We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See... Very Cean... Friendy Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Ranked #12 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Must See... Very Cean... Friendy Staff.”
Reviewed 12 September 2007

This hotel was very impressive inside and out. We were on the 14th floor with an OCEAN FRONT ROOM. My husband and I ordered room service. It was very good. We also ate and bought drinks at the bar. Which was also excellent. Overall we had a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and always willing to lend a hand with anything you need. We even got lost a few times and the concierge was leading us back to the hotel over the phone. She was an absolute sweetheart! I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a romantic get away. This is also a great hotel for the kids. They always have activites going on for them. And the water slide by the pool is awesome! I tried it myself. Last but not least if you want the best chocolate dessert you have ever had. Call room service and order THE CHOCOLATE MOLTAN LAVA CAKE. It is served with a side of vanilla ice cream and is to die for!

If you like hibache and sushi I highly recommend Myabi. Very large poritions at a resonable price. Also, if you want fantastic Italain Cusine, Try Umbertos located in Barefoot landing. The food is EXCELLENT and not overpriced for the portions you get. And the staff is very friendly.

  • Liked — The staff was very friendly and the room was clean
  • Disliked — Nothing. I had a wonderful time.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    387
    157
    56
    26
See reviews for
456
338
22
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daniels
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

We were at this hotel for a conference. Service was excellent. Rooms nice, clean. Pool area very nice, big shallow pools, waterslide, hammocks. Large patio areas.

We used room service and had a problem. They corrected it immediately. Cappucino Muffins from the gift shop are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Amy777809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Best things about the hotel - relatively new, great beach and pools, with wonderful waterslide area for kids. Padded chaises by the pool (2 w/ umbrella) are available for rent at $25 per day (or was it $30?) - came with a bucket of ice and water, with fruit kabobs late a.m. Beach was very clean, had excellent surf for kids to safely bodyboard, and had an attentive lifeguard right in front of the hotel (only one on a very long stretch of beach). The beach was relatively quiet compared to stretches further to the south visible from our 9th floor room. One thing we learned - don't bother taking innertubes or floats for the beach - a city ordinance requires a leash so bodyboards/other things don't get swept out to sea. They're fine in the pool though.

Rooms were adequate and clean, but maintenance issues already apparent via cracked ceilings and scuffed doors. No balconies on majority of rooms (except for those on the end of the building). However, our room faced south and was on the east end of the building, so we had a good view of the pool, beach and fireworks nightly from our room (pretty but noisy).

Two concierges in the lobby most of the time - so someone was always available and helpful, with one making tee times for my husband. Covered parking is available just past the conference rooms, so valet service really isn't necessary at the $15 per day they quoted. As for food, we just ate at the pool bar (decent but pricey).

As for the area itself, it was just one long stretch of bumper to bumper traffic, buffet restaurants, themed shopping centers,T-shirt shops, strip joints and miniature golf. My 9 year old daughter had a great time, but we won't be going back!

  • Liked — Beach location and pool
  • Disliked — Lack of balcony on room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, GA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We had stayed here in 2006 during Spring Break. We LOVED it then so we decided to come back for our 30th Anniversary in June. It was even more WONDERFUL this time. In addition I had several requests of the staff to surprise my wife during our stay. Some of the requests were fairly complicated and required on time and attention. The staff (ESPECIALLY CERTAIN SPECIFIC PEOPLE) really pulled off all of these requests PERFECTLY. We could not have enjoyed ourselves more. I highly recommend this MARRIOTT RESORT.

  • Liked — Accomodations, Cabana Pool Set-Up, Staff Helpfulness, Ocean Front
  • Disliked — Having to leave....
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

My boyfriend and I recently spent a two night weekend at the Marriott. Living a few hours away from Myrtle Beach, many friends had warned us not to go there. However, staying at an upper end resort, we felt it wouldn't be as bad as friends said. We were right.
The resort is very nice, espeically compared to the othe choices in Myrtle Beach. It was two large pools, one looked a little murky though. It also has a slide, hot tub, indoor pool and hot tub. We found a chair poolside each day even though we didn't get out until later in the afternoon. The only complaint here is the chairs are very close together. No private conversations and of course there are people who refuse to be on vacation and talk on their cell phones constantly which is especially annoying being literally an inch away. The chairs have flags to put up when you want waitress service which was great. A little pricey but about what I would expect staying at a upscale resort. Live music at the pool in the afternoons was nice. There is the option of renting padded lounge chairs that are well spaced out also.
The beach is not part of the Marriott, which is what I was lead to believe. You can rent chairs, but it is not part of the resort. Also no bar service on the beach.
The room was very comfortable, great bed. We did not have a balcony, just a sliding door with a railing outside of it.
The only meal we had at the resort was breakfast buffett which was very good. A nice variety for $15/person.
The resort is on the north end of Myrtle Beach so driving to North Myrtle Beach was very quick and driving further into Myrtle Beach didn't take long.
I would definitely recommend this resort to friends. I was told Myrtle Beach was Gatlinburg with a beach but it wasn't bad at all, and I think that was the Marriott making it a very nice weekend.

  • Liked — Very nice resort in a town with few options
  • Disliked — Closeness of chairs at pool
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staceyvols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

We just got back from our vacation August 10th. What a wonderful stay we had at the Marriott. The resort is beautiful, but pricy. We booked an oceanview and my sister booked oceanfront. The rooms were small, but clean. Although, my sister did find mold on the shower curtain and the refrigerator in her room was dirty. My room was clean and just the right size (for 3).

They have two outdoor pools and one indoor one. The indoor one was small. We recommend grabbing a lounge chair by the pool early by placing some non-essential items on the chair. Otherwise, you can rent ($35.00) a lounge chair with padding and an umbrella. Also, the chairs by the beach you can also rent for the same price, but we recommend either bringing your own chairs or placing a towel down instead. The resort is pricy, but if you are looking for a nice place to stay, good housekeeping, and a nice beach, this is the place for you.

If you have small children...take note. This is a business type of resort and they are "working on" making it a little more family friendly. For parasailing, jet skining, and other water activities, you need to go down Myrtle Beach (about 5 or 6 miles) to get to these activities. Also, the resort needs some more shady areas. When its hot, its HOT and there is no escaping the sun.

I would stay at the Marriott again. Great resort, but if you can get a deal on it, I recommend it.

  • Liked — The room was clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable!
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lill2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Stayed here for 5 days in July, the 2nd year in a row that I stayed at this property. Well run hotel, great location. Beach is very nice, and this area is away from the craziness of the main strip of myrtle beach. Great pool area, a nice touch being the hammocks right off the pool area. Service has been wonderful both years; everyone extremely helpful and friendly. Parking is close enough not to have to worry about valet. I would heartily recommend this property. If you're looking for an upscale beach location, there's really nothing better in the area. I would also recommend the oceanfront rooms; it gets you a direct beach facing room with a nice balcony.

  • Liked — Oceanfront room with a balcony; great beach
  • Disliked — Nothing bad about this location for me.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deverja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,317 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes

Property: Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4432 (Formerly Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is oceanfront, located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool, visit our on-site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing