We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really a 4 star resort, but best in the area and reasonably priced with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #17 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not really a 4 star resort, but best in the area and reasonably priced with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed here with low expectations because we had heard the beach wasn't great and the city was touristy. This hotel is on its own and makes up for all that. The area is pretty secluded and you don't feel like you are surrounded by too many people. You can walk on the beach and enjoy it. Make sure you bring water shoes because there are lots of broken shells which can cut your feet. My kids loved it and had a great time. It isn't the Carribean for water or sand but kids don't care about that! The hotel itself was better than a normal hotel but didn't really feel resorty to me. It was close, but they skimped on a few things that just made it feel cramped. The rooms were small, no balcony or sofa which was dissapointing. We were staying a week and it is hard to get comfy in a small room without enough storage for clothing or pool items. The weird part was how little hanging space there was for wet items. We had 5 bathing suits at the end of the day and floating devices and no place to put them all to dry. The room smelled like bleach when we got there and then each day they spayed it with air freshener that tried to mask they chemical smell. Just not top rate. The kids club was nice and my son did the Kids in the Kitchen where they made cookies with the head chef and he loved it. They also did some art projects that they really enjoyed. (my kids are 4 &2) They had lots of Wii things that kept older kids entertained. The pools were nice and well kept. The slide was the hit for my kids and they went down every chance they got. They only pool downside was that there wasn't a baby pool. We have a 1 year old and she got tired of floating devices and wanted to just splash around and we couldn't let her do that because there wasn't a baby pool. There was also mold on the pool deck chairs and tables, and that was pretty gross. There was also a mouse in the planter by the bar. My son thought that was cool though. Oh yes, no swim up bar. Isn't that silly? We stayed using our points and would certainly stay for free again. We did have to pay $10.90 to park our car which was annoying, and they charged for internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drozowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    364
    145
    54
    24
See reviews for
414
317
21
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

The hotel has beautiful facilities, very clean, staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are nice. The fitness center could use some new equipment. It was great to have the beach, two outdoor pools, an indoor pool and a small pool with a waterslide. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuenViajeMyFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

The resort is nice, but I must say the design of the hotel leaves something to be desired. Whoever the architect was did not maximize the spectacular ocean views!!! First, there are very few ocean front rooms. Most of the rooms are ocean view and on top of that, they do not have a balcony!!!! What were they thinking? There are a couple ocean view rooms facing north that have a balcony, but I would say a good 80% of the rooms are ocean view with NO balcony. Why have an oceanfront resort with so few rooms that utilize what going to the beach is all about! Talk about not maximizing the revenue!!

Also, the lobby is nice, but again, there is no "A HA" moment when you enter. Another miss. The lobby could have been designed so it allows the ocean front to be seen and leave the customer awestruck. When you enter the lobby, you turn right to go to the check in desk. This is away from the ocean. Why not have put the desk to the left and have windows behind it where you can see the ocean????? There is no ocean view at all from the lobby.

Think "The Sanctuary" at Kiawah Island. This hotel truly maximizes their ocean location. This is the exact opposite.

Also, the pools are nice, but again the chairs face away from the ocean. Another miss! The pool area could have been designed to so the chairs face the ocean and allow the million dollar view to be utilized!!!

Beyond that, the rooms are average. Nice beds, very nice. Little frig which was nice for drinks. Nothing really special. The room needed a good dusting. There was dust along the edge of the carpet and the bedside lamp had dust on it. I think the vacuum cleaners need a hose so the maid can clean around the edge of the carpet better.

Had to call for maid service three out of the six days we were there. And this was at 2pm in the afternoon! Also, neighbors room service trays were left in the hallway all day long. Tacky.

Self parking is $10.80 per day. Internet connection is $10 per day. Not sure why. Most hotels in Myrtle do not charge for self parking. The timeshare units next door have free parking and free internet connection, yet hotel guests are charged.

The staff was very nice and there are many nice things about the resort. The pools are nice, the slide is fun, the waitress service at pool is great, the spa is nice. Great chilled washcloths in the exercise room.

Overall a nice place, just not designed well and need some work on the maid service and nickel and dime charges.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drpc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

went for a girls weekend of relaxation. Staff was great and very helpful with recommendations. Pools were awesome and kept clean. Location perfect for shopping, food, nite life, all a short distance. Hibiscus Spa was awesome! Cabana staff seemed short handed, they weren't good at cleaning up but got drinks/food quickly. Plan to go back annually!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaleighLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gainesboro, Tn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Beautiful Hotel with a very friendly and professional staff.
The pool area was very nice and plenty of space for our 2yo to play without worry of being dove on by a teenager.
The rooms were on the small side. My wife requested a King bed but, upon arrival we were told there were none available. The double beds actually worked out best with our 2yo. The Beds were second to none, with plenty of pillows!
The TV was just ok..I wouldve prefered a flat screen for what we were paying.
The biggest disappointment was the fridge..Being it was a beach resort that is mainly occupied by families, I found this unacceptable. It barely held a half gallon of milk, 2 bottles of water and 6 pack of can beer. Would be fine if you were staying overnight at a Motel 6. But not for a 5 day trip to the beach with a 2yo supply of milk.
Having to pay $18 a day for Valet (plus tips) was unexpected and a bit much. Ten Bucks to park yourself. Guests also have to pay for coffee...$tarbuck$.
The location was perfect..right were you want to be in Myrtle Beach. 5 minutes from Barefoot Landing.
On a side note, do yourself a favor and eat at Sea Captain's House at least once. The Best crabcakes ever! If your in town long enough, eat at Greg Norman's steakhouse twice ( if its in your price range) Large menu that never disappoints.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VolJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

The Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes is an excellent hotel! The location is great as it is not in the crowded area but is plenty close to everything. I loved the pool area and beach. The staff was very friendly and always smiling. The only negative is that for the price you pay, the rooms could be updated. The room itself was clean as was the entire hotel. If I come back to Myrtle Beach, I will definitely be staying at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

I wouldnt recommend this "resort" to anyone. We were harrassed repeatedly by the "food and beverage supervisor" because we would come up from the beach with our cooler and he would literally run up to us to tell us we couldnt have our coooler. No problem buddy, whatever Mr. Supervisor, even though we were ordering their food and drinks constantly. But, when we looked around there was lots of people eating their own food and drinking their own drinks yet, he harrassed us! Also, the rooms are nothing special. They are small and average. The maid service actually skipped up one day. And, the side rooms have no balcony. I have never seen a "resort" like this. Who wants all these rules and regulations on their vacation? Not me!! I want a place I can relax and have fun at. That is certainly not this place. I will say the Nachos you can order by the pool are good. Tooo bad they never came like we ordered them. Not to mention it takes forever to be waited on. I wouldnt waste your money here. There are much better places to stay in Myrtle beach. The only good thing I can say about the place is that it is in the ideal location. And, Im sorry to say this but the most annoying thing about the hotel is that all the carpet was off center. Come on now, this is suppose to be a 5star top Marriott Resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AviationAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
4.5 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing