We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, lots of kids activities, and good value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #35 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a great time on family vacation. Hotel was full, but did not feel over crowded at any of the facilities. Pools were great. Rooms clean. Staff was nice! Overall great experience. It isn't a 5 star resort but you are not paying a 5 start price!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank me1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We love being able to provide so many water amenities for our guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,247 - 2,253 of 4,469 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

My family and I stay at this resort every year. We have introduced several people to the resort. We really like the convenient location and the pools. Our room is always clean and the staff is always friendly. We just returned from there yesterday and my only issue was our hot water went out and my family of 4, including my 2 year old (self explanatory), had to go to another room in another building late at night to shower because we were covered in sand and chlorine before we knew about the shower .The hotel was full and they had no rooms to move us to and no rooms in my building for us to shower in. I was very surprised that the resort did not offer us a credit for anything. Not even a free breakfast. Even with this issue, I still plan to make reservations later in the year.

Room Tip: If you have small children, be sure to ask for a room with a full size refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misty030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent vacation here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the resort. We are happy to employ such a friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

First, let me say I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions with my family and have never been disappointed. I always went here because I knew it was a place I would enjoy. This time, it was awful, and I won't be back. There are plenty of pools, but they were all dirty, all the time. I understand that during a busy season everything can't be clean all the time, but every pool was dirty. Three if them has band-aids floating in them, others had candy wrappers, and other trash, and also dead bugs. Also, the kids splash area, which is actually not bad, but was filled with dead bugs. Not just one or two, or in one corner, but they were every where. The room wasn't clean, the floor was covered in spots, and there was a lot of hair in the shower. Again, I understand that during a busy season it's hard to clean everything all the time with so many people staying at once, but this was unacceptable, and I will not be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We do apologize that we did not provide the service you are accustomed to. Our staff works very hard to keep the resort clean and provide the best possible customer service to all of our guests. We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort in the past and hope to see you again in the future. For any booking questions or concerns please contact Steve Showers our Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Love the resort. People are friendly and very helpful.Rooms are very, very clean and everything works in the room from the appliances to the tvs.Ran out of clean towels and they were replaced almost immediately.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 11,211,954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort on your recent visit. We are thrilled to hear you had such a good time on your stay. It pleases us to hear the resort was clean and staff very friendly as we try place the highest priorities on our levels of service. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay and we hope to see you again for many more in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had an Oceanfront Suite in the pinnacle building, way better than any normal hotel room with the full size fridge, pull out sofa and wall bed all separate from the bedroom. The view alone was worth every penny of the stay! The room was good, and the front desk was able to provide us with some of the supplies that we assumed would be included in the room (ie coffee filters). The Wifi is basically unusable and cell service for AT&T and Sprint is spotty in the rooms and around most of the resort. Our Kids (8 & 10) loved the resort and wanted to spend the entire time there in the waterslides, pools, and lazy rivers. They also really liked the free DVDs, and Shufleboard. My wife and I liked that there were hotubs next to all the pools and lazy rivers. All of which were well maintained. We all enjoyed the Super Easy Access to the beach, and the Tiki Hut and Crows Nest were great. Very reasonable pricing for good beachfront food. Live music at the Tiki Hut was just right for the family and could be enjoyed from the beach as well. Parking is a bit of a challenge, the garage was always full but there is a second garage across the street. Overall this is a good family vacation resort that we would return to again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay as we appreciate all customer feedback. We are pleased to hear your family enjoyed the stay and were able to take advantage of the many different amenities we have to offer. Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and we hope to see you for many more vacations in the future@

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The staff at compass cove were wonderful. Very pleasant and helpful. We had a room with a kitchen, which is an absolute must! Our oceanfront room had the most beautiful view of the ocean which was my one request!
This resort is perfect for families with children of all ages. The resort met and exceeded our expectations. We will definitely recommend compass cove as an affordable quality resort!

Room Tip: Oceanfront and a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We love being able to provide so many amenities for our guests. We are happy to be able to provide a beach front location for our guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Compass Cove has friendly, knowledgable staff who goes above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. It is family oriented and kid friendly. My children 9 & 6 love this resort and all of the amenities offered. Our suite was amazing as always and we'll be back soon. Front desk staff Rock!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all customer feedback. It is great to hear your family loved the resort and you found the staff to be friendly as we strive for the highest levels of service! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort for your vacation and we hope to see you on many more in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,032 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,297 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#34 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £44 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing