We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth The Money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #17 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth County NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a 4-night getaway in early May 2009. We chose the hotel because it looked nice online and was on the beach. When we arrived at the check-in the friendly clerk said that for $30 additional per night we could be upgraded to an oceanfront room with a balcony. We were of the impression that the room that we originally booked had a balcony even though it was ocean view and were disappointed yet agreed to the upgrade. We went to our room on the 11th floor and it was tired, small and needed work. When we opened the door to the balcony the wind was so strong despite the calm weather that we realized we would not be able to use it. My husband went back to the reception desk to ask to be moved to a room on a lower floor with less wind and they rudely told him there were no other ocean front rooms available. We decided to downgrade back to our original room and when we went to a different person in reception to request this he informed us that there were many ocean front rooms available and quickly moved us to a room on the 4th floor that was much less windy yet no less tired than the previous room. By this point we were frustrated and the lack of hospitality and disappointed by the lack of quality for the high price we were paying for the room.
The pool area was nice and the beach was nice yet there are not any Marriott lounge chairs on the beach so if you want chairs they have to be rented for $30 per day per pair. The food and beverages at the hotel were extremely expensive. Once we learned that a glass of house wine was $10 and a small cocktail was $13 we found a nice local bar where the same drinks were less than $5. There are many wonderful reasonably priced restaurants in Myrtle Beach so don't waste your money on the overpriced hotel food which did not even look appetizing when we saw people ordering it.
A basic pedicure in the Marriott spa cost $65 so I found a lovely salon down the road where a wonderful pedicure cost $25. The service at the Marriott was cold and seemed to only cater to the conventions that were there. They charged $10 per day for parking which was absurd considering they had a huge parking area that was not near capacity and there was no other place to park.
In the past we have been disappointed by Marriott hotels because we found that they never provide the quality for the price they charge and they seem to cater to their corporate clients more than the vacation traveler. This hotel provides the same disappointing experience as every other Marriott in which we have ever stayed. In the future we will seek out other hotel chains.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    364
    145
    54
    24
See reviews for
414
317
21
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, sc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Stayed at Marrott Grande Dunes formerly was a JW hotel. Hotel is showing age...mildew in showers, fading paint and wallpaper. Great customer service at check-in. Andrea in pool area was very attentive. Fitness center has issues with some equipment. Grounds and hotel look weary and need a face lift! Tropical plantings and warm aesthetics are in order..

Price of room does not reflect quality needed as this price range in Myrtle Beach especially once you attach taxes and extra service charges such as internet, 20% service charge on bills, parking etc.. People will work harder if this is not automatically added! Wish hotel was back at the JW standard.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wood2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east williston, ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

so much to do in MB. great suites, most have ocean views. clean, new, i was impressed. Local restaurants were much better than i anticipated.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronmofew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and from the moment we checked in, until the time we left, we experienced nothing but immaculate service. We travel frequently to the carribean over winter break, and numerous times while laying by the pool, we confused ourselves about where we really were. The atmosphere of the hotel and the employees attitude was nothing but high class. We arrived a few hours before normal check in but were pleasantly greeted by Eric at the front desk who graciously checked us in and gave us a choice of rooms and floors which was a nice perk. Myrtle Beach has so much to offer in terms of entertainment and food that we knew we just wanted a great base to call home for a few days and relax in between our trips. The Marriott resort served the perfect purpose. Our room was bright and airy, with the most comfortable bed we ever slept in. Our highlight was laying by the pool which I mentioned reminds anyone of being in the carribean with the palm trees, gentle breezes and relaxing atmosphere. The pool area is separated from the beach by a boardwork which is great in the early spring/late fall because even on a cool day in the mid 60's, you can lay by the pool and stay warm because you are protected from the wind. If you want to see the beach, it is a short stroll to where beach umbrellas are available. The two level pool area also has a hot tub for cooler spring days, and a great slide for kids which was busy the entire time we were there. The entire staff inculing housekeeping were always pleasant and cheerful and inquiring if there was anything they could do for us to make our stay better. My wife and I ride bikes and we were able to store them in our room with our suitcases with still plenty of room available to move around. The location is perfect, in the middle of Myrtle Beach and N Myrtle so you can head 5 min N or S to great food and restaurants. We didn't eat at the hotel because there are too many options close by for great food. Our last day was anticipated to be a clear and spectacular day, so we inquired with the night manager about a late checkout, and Megan was so friendly asking us what time we wanted to check out rather than giving us an extra 1/2 hr ect. We pushed our checkout back 2 hours no problems, and were able to finish our stay with another great day at the pool. Overall this hotel is truly top notch. The staff make the entire experience more enjoyable, and if you are looking for great customer service in a relaxing atmosphere, look no further. This is the best place at the beach for a wonderful relaxing vacation!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoubleB05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

I am so disappointed in this "resort" that i am taking time to write this review while I am here. I admit, I am particular however, from the start, this hotel was a disappointment. It is difficult to find your way to valet. Once we found valet, we coulnd't find anyone to park the car...it immediately felt like we were one of a thousand guests. We were able to check in quite early, which was good. The lobby is disappointing in that it takes no advantage of the ocean front view at all, so you are basically just in a big room that faces nothing. Check in was quick. They told us our extra towels were already in the room, they were not. There were though, two tired, old white rough ones waiitng in the drab, poorly caulked bathroom. The toilet seat has old urine in the hinges. GROSS! The view from the room is the only plus. It is lovely. If we did not have this view we would have left upon arrival. The room is a standard business quality room, old drapes, old bedding (stains on the piillow cases), old carpet, dated tv and armoire, in general, poor quality for $259 per night. $18 per night parking. That's it for the room. As for the food. Terrible. There is one restaurant, it is also drab. Dirty tables, fruit loops on the floor, crusty food on the silverware, a waitress whom we couldnt understand, dirty menus, my husband and i chose to not even eat and just ordered something small for the kids. There is no place for a good coffee or quick snack, we had to drive everywhere. The golf, of course, is great, it's what Myrtle is about, so the boys had fun with that. Concierge did a nice job recomending courses and setting things up. The fitness center. OMG! I cannot tell you how gross this place is. It smelled so bad when we went in that I just turned around and walked out. My husband and two teenaged children are die hard fitness freaks and wanted to see it all..so they ventured in...it was awful. body odor sprayed "clean" with a potrourri smellng air freshner (whcih by the way can be smelled throughout the lobby), the equipment was dirty and the small room crowded. This morning my husband went for a run and didn't stay..he couldn't get a treadmill due to crowding and said that people were actually stepping over two women that were forced to workout in the middle of the floor. Terrible. We planned on staying for three days but are leaving today. It just isn't worth the money..the aggrivation of having to go off site for everything is just too much. If you like fast food and overcrowded eateries, board walks and shops that sell towles and tees than you will enjoy this place...as for me and my familly, it;s just not cutting it. Marriott is clearly hoping that they can play this hotel as a "resort" and sell the more posh Grand Dunes Villas next door...i can tell you that if someone buys into those units, they will be sorry...this hotel is not resort quality and will surely eventually bring down property value if Marriott does not react and pour alot of money into making this hotel into a resort..i really wish we wouldn't have come here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlythebest13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed at the Marriott Resort at Grand Dunes for my daughter's cheer competition in the Convention Center. We had other closer hotel options, but as Marriott timeshare owners, we always choose Marriott so we can accumulate points. I also am very familiar with the area as I've been on many golf trips to Myrtle Beach.

Room - We booked a lower level floor, but as Silver Elite members, we were upgraded to an upper level room with an ocean view (Room 1522). The room is the standard Marriott hotel room. No balcony, upgraded bedding, standard bathroom and sitting/desk area. That suited our needs for this visit.

Service - This is the reason we bought and stay at Marriott whenver we can. Check-in was fast and pleasant. The staff is amazing. Everyone we ran into was very nice and welcoming. We had an issue with our bathroom one morning. I told the front desk on our way out at 6:30AM and it was fixed by the time we got back and we got a confirmation call from the front desk to ensure that it was taken care of. I had the concierge call a restaurant for us to expand an reservation from 8 people to 20 people and shetook care of it for us. Upon checkout, we were asked if there was anything that theycould have done better. I jokingly said "Not charge us for parking" ($10 a day for self park). The man at the front desk explained that it was something that corporate was doing, but he still took of 2 days worth of parking for us because of our status with Marriott. Personally, I can see why they would charge non-guests that come for conferences, but I don't understand why they charge hotel guests or especially timeshare owners.

Resort - It's a Marriott. You're going to have thesame impeccable cleanliness as you do whenever you travel toone of their properties. Even though this was the low season, there was a large group of cheerleaders staying here and multiple conferences, but the resort never felt crowded. I'm sure this is different in the summer during high season.

The resort has all ofthe standard Marriott amenities - gym, spa, pools (indoor and outdoor), poolside bar, restaurants, conference rooms, bar/lounge.

Pools - Indoor was your standard lap pool. Outdoor pool has 2 areas. The upper level is an infinity pool that empties into the pool below. There is also a hot tub and kids slide area. Hammocks are on the grass nearby under palms. There is a pool area up by the new villas away from the beach that has a treehouse and waterpark feel to it. Not sure if this is just for timeshare guests or hotel guests as well.

Restaurants - Oceans on 82nd is their basic restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Cove is their poolside bar that has food service. The food and drinks on the resort are pricey, but good. The breakfast buffett for the kids was very reasonable ($5.95 vs. $4 for a kids a la carte breakfast). Adults pay $17.95 vs $12-$14 a la carte breakfasts. Had lunch at the Cove on arrival. Nice menu with good upscale options. Again though, it was pricey. Appetizers were $7-$10. Meals were $9-$14. I had a pretty good grouper sandwich, wife had srping rolls which were not worth $10 and daughter had coconut shrimp (which was ok for themoney).

Spa - We didn't have a chance to use the spa services on this trip, but it did look very nice.

Beach - The beach area the resort has is great, but since it was cool during the offseason, not many people were on it. I'd like to see how crowded it gets during the summer.

Convenience - Everything is a short drive away. Some of the best golf in the US is within a 30 min drive from this resort. Broadway at the Beach is 10 mins away and has lots of shops and restaurants and attractions. Barefoot Landing is 10 mins north of the resort and also has shops and restaurants and attractions. There is also plenty along both business rte 17 and the rte 17 bypass.

Overall, I would come back to this resort. I would like to try it in the high season just to see if the level of service holds up, but since it is a Marrioot, I bet that it would.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
273 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

Having read the many great reviews regarding this property I had very high expectations. In my opinion, the Grand Dunes is over rated and over priced. The location is great and the public facilities such as the pool, lobby and conference facilities are all wonderful. My room was well maintained and spotlessly clean but it really was nothing special. Overall, this is a great place to attend a conference on a business expense account; however, there are lots of other options on the grand strand that offer equal accommodations at a third of the price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonLugoff_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
4.5 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing