We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cicero, New York
2 reviews
“Fun Family Vacation”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had an Oceanfront Suite in the pinnacle building, way better than any normal hotel room with the full size fridge, pull out sofa and wall bed all separate from the bedroom. The view alone was worth every penny of the stay! The room was good, and the front desk was able to provide us with some of the supplies that we assumed would be included in the room (ie coffee filters). The Wifi is basically unusable and cell service for AT&T and Sprint is spotty in the rooms and around most of the resort. Our Kids (8 & 10) loved the resort and wanted to spend the entire time there in the waterslides, pools, and lazy rivers. They also really liked the free DVDs, and Shufleboard. My wife and I liked that there were hotubs next to all the pools and lazy rivers. All of which were well maintained. We all enjoyed the Super Easy Access to the beach, and the Tiki Hut and Crows Nest were great. Very reasonable pricing for good beachfront food. Live music at the Tiki Hut was just right for the family and could be enjoyed from the beach as well. Parking is a bit of a challenge, the garage was always full but there is a second garage across the street. Overall this is a good family vacation resort that we would return to again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay as we appreciate all customer feedback. We are pleased to hear your family enjoyed the stay and were able to take advantage of the many different amenities we have to offer. Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and we hope to see you for many more vacations in the future@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,943
    1,214
    539
    302
    240
See reviews for
2,316
838
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The staff at compass cove were wonderful. Very pleasant and helpful. We had a room with a kitchen, which is an absolute must! Our oceanfront room had the most beautiful view of the ocean which was my one request!
This resort is perfect for families with children of all ages. The resort met and exceeded our expectations. We will definitely recommend compass cove as an affordable quality resort!

Room Tip: Oceanfront and a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We love being able to provide so many amenities for our guests. We are happy to be able to provide a beach front location for our guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Compass Cove has friendly, knowledgable staff who goes above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. It is family oriented and kid friendly. My children 9 & 6 love this resort and all of the amenities offered. Our suite was amazing as always and we'll be back soon. Front desk staff Rock!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all customer feedback. It is great to hear your family loved the resort and you found the staff to be friendly as we strive for the highest levels of service! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort for your vacation and we hope to see you on many more in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a great stay here. Room was more than I expected after Suzi at the front desk got things straight. Thanks Suzi! Kids had a blast at the pools and lazy river. Will seriously think of going back!

Room Tip: We had an end room and we loved it, was quieter i think. View was great as well with waterfront room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had such a good time and that Suzi was able to help you with what you needed! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and hope to see you on many more vacations in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This resort had everything we were looking for. The price was right, the kids loved all the pools, and Happy Hour at the Tiki Hut really helped us adults feel like we were on vacation too! Even though the temperatures were a little cool, there was plenty of indoor water fun. The waterslides exit into the very warm indoor pool area, so you can still slide when it is cool outside. Even some of the outdoor pools were heated, so that was extra fun for our kids (ages 9 and 11).

The only negative was really the location. This resort is in the somewhat less desirable south Myrtle Beach area. It is still right in the heart of the action, it just has more of the older hotels nearby. I definitely wouldn't let that stop me from staying here again or recommending it to others.

Room Tip: If your room is right next to shuffleboard, you can hear people playing pretty early in the morning.
See more room tips
Green Features: The sign in the bathroom said they wouldn't replace towels that were hanging, but they replaced all of them each day.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy many of the amenities we have to offer even though the weather didn't cooperate as much as you would have hoped. We thank you for choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort on your vacation and we hope to see you for many more in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was fantastic! All of the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and a nice size. We had a suite and it was amazing. More like an apartment than cramped hotel. The choices of amenenities were staggering and they stayed open late so we were able to play at the beach or go out and still take advantage of them. Very great place we will be going back. It was near the peir and out of all the major people traffic on the beach but still close to lots to do. I loved it!

Room Tip: The ocean front suite was very reasonable and more like an apartment than a cramped hotel room. A gr...
See more room tips
Green Features: Lots of recycling bins and trash bins everywhere. Reminders for conservation.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CutshlFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay as all customer feedback is important to us. It is great to hear you had such a good time and were able to take advantage of the many amenities we have to offer! It is wonderful to hear the staff were all very friendly as we work hard to provide the highest levels of customer service! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and we hope to see you on many more vacations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

For the price, you can't beat it. Good location to attractions, restaurants and the beach is right outside your door. The water slides were great, the kids loved them. My only complaint is that the water in the outside lazy river was really cloudy and dirty, that being said I do understand it's almost impossible to keep it sparkling clean with a hundreds of kids being in and out of it all day. The room was ok, decor was pretty old. The dishwasher and range were ancient, but again, for the price of the room what can one expect! They worked! Would recommend to friend and would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaveyCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort on your recent vacation. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your stay with us. It is great to hear you will be back and would recommend friends and family as well! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,796 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,417 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing