We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay over 4th of July week!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #13 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, va
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay over 4th of July week!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2007

Just returned from this property a few days ago. The resort was great overall. The lobby was tastefully decorated, open and elegant. The rooms were also nicely decorated and the bed was very comfy. The bathrooms (though on the small side) had nice bath and body works products. My one complaint would be the fact that we only had a "faux" balcony. Our room was oceanview (nice view too) and only the ocean front rooms and suites have real balconies.

The pool area was fantasic and the beach nice and not super crowed. We loved the North Myrtle Beach location too which was away from the craziness of the main strip.

The hotel had a lot of nice extras, like a great goody bags for the kids and complimentry drinks in the lobby in the afternoon. They really out did themselves on July 4th though. They set up inflatables by the pool for the kids, had clowns, and snow cones!

We also enjoyed the resturants. The food was good and you could dine outside "alfresco".

If I ever make it back to MB, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location, pools, room, resturant
  • Disliked — "faux balcony", housekeeping was hit or miss
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank drew'smom2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    382
    152
    55
    25
See reviews for
438
334
21
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2007

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and I must say, it exceeded all of our expectations.

We traveled with 2 young boys and they had a blast... from the great water slide to swimming in the pools, to boogie boarding on the beach. The hotel has a great kids club (our boys spend at least an hour a day in one of their events, which ranged from cooking with the chef to building their own stuffed anlmals).

The hotel staff were as friendly and hellpful as can be and the food was actually very good (lunch or dinner).

I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are travelling with young children.

As far a Marriots resorts go, this is the best one that we have ever stayed at.

  • Liked — Beach, Pool and Water Slide...
  • Disliked — They hoard the pool towels...
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank eppyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

I booked this hotel from Trip Advisor ratings and comments. I must state up front that I've not stayed at any other properties in Myrtle Beach to compare as this was our first trip here. We drove the entire ocean front and clearly this was one of the nicer ones in town from the exterior. Beautiful presence and landscape. The best part of this hotel is its location in Myrtle. It is adjacent to some private properties and thus, the beachfront is not crowded and allows plenty of space to set up your own chairs/umbrellas and have personal family time without having others on top of you. We loved the beach here!!

The hotel was nice, but not spectacular! On our way to Myrtle Beach, we stayed in a Hampton Inn along the way that was a third of the price and was equally as nice roomwise!!

Here are the things I did not like:

1. Room was pretty, bright and comfy, but small. Prefer more of a suite-like room. This is just two beds crammed in with a desk and a chair. The bathroom has no seperate areas for sink and tub/toilet and also had no vent fan!!

2. Housekeeping less than spectacular for a $300 a night resort. When we arrived, there was brown smudges on our toilet lid that remained there all five days of our stay!! The towels and washrags were not all replaced daily, nor were the toiletries. Cleanliness is huge to me in a hotel and this certainly did not meet my expectations.

3. As mentioned by many others, view of the ocean is substandard.....just a sliding door that you have to pop your head out of to catch a glimpse.

4. Choices for food, particularly at pool and ocean were limited. No snack bar type of stuff......just full service menu and drinks which are good but costly. At $2.50 a drink (plus tip) by poolside, you could spend a fortune keeping hydrated for a small family on a 100 degree day. At beach, you can take your own cooler, but no food or drink can be brought out to pool.

5. Not a ton to do for children/teens here as some suggested. While they enjoyed the pool and ocean, I noticed many other hotels were rocking with kids while this one seemed to cater more to adults.

6. Definitely a business meeting/wedding caterer. Tons of business parties and personal receptions occur both in their interior convention rooms and also outside by poolside. While it didn't seem to interfere with anything we wanted to do, I could see how it could be disturbing for folks who like the pool in the evenings.

7. Price TOO high for quality. Maybe the location allows such, but I have stayed at better for less money many different places.

Given my few complaints, we did enjoy our stay here, mostly because we hung by the beach a lot. We likely would not choose this hotel again, but perhaps look at the Hampton or some others in the top choices on Trip Advisor. If it were priced lower, would probably consider it again (we payed $279 a night, but with all of the taxes and fees, ended up around $330).

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank indycml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for all of the activities that Myrtle Beach has to offer without having to stay in the crowded strip area.

The hotel sits to itself on a private beach but all amenities are just a very short drive away. The parking is on-site in a garage and complimentary if you park yourself.

Upon arrival, I was greeted with a complimentary non-alcoholic frozen drink and felt welcome right away.

Unfortunately, I only had a resort view room. Beware! If you're looking for a great view of the ocean with a balcony, the only way to go at this hotel is to request an "ocean front" room. Since I had been booked as part of a conference, I didn't have much choice in the matter, and my room faced a large building under construction. It was very disappointing being at the beach without any type of view whatsoever.

Even the "ocean view" rooms though only have a sliding glass door with a railing and no balcony - you can stick your neck out but that's about it. I found that set up quite strange for a beachfront hotel, so make sure you get ocean front if a balcony is important to you.

The beds were quite possibly the MOST COMFORTABLE of any bed I have ever slept on. I stay in a lot of hotels and also consider my own bed quite luxurious, but nothing compared to these beds. Fantastic!

The room was of average decor - everything was neat and clean.

The bar offers outside seating on a balcony overlooking the ocean. Stunning views, but limited seating. The entire staff was very nice but the waitresses in the bar left a bit to be desired. Not "bad", but not overly friendly either. I would rank the bar service mediocre, but the rest of the hotel had superb service.

The menu is quite limited and both restaurants have the exact same menu. The food was good - not great.

The service by the pool is quite nice. You simply raise the flag on your chair and a server immediately comes to take your poolside drink order. I spent $17 on 2 very weak margaritas, but I suppose you expect that for poolside service.

The only thing I found incredibly odd is that there is a lot of shrubbery and growth between the pool area and the beach which completely blocks the view. I would prefer to look at the beach while laying by the pool but you can't see it.

One more downside was that the hotel seems to be used a lot for weddings and receptions. No problem there except that they closed down part of the pool area as well as the main veranda to do so. Given that this is not a huge hotel with lots of space, it was inconvenient to have so much of the outside space roped off.

All in all, I would rank this an excellent stay and will return back in a few months (with that Ocean FRONT room :)

  • Liked — The pools were beautiful and the beds were the most confortable EVER
  • Disliked — the so called "view" of the room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank OneHotelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We were in the Mariott for a conference for my husband's work. We had a great time! The pools are so nice and the staff was great - as soon as you put up the flag for poolside service - a waitress was immediately there. The beach is right there too which was really nice, though I suggest walking down a ways to get away from the other hotel guests :) They do have a water slide on thier property which the kids really loved!! The room was an average hotel room. Though the bed was amazing! Oh how amazing the bed was! We felt as if we were sleeping on a cloud! The staff was great!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Palmbch2002_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2007

Stayed in the presidential suite May 20-23. Beds comfy and no noise from other rooms. All in all a nice stay. Outdoor pool beautiful.
Problems: For over $700 a night you should have but didn't:
Jacuzzi tub
Balcony you can actually use. Not large enought to even stand on. It would have been nice to have breakfast and coffee out there. Weather was beautiful.

A table to eat at. No dining table but space for one.

Only ocean view from one bedroom and bath.

Room service food often cold.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank CAMWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

Offering excellent amenities set off the beaten path of the overpopulated beaches. This hotel states they have two restaurants but both have identical menus. If you want any thing different you will have to drive a bit to get to the more populated venues. They also say ocean view rooms...they are off the side of the hotel and you may need to stretch your neck a bit to really see the ocean. To truly get ocean view you need to request an ocean FRONT room. Also the balconies on the ocean view side are literally 5 inches deep. (see picture below) A sliding glass door opens directly next to a railing. Could be worriesome if you have small children. The pool that they don't advertise enough is utterly amazing with wait staff to serve you at your deck chair!!!! (see picture) Great for young families. The veranda just above offers spectacular views with comfortable adiondack chairs to lounge in. (see picture) Could sit there all day! But get them while thier open..because there aren't many of them! Definately would stay again..but book an ocean front room and have transportation for a varied menu.

  • Liked — Ocean view...Privacy
  • Disliked — Ocean view room is off the side of hotel..can't see the ocean well. Desparately need a varied menu of restaurants.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UnbridledSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,311 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing