We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I had a friend recommend Compass Cove so we decided that we would try it. We've only been to Mrytle Beach a couple of times even though we only live 2 hours away. After staying at the Compass Cove and enjoying everything they had to offer and the great service, we will definently come back more often. We stayed the first few days of October and the weather was great and the crowds were gone so the parking was wonderful everywhere we went. I give Compass Cove 5 stars!

Room Tip: higher floors have better view and are quieter. Elevators are quick and easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,906
    1,185
    528
    292
    237
See reviews for
2,259
817
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

we took our whole family to compass cove this year. We had a suite with 3 bedrooms and a junior suite with 2 bedrooms. We have a fantasdtic time. the resort had everything that you would want and then some. We were 5 adults and 4 kids the oldest was 12 and the youngest was 3. A great time for every one. We will most definately stay there gain.

Room Tip: chose ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandrab59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

A group of 6 of us arrived on Friday 9/30 for a weekend at Compass Cove. We travel to Myrtle Beach at least once yearly for the motorcycle events, and always stay at Compass Cove. The oceanfront condos in the Mariner Building are an unbelievable deal and allows our group to all stay comfortably in one room.

We get a 3-bedroom condo which has a king room w/attached bath, a queen room, a room with 2 queen beds, a 2nd large bathroom, a kitchen, a living area, and a large balcony overlooking the ocean.

The front desk staff was very friendly, as is the norm. The room was well-furnished and clean, as usual. The balcony has chairs and small tables, and we always enjoy sitting on the balcony enjoying the view and socializing.

Although we don't use the pool and other amenities, there's a restaurant (Compass Rose), a bar (Crow's Nest), and a tiki bar on site. If you wanted, you wouldn't need to leave, but if you want someplace close there's a Damon's bar/restaurant a few blocks south that we eat at regularly when we're in Myrtle Beach. You can also order a pizza or other items from close by restaurants (there was a magnet for California Pizza on the fridge and we ordered from them one night - delicious!)

Our stay was relaxing and hassle-free, which is what we've come to expect and why we will keep returning. Thanks to all the staff at Compass Cove - we will be back to see you again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GodivaRidesAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I have been vacationing in Myrtle Beach for over 20 years and Compass Cove is by far one of the best places we have stayed. The location is excellent. The rooms were clean, comfortable and safe. I enjoyed our ocean front suite and sat on the balcony and enjoyed the view many times during the day. I see us coming back for many years to come.

Room Tip: Center ocean front views had no peripheral view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank immagginette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our first stay at this hotel and I have only positive things to say. Everyone of the staff were friendly we come in contact with. We stayed in the Pinnacle Blding and it was very clean. The pools and slides were very enjoyable by my kids. This is an outstanding place to stay. Prices were very reasonable and we will be returning customers. Awesome stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeannie720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jefferson, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was the second time we had stayed at Compass Cove. The place is like a home away from home. The rooms are very well kept and roomy. We have stayed oceanfront and ocean view both we great. The breakfast buffet is wonderful also. We will be back for sure. All the staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I just returned from a stay at Compass Cove (in the Schooner Building) and only have positive things to say about the resort. This was my first visit but won't be my last. We had an ocean view suite that was nicely updated and very clean. Every employee that I came in contact with went about and beyond what was expected of them. Pools and grounds were clean and everything looked very well maintained. Food and service at the Compass Rose restaurant was excellent. Some of the other reviews state that their rooms weren't updated....these are individually owned so I if you don't get a room you're happy with I encourage you to try to switch or maybe request an updated room when you make a reservation. I've stayed at a lot of places in Myrtle Beach and this was by far the best experience I've had. Also seemed like a better crowd than some other places I've stayed.

Room Tip: Request an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jenny929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,895 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,044 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,361 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,982 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing