We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Not much more. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

When we first arrived to our room it was much smaller than expected and very outdated. Flat screen tv in living area without a DVD player and the bedroom had a very old box tv with a DVD player. The free videos would have been nice to watch with the family after a long day at the beach but not in the bedroom on an outdated tv. The housekeeping staff was always very friendly and helpful. We did however have one set if dirty sheets on the Murphy bed which housekeeping replaced immediately The view was awesome from the balcony with the exception of the bird droppings that looked as if it had been there for a month. The resort it self has plenty of outdoor activities for any family. More spread out than would have liked but not as bad as other hotels in the area. Only 3 stars because of cleanliness, drinks at crows nest were made wrong and very expensive. Would return if they updated rooms.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Kth_overton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear the staff you encountered were all very friendly as we place highest priority on friendliness and customer service! You will be pleased to hear we are undergoing renovations in our Pinnacle tower this winter and we hope to see you once they are complete! We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and look forward to seeing you in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,972 - 1,978 of 4,412 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed there the past two years. Rates are very reasonable. Went once in fall the other in the spring. There are two restaurants, one tiki bar. Food is very good and prices are within reason. Several pools, hot tubs and play areas for children. Also lazy river. Easy access to the beach. Going back in October with family. Had a great time. Grandchildren had lots of fun.

Room Tip: On line was helpful and courteous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent visit to Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We love being able to provide our guests with so many activities and amenities to choose from during their time here. We pride ourselves on having a friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My stay at the Compass Cove was exactly what I needed. The staff always helpfull and courteaus. We love all of the amenties that came with stay. You had plenty of pool choices to choose from. Plus acess to the beach. My 5 year old is already wanting me to bring back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DeddyRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent visit to Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We love being able to provide our guests with so many activities and amenities to choose from during their time here. We pride ourselves on having a friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Every year my cousin runs weeklong bus trips to Myrtle Beach in August. It was he who recommended the restaurant at this resort for breakfast. I could see why. While it offers a buffet that is constantly replenished, waitresses also tend each table. They bring you your beverages and see to your needs. You can also order items not on the buffet. Locals patronize this place, my cousin said. The price is good for all you want. The food was fresh, chilled and hot. Pastries are fixed on the premises and change each day. My husband and I ate there two of the three days that we were in town -- and we had brought along our own breakfast foods back in our unit! We really enjoyed the place and all the people who keep the place filled.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for stopping by our Compass Rose Restaurant. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review. Your cousin is correct, we are often visited by locals. We pride ourselves on having such quality chefs here at Compass Cove. We look forward to seeing you for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First Floor Schooner Building was perfect! Pool right outside room - ocean view amazing...The room was perfect for 4 people. Not huge space but was very efficient and served all our needs. Would recommend to friends and family and for sure go back to this resort. Plenty of pools, games, food all in one place. Enjoyable family vacation:-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank T L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent visit to Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room so much. We love being able to provide our guests with so many activities for our guests to choose from during their time here. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

cool place for kids lots for them to do.
don't get room 112 unless you want to look at the tiki hut, air conditioner is also loud in . actually with it's location of being on the end of the building near the walk through of each building actually quieter than you think it would be

Room Tip: cool place for kids, don't get room 112 unless you want to look at the tiki hut/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jackiebisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent visit to Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room so much. We love being able to provide our guests with so many activities for our guests to choose from during their time here. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Love this place. Go every year. Great for families with young children. Our daughter loves the slides and the lazy river. We love the convenience of this resort. Location, price, amenities. Compass Rose breakfast buffet is nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Allyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort for your most recent vacation stay. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to offer a wide variety of family friendly activities for our guests to enjoy. The slides are a favorite with both old and young alike! We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years to come.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,195 reviews
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £46 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing