We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale Location and Staff..Small scale rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #14 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
gainesboro, Tn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upscale Location and Staff..Small scale rooms”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Beautiful Hotel with a very friendly and professional staff.
The pool area was very nice and plenty of space for our 2yo to play without worry of being dove on by a teenager.
The rooms were on the small side. My wife requested a King bed but, upon arrival we were told there were none available. The double beds actually worked out best with our 2yo. The Beds were second to none, with plenty of pillows!
The TV was just ok..I wouldve prefered a flat screen for what we were paying.
The biggest disappointment was the fridge..Being it was a beach resort that is mainly occupied by families, I found this unacceptable. It barely held a half gallon of milk, 2 bottles of water and 6 pack of can beer. Would be fine if you were staying overnight at a Motel 6. But not for a 5 day trip to the beach with a 2yo supply of milk.
Having to pay $18 a day for Valet (plus tips) was unexpected and a bit much. Ten Bucks to park yourself. Guests also have to pay for coffee...$tarbuck$.
The location was perfect..right were you want to be in Myrtle Beach. 5 minutes from Barefoot Landing.
On a side note, do yourself a favor and eat at Sea Captain's House at least once. The Best crabcakes ever! If your in town long enough, eat at Greg Norman's steakhouse twice ( if its in your price range) Large menu that never disappoints.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    376
    150
    55
    25
See reviews for
434
332
21
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

The Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes is an excellent hotel! The location is great as it is not in the crowded area but is plenty close to everything. I loved the pool area and beach. The staff was very friendly and always smiling. The only negative is that for the price you pay, the rooms could be updated. The room itself was clean as was the entire hotel. If I come back to Myrtle Beach, I will definitely be staying at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I wouldnt recommend this "resort" to anyone. We were harrassed repeatedly by the "food and beverage supervisor" because we would come up from the beach with our cooler and he would literally run up to us to tell us we couldnt have our coooler. No problem buddy, whatever Mr. Supervisor, even though we were ordering their food and drinks constantly. But, when we looked around there was lots of people eating their own food and drinking their own drinks yet, he harrassed us! Also, the rooms are nothing special. They are small and average. The maid service actually skipped up one day. And, the side rooms have no balcony. I have never seen a "resort" like this. Who wants all these rules and regulations on their vacation? Not me!! I want a place I can relax and have fun at. That is certainly not this place. I will say the Nachos you can order by the pool are good. Tooo bad they never came like we ordered them. Not to mention it takes forever to be waited on. I wouldnt waste your money here. There are much better places to stay in Myrtle beach. The only good thing I can say about the place is that it is in the ideal location. And, Im sorry to say this but the most annoying thing about the hotel is that all the carpet was off center. Come on now, this is suppose to be a 5star top Marriott Resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AviationAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

This Marriott is on the Ocean and has 1 pools outside, and a jacuzzi. There is poolside service for drinks and food. A short walk brings you to the outside bar, the hammocks and the ocean. Inside there is also 1 pool and a jacuzzi.

The interior design of the lobby, hallways, bathrooms and guest rooms are beautiful.
This is not just a hotel, it's a resort. The bar is open until 11pm. Internet was $10 a day.

Everyone is EXTREMELY helpful, friendly and hardworking.

Fridge & safe in the room and great iron as well. This hotel is worth every penny, plan to stay as long as you can.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeItAll13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

quality standard. But what about the MICROWAVE - other hotels do!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai-ImIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth County NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a 4-night getaway in early May 2009. We chose the hotel because it looked nice online and was on the beach. When we arrived at the check-in the friendly clerk said that for $30 additional per night we could be upgraded to an oceanfront room with a balcony. We were of the impression that the room that we originally booked had a balcony even though it was ocean view and were disappointed yet agreed to the upgrade. We went to our room on the 11th floor and it was tired, small and needed work. When we opened the door to the balcony the wind was so strong despite the calm weather that we realized we would not be able to use it. My husband went back to the reception desk to ask to be moved to a room on a lower floor with less wind and they rudely told him there were no other ocean front rooms available. We decided to downgrade back to our original room and when we went to a different person in reception to request this he informed us that there were many ocean front rooms available and quickly moved us to a room on the 4th floor that was much less windy yet no less tired than the previous room. By this point we were frustrated and the lack of hospitality and disappointed by the lack of quality for the high price we were paying for the room.
The pool area was nice and the beach was nice yet there are not any Marriott lounge chairs on the beach so if you want chairs they have to be rented for $30 per day per pair. The food and beverages at the hotel were extremely expensive. Once we learned that a glass of house wine was $10 and a small cocktail was $13 we found a nice local bar where the same drinks were less than $5. There are many wonderful reasonably priced restaurants in Myrtle Beach so don't waste your money on the overpriced hotel food which did not even look appetizing when we saw people ordering it.
A basic pedicure in the Marriott spa cost $65 so I found a lovely salon down the road where a wonderful pedicure cost $25. The service at the Marriott was cold and seemed to only cater to the conventions that were there. They charged $10 per day for parking which was absurd considering they had a huge parking area that was not near capacity and there was no other place to park.
In the past we have been disappointed by Marriott hotels because we found that they never provide the quality for the price they charge and they seem to cater to their corporate clients more than the vacation traveler. This hotel provides the same disappointing experience as every other Marriott in which we have ever stayed. In the future we will seek out other hotel chains.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, sc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Stayed at Marrott Grande Dunes formerly was a JW hotel. Hotel is showing age...mildew in showers, fading paint and wallpaper. Great customer service at check-in. Andrea in pool area was very attentive. Fitness center has issues with some equipment. Grounds and hotel look weary and need a face lift! Tropical plantings and warm aesthetics are in order..

Price of room does not reflect quality needed as this price range in Myrtle Beach especially once you attach taxes and extra service charges such as internet, 20% service charge on bills, parking etc.. People will work harder if this is not automatically added! Wish hotel was back at the JW standard.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wood2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
4.4 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing