We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Lovely View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #14 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Staff and Lovely View”
Reviewed 28 April 2005

I stayed at the Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes on April 27 and had a wonderful experience. The ocean front room had a fantastic view of the beach and the manicured pool area. The staff was very friendly and attentive to my requests. I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    390
    162
    58
    27
See reviews for
470
343
22
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 April 2005

We stayed at the Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes from Sunday, April 24th - Tuesday, April 26th for a business conference. The room was clean and quiet. The front desk personnel were very friendly and attentive. The valet service was excellent! We attended several meals/receptions and they were all very well organized. The only negative that we encountered was a "unfriendly" serving staff member during a luncheon. But all the other staff members were top notch. Excellent place for business conferences!

  • Stayed April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2005

We called early in the day to confirm that we would arrive at midnight. When we arrived exactly at midnight the trainee at the desk informed us they had no reservation and that there were no rooms. We asked for her supervisor and were informed he left for the day and no one else was at the hotel. After insisting that she check again for our reservation she found it and told us it had been deleted earlier by the person we spoke to about our midnight check-in. Finally the supervisor who allegedly had gone home came over to the desk and reitterated that they had no rooms. They agreed to put us up at another hotel, much below the level of their hotel, at their expense. I was assured by the supervisor that he would explain the situation to the front office manager and arrange for a room as early as possible the next day. When I called the manager the next day she was unaware of what transpired the night before. The next day we did get a room and luckily it was far away from the huge construction site directly in front of the hotel. It was a nice room but not nice enough that I would ever go back. The staff is completely incompetent.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
17 Thank Ranjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 April 2005

I stayed at the Grand Dunes over the Easter Weekend. This was my second visit. There is no better place to stay while at Myrtle Beach!!

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2005

A fabulous place to stay. The best place to stay at Myrtle Beach, there is no comparison. I have ownership at Southbeach Resort and I am disappointed that I did not purchase a villa at the Grande Dunes. The restaurant is not good. I suggest eating elsewhere. I received room service and the food was in a dirty plate and the covering had old dried food on the inside; nevertheless this is the best place to enjoy your beach vacation.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 April 2005

Went on 4 day weekend trip with family of 9. Arrived and was really impressed with the hotel and it's room. That didn't last long. Went to take a dip in the pool after dinner upon our arrival and we couldn't see the bottom of the pool. Pool was in this condition the whole weekend and what made it worst was that on a rainy Easter day with nothing else to do that day the pool was closed due to a bad filter motor and chemical cleaning. How many movies can you possibly watch in a day. To top the weekend off the fire alarm went off at 6:30 in the morning. Apparently it was a false alarm but we didn't find out until we were waiting for 20 minutes in the lobby. Not a peep from the front desk staff or hotel management. When we finally get back to our rooms the alarm sounds 2 more times and finally someone discovered how to use the PA system. They only staff members that were apologetic were the valet staff, who were always friendly and helpful. This was a five star hotel with a two star hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2005

Planned an extended family vacation for 9 during Easter weekend, 4 days, 3 nts, 3 rooms. The property was as described, GREAT beds, nice rooms, good restaurant, great location. However, the front desk staff was below avg. A couple of our experiences....indoor pool was cloudy and after a few complaints, discovered that the filter motor was inop. They closed the pool and added chemicals but forgot to post a sign. 2 kids jumped into the pool before we were made aware that the pool was closed. Front desk assured it would be fixed by mid-day. 24 hours later...the pool was still closed, on a rainy Easter Sunday (most shows, malls closed in MB). Lastly and more importantly, a malfunctioning fire alarm caused an evacuation of the hotel at 6:30 AM. As we evacuated, we came upon hotel staff that was totally unaware of the fire alarm, no PA sysytem announcement, no announcement in the lobby. I realize the staff can't acct for wx or malfunctions but...how they react and accomodate guests is the test. They failed!! Overall, a good property, nice facilities but below avg mgnt.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,323 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing