We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had stayed at the Compass Cove in the past and were very disappointed with our recent stay. Check in was quick and the staff friendly but it went down hill from there. We had an oceanfront king efficiency and when we went in we found there was no hand or bath soap in room. We called the front desk and some was delivered while we were out to dinner. The next morning we ran out of toilet paper (not much to start with). Told Housekeeping at 9:00am and were told they will tell Supervisor. At 10:30am we saw Housekeeping and they said they told Supervisor. At 12:30pm we called the front desk and at 1:30pm the Supervisor arrived with ONE roll of toilet paper. I will say that the housekeeping staff was very apologetic for this - not the Supervisor. When we returned from the beach on Saturday our room keys no longer worked. The front desk said they made a Boo Boo.

The free DVD service is a plus although we were issued an expired access card for the machine, another trip to the front desk. I was told they have to issue all the cards even if expired.

They were working on replacing the deck for one of the indoor pools so there was dust and noise. Bad timing on my part, no fault of the hotel. Be careful in the Pinnacle building near the indoor Lazy River. Several loose and unstable tiles. Pinnacle parking is very tight. Don't mind walking across the street to the secure parking garage but the parking spaces are tight there also.

Used the business center and was pleased with both PC's and printer. Extra paper if needed.

Room Tip: The Oceanfront King Efficiency is above the Crow's Nest on the second floor. Fourth floor room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EZ_Pickins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for Oceanfront Resort on your recent vacation. We are pleased to hear the staff you encountered were friendly as we work hard to provide the best possible customer service. We do apologize you had to call multiple times in order to receive the items you requested. We appreciate you writing a review about your recent stay and hope you will not be deterred from staying with us again. Please contact our Guest Services Manager Steve Showers with any booking questions you have in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,954
    1,221
    548
    309
    254
See reviews for
2,353
845
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Overall great place for a family or just you and a friend. Wonderful location! When I arrived they let me know the room would be ready at around 3. They accommodated us with pool passes until our room were prepared. Great parking on every turn. Security staff around the clock for you safety. Rooms overlooking the beach with adequate access to the beach. Staff is just awesome, very prompt if there's something you need. I would recommend this hotel for future stays. Choose how you wanna go, family, friends, or girls stay. You won't regret it. Plus their adding more pools. Wow! !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Getbuizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay. We love being able to offer a beach front location. We are happy to have such a friendly and prompt staff. It is our pleasure to offer so many water amenities. We look forward to seeing you, family, and friends for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I cant believe how nice and clean this place was I am a beach bumb and highly recommend compass cove to everyone it is also kid friendly and I love that part as well as plenty for the adults to do there are pools all over the place free dvd rental free admission to midevil times tickets it was just great

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayakay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay. We love being able to offer a beach front location. We are happy to have such a friendly and prompt staff. It is our pleasure to offer such a variety of activities and amenities to our guests. Our DVD rental program is a favorite among guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Compass Cove was an excellent choice for a family vacation. Lots to do on location, with many pools, lazy river, water slides, kids play area. Restuarant on site was very good but only open for breakfast. Rooms were clean, and good size. Staff was amazing help to direct our family to good area restuarants and activites in the area.

Room Tip: We had room 450, good size room excellent location close to parking, excellent view. Easy to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay. We love being able to offer a beach front location. We love being able to offer such a variety of water amenities. In addition to our Compass Rose Restaurant we also have our Crow's Nest Restaurant for lunch and dinner. We look forward to seeing you, family, and friends for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I loved this motel always wanted to stay here but was afraid it was to high I am so glad we stopped and asked the rates we were pleasantly surprised and would recommend it to anyone as a matter of fact we have told our family members to stay there and we have a grandbaby on the way so I know it would be a wonderful place to bring it and my 5 year old niece

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherryhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. It is great to hear you had such a good time while you were staying with us! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort for your family vacation and we look forward to seeing you for many more!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Overall everything was good. The rooms had a great view. Just be aware that if you stay a floor or two above the crow nests bar. it gets a little loud. It closes at 11 pm. We had to call front desk to get them to leave. They did take care of it promptly. The cleanliness of the rooms were OK, not excellent but clean. Location was nice, down towards the end of the strip.

Room Tip: stay at least three floors above the crows nest bar. If you are on the third floor, your room is rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It is great to hear you had a good time while on vacation with us. We do apologize that you found the location of your room to be a little too loud but are pleased to hear the staff was able to handle the issue accordingly to make your stay more enjoyable. We thank you for Choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort for you vacation and we hope to see you on many more in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milner, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We LOVE this Resort! Our family stays here every time we vacation in Myrtle Beach. It has great activities for kids. We love the inside and outside pools and hot tubs! The kids love the slides and the lazy river. The rooms are spacious and have a great view of the ocean. I would recommend this place to anyone! I wish they had more in different locations!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort during your most recent vacation. We are thrilled to hear you and your family had such a good time while vacationing at our facility. We are pleased to offer so many water activities for our guests enjoyment. We look forward to you staying with us again and look forward to providing you with more great experiences when with us in the future!!

Danni Dwiggins
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,956 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,105 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,833 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing