We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to do, great for a family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much to do, great for a family!”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at Compass Cove June 2011. we loved all the pools and activities. Even when the hotel was crowded the pools didn't seem to crowded, because there are so many options. We enjoyed the restaurant for lunch a few days. They even let you call it in to pick up so it's ready right away. We stayed in the Pinnacle tower in an effiecency suite. Lots of room for a family with two young children. The only complaint about the rooms was the carpets needed shampooed. Our feet stayed black from the dirty carpet. We did have spotty wireless connection, but we called the front desk and they reset the router and seemed to help. My kids loved the submarine pool! Great for my 2 year old and my 7 year old made lots of friends! Such a fun family hotel, we will be back :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tlenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,955
    1,222
    549
    309
    255
See reviews for
2,355
847
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Pinnacle building is just great. We have been going twice a year since 2006. The Crow's nest (Pub/night activities )are just great.Music,food,entertainment are all at fair price. The water features and the Tiki hut are just great--Staff is always around to help--and keep excellent security ---Great location--rooms are modern --clean--management goes out of their way to make all or stays special--This place is the best kept secret on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JaneCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here with our 2-year old and found it to be perfect for us! The layout of the room was nice - separate bedroom so when she went to bed early or took a nap, could still hang out in the living area or balcony without disturbing her.

So many pools to keep her occupied! Had a great time in the various heated outdoor pools/lazy rivers/wading pools and she loved the kids wading/splash pool! On days when it was a bit cooler, it was great to have the indoor pool and indoor lazy river. So great being right on the beach too! Took a morning walk every day and my daughter had great fun looking for shells, digging in the sand and splashing in the waves!

Only negative was that our room was close to the elevators/ice machine so could be a little loud when trying to go to sleep. If I ever return I will definitely ask where the room is located beforehand!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Pupaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hodges, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were guest at the Compass Cove June 8-12 2011. We stayed on the 2nd floor of the Pennicale Building. We had a great room, very clean and a great view of the pool, also some ocean view. What makes this resort really stand out to me and my family is what happened on our second day at the beach. My husband and 2 daughters ages 6 and 9 were at the beach. My 6 year old got turned around on the beach and got lost..within the 2 min. that it took us to realize she wasn't with her sister and had come up to get her shoes,...she was no where in site...I went to the life guard and the search began... my mother in law went to the hotel just to make sure she had not gone there.... THESE PEOPLE WERE AWESOME..the hotel was put on lock down, maids were going room to room, the maintance crew was on the beach looking for her...even the resturants were locked and they were looking as well... Thank goodness she was found about 45 minutes later way up the beach... but they staff at the Compass Cove went above and beyond to help find my baby. I will be staying here again in the future! Thank you to all the emplyess who searched for my baby... I was so greif stricken at the time, I never got names of the men I encounted on the beach... but Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mattismom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just came back from a weekend getaway with the family and overall it was a great stay! We stayed in an oceanfront suite which was clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff was friendly. The hotel has lots of fun water areas- some of the water was a bit chilly which was surprising for how hot it has been. The wi-fi worked fine and there was always staff around. The beach location is great. We were able to get parking in the garage attached to the hotel which was nice as well. The one downside was the elevators- they were a bit slow. It would also be nice to have a shower area somewhere to rinse off and change without going back upstairs. We will be back again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alc0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Matamoras, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Sure it is easy to get on tripadvisor and give a top notch resort a bad review but I am here to give everyone a glimpse of a life experience. We stayed at Compass Cove and was robbed, yes everyone says it won't happened to them. We took every precaution, our money was in the safe, a hotel employee found the hidden key that was locked in my mothers suitcase and got into the safe and stole our money, making us end our trip and return home within 36 hours of getting to Compass Cove. We went through all proper chains of authority and ended up talking to the property owner and he more of less told us it was our fault and we never did receive any refund except for the room rates for the week. That alone did not leave us with any spending money to eat or spend for the week, because our credit cards were canceled in fear that the hotel employee had gotten our numbers, since she had invaded our privacy. They did offer us some meal tickets for their restaurant downstairs but that was about 1/2 day later, a insurance claim with the hotel insurance was filed but nothing was ever received from that either. I asked for proof that it was filed but never received any more phone calls or paperwork, so I am doubting that said claim was filed. The worst is that we had a child with a birthday on the day of the burglary, we had plans to take him to the amusement park and on a dolphin cruise and his birthday plans were shattered, when we told hotel personnel of this, all we got is "we understand that you are upset". Good luck to anyone staying here, and I pray that what happened to our family never happens to yours. I agree that the facility is probably a wonderful place to stay, wish we would have gotten to experience it. I doubt this review gets to stay on tripadivsor, its not often you see negative results posted like this. But if anyone would like proof I have the police reports I could share.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank tramatic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This place is great. The staff is friendly. Accommodations are ample and wonderful location. If I had so give a negative point it would be the pools are chilly. But that is the only part that needs improvement. Overall a great place to stay..

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cavalier81d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,960 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,111 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,843 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing