make some really great cookies and the tye dye t-shirt activity as well. I will be sure to share your comments with our Kids Activity team. I know they are going to be excited to hear you were pleased. We truly appreicate your loyatly to our resort and look forward to seeing you again next year as well. Thank you so much again for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. See you in 2015 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location on the best part of Myrtle Beach, and a beautiful property. Staff is friendly and helpful, but we cut out stay short on a planned four day vacation because of one major issue and several minor ones. The major issue was the King Size bed (specifically in Room 1016). It was all used up and so soft that the mattress pad and fitted sheets would not even stay on the corners. After two nights on it, that was a deal breaker and we left the hotel. Other suggestions if you go there, do NOT get a room on the south side of the hotel if you want to open the window as all you will hear are the noisy HVAC systems on the roof over the restaurant. Avoid the dinner at the restaurant as well, the food quality is poor and its expensive - go out for dinner (breakfast there is fine). Only (4) Elevators to serve the whole hotel, so you will often wait for one, and the UP/DOWN arrows are burned out or inoperative so you often cannot tell if the car is going up or down. Get a room on a lower level and you can use the stairs. One nice feature they have is you can check out pool towels and beach chairs, so no need to bring your own. We personally won't be back until the install new bedding in the rooms...for the prices charged, they have to up their game.

Room Tip: North Side only, or OceanFront (very few rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drcollie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear drcollie2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post comments in regards to your most recent visit to our resort. I hate to hear that you had to cut your stay with us short due to the bedding issue that you mention in your guest room. We will be sure to go and check that room out to see what needs to be done to correct that problem. We truly appreicate all your feedback as we strive to ensure that all our guests have a great experience and the information you have provided is very valuable to help us correct any and all issues for all future stays. Thank you so much again and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Typically we stay in our resort however due to us deciding to visit Myrtle Beach at the last minute we had to settle for a hotel. We chose Marriott because we thought we would get similar quality of our resort for the week. Not even close! Lobby decor & polite staff are deceiving. Bathroom tub had rust and other signs of major aging, bed sheets had lint balls all over them so much so we had to ask for the sheets to be changed. The view of the beach was decent. If you are not 5 Star Timeshare or Vacation Club owner it will meet your standards. If you are you may want to wait for a villa or resort room to become available! Cost per night way over priced for quality of room in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ocean Front View are limited yet I perceive to a better room for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Desmond G,

Thank you for posting comments in regards to your recent visit to our resort. We take all feedback from our guest and learn from those experiences. We appreciate you providing us with this information so that we have the opportunity to correct any issues that took place. Thank you so much again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A very nice hotel with a great beach a little north of the city, which is a good thing considering the beach crowds downtown. The food at the restaurant was a little lacking, but it is hotel food. There are many great restaurants nearby to choose from. Cabs are available most times at the door and a rental car might be a better bet to see the sights and visit golf courses. We visited in mid-June and the water was warm and clear, perfect for a beach vacation. The county is very strict about the beach and you must rent chairs and umbrellas from the life guard in the morning. We witnessed a disagreement over a cooler of beer with a life guard which lead to police intervention, it seems that alcohol is not allowed in any form, so be aware if you like a bottle of wine on the beach. Staff were very pleasant except for one constantly preoccupied young lady at the front desk, but all other employees were super. The pools are wonderful and beach access is on the property next to the pools.

WiFi is free for Platinum members, otherwise I think there is a fee.

Room Tip: Ocean view or partial view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Paul P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort and the beach. You are correct in stating that there are some beach ordnances in regards to having open containers of alcohol on the beach. I apologize that you had a issue with one of our staff members at the Front Desk area. That is not our standard here and we will be sure to correct that issue. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with the other staff members of the resort. Thank you so much again for taking the time to post your comments and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second Marriott resort and once again we enjoyed it immensely!! The only negative is that the bathrooms in the rooms are a bit small but who wants to be in the room when you have such awesome beach access. There are so many great ways to spend your time relaxing. There's a second floor veranda and The Bar patio where you can sit and watch the ocean. We ate in The Bar and Oceans 82. The breakfast buffet was really good. Everything you expect on a breakfast buffet, omelets made personally for you, waffles, pancakes, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy. We also ordered room service a few times and it arrived quickly and perfectly prepared. The only thing to watch for was when we got charged on the actual credit card there was about a $10.00 difference. The bill we were given was right and the amount on our check out was right but someone added to the total when submitting it. This also happened to others in our group. It was only on room service tabs. The staff is really nice and hospitable. The maids will give you extra towels or come and clean the room later in the day if you want to sleep late. We got a partial beach view and it was really pretty. You can see all the way down one side of the beach and ocean. We got up early and went to the beach to watch sunrises and it was beautiful!! Parking is close and easily accessible. You can valet park for $18 a day if you chose but even if you don't they allow you to pickup and drop off passengers at the front. The valet staff was helpful and friendly even though we weren't using the service. I've been to some resorts and they ignore you or move you out of the way if you don't want them to park your car. They have chairs & cabanas for rent by the pool but we didn't use them because we just grabbed towels and went to the beach. It wasn't crowded at all. We went to the big pier and beach downtown and wow was it different!! So glad we stayed here!!! You get what you pay for!!! We will stay here again if we come back to the Myrtle Beach area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LisaGreenMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear LisaGreenMom,

Thank you so much for writing your comments in regards to your most recent visit to our resort. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and enjoyed the property. I will be sure to look into the issue concerning the extra $10 posted on your bill. I apologize for the issue and we will make sure we figure out what happened with that. Thank you so much agan for such a wonderful post and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon for your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Actually, I am still at the hotel. I am here for the July 4th week-end. I can't say one bad thing about this Marriott. The beach is better than California or Mexico. There is a very tropical feeling with the ocean and palm trees. The pool area is lovely. The staff is very accommodating. Food choices are good. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request ocean front not ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookRay, Manager at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Patricia S,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your 4th of July vacation with us here at our resort. We really try to have some fun exciting activities during our 4th and I am glad to hear that you were able to come enjoye them. Thank you so much for posting your wonderful comment and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,043 reviews
4.4 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing