We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed there for spring break and my family along with other families were ROBBED! They took pocketbooks, phones, laptops and ruined our whole vacation! Will not return! No security.No surveillance systems.REALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank river1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We do apologize that your stay was not what you had hoped for. We do have 24 hour security on site at all times and they work very hard to try and accommodate all guest needs as well as make sure our property is safe for all customers. We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove for your vacation and do hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,224 - 2,230 of 4,433 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

My boyfriend and I took my younger son and my Danish exchange student and stayed at Compass Cove for 6 nights. My boyfriend loved staying at Compass Cove very much. Compass Cove was not the top of class, but very reasonable for the price we paid. Decor was rather old, and wish there was better mattress for wallbed. But overall, we were very satisfied with what we paid for. Staffs were very friendly, and had everything what we need for a week of stay. There were some renovation/repair going on, probably getting ready for full-season. Overall, it was good stay. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you had such a good time while vacationing with us. It is great to hear that you found everything you needed at the resort for a full weeks stay and that the staff was accommodating as we work very hard to provide the highest levels of customer service. We are thrilled that you will be returning and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent place to stay. Well worth the money!! Great service. Pools were warm and clean. Hot tubs were clean as well. Room was clean. Nice private balcony. Hallways clean. Restaurants were Great. AAAA++++++ will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear you had such a good time while staying with us. We are also pleased to hear the staff took care of you. Our team works very hard to provide the highest levels of customer service and we are glad they were able to provide this to you. We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and hope to see you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I took our 3 children ages 6,9 and 12 for the first time to Myrtle Beach. We loved our room as we booked the oceanfront King suite so we had our own bedroom and the kids had plenty of their own space in the living room between the pull-out sofa and murphy bed. The kitchenette was perfect for light cooking and making sandwiches, etc. As I am a neat freak, I did not find the rooms to be spotlessly clean, but completely passable and totally comfortable. The resort had much to offer with all the pools, lazy rivers, game room, etc, but by far, we enjoyed the DVD rentals the most!! There were plenty of new releases available as well as great kid movies. As our week was a little cool, we took full advantage of this free service. Our only complaint was the seeming lack of supervision of children running around the resort. We found that we would have to move from pool to pool to try and find a calmer place to hang. We also could not get a decent nights sleep due to the constant door slamming and kids running up and down the hallways until all hours of the night. It took several nights of complaining until the mananger finally stepped in and spoke to our neighbors. Although we would consider returning to Compass Cove, we would probably not go during spring break again as the resort seems to attract college spring breakers who were not entirely respectful of their sleeping neighbors as well as a multitude of baseball/softball teams with the same mentality.

Room Tip: The Pinnacle Oceanfront King Suite is a large, comfortable room for a larger family. The kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found the rooms to be what you expected and that your children were able to enjoy the many pools and other amenities we have to offer. We do apologize for the noise issues you had during the stay, we do have 24 hour security on site however so if there is ever an issue we will do our best to make sure it is rectified. Thank you for choosing Compass Cove resort for your vacation and we hope to see you again in the future when your travels bring you to the Myrtle Beach area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We got our exercise here just getting around the 3 buildings! Our room was clean if old. Mattress cover was ripped,blanket on bed was a very cheap,thin one(I would have thrown it out at home!). It was still cool 2 weeks ago & the heater didn't work. We called & they sent a new unit up within 10 min. Maid needs to learn how to make a bed! One tiny bar of soap for sink&shower for 2 adults!
Beware of timeshare seller located in lobby of check in area!
Breakfast restaurant is fine,the so called nite one is a joke! Good for a quick fast food bite,not fine dining,more like bar food.

Room Tip: Tower building has pools,game rooms,dvd rentals. VERY noisy,Very busy elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunwalker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We would like to thank you for choosing Compass cove Oceanfront Resort on your recent stay. Our staff strives to provide the highest levels of cleanliness and service, and we do apologize this fell short on your stay. We are glad to hear you did enjoy the food at our establishment! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we do hope to see you again in the future when your travels bring you back to Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I did all my research and booked this hotel weeks before. Upon walking into the hotel, my first impression was, those photos must be old, because it sure doesn't look like what it did online. There were people ringing out their swimsuits in the entrance to the hotel. The elevators were so slow, and we waited forever. The pools had a layer of grime on top of them. Upon entering what should have been a family suite, I was shocked at how tiny the room was, it was hardly a suite. We booked a family suite because we had 6 people. There was hardly enough room. The balcony that should have been ocean front overlooked a hot tub. After deciding I should probably check the beds to see how clean it was, because it certainly didn't smell clean, I saw there was hair on the sheets. There was urine on the toilet seat. I was so grossed out, we left before even unpacking. The staff was very kind and seemed they hear this all the time. They said when you make a reservation, sometimes they don't give you the room you reserved (apparently they don't understand how a reservation works). From now on we will stick with Dune's Village when we go to Myrtle Beach!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent trip to Myrtle Beach. We would like to apologize that this trip did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide the highest levels of service to ensure customer satisfaction and use reviews/surveys as tools to improve anywhere we can. We do hope to see you in the future when visiting the Grand Strand area and hope this will not be your lasting impression of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

WE really enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove resort. There is so much to do there from the free movie rental to the pools, tiki bar, game room, onsite bar and grill to breakfast. Everything that we took part in was great, no regrets....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear you had such a good time on your visit. Our staff strives to provide the best possible service so you can get the most out of your vacation! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Myrtle Beach area!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,064 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing