We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't have kids: DO NOT STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #34 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Kids everywhere!!! With the amount of pools, how you don't have at least 2 adult only, is beyond me. The lazy river? Really? Kids in it without tubes: we got kicked, splashed, kids swimming UNDER us. Let's talk about the Tiki BAR. Why bar in caps, you ask? Because a bar is an adult place! Or so I thought. My friend and I tried to get a drink at the bar today. There was one bar stool left. Oh, by the way, at least 3 bar stools were occupied by children. That's right: children. So, the bar lost business because we couldn't sit there!!!! I understand this is a family resort, however, a bar is a bar! Where I come from, kids are not allowed to sit at a bar!!!!!!!! Completely unacceptable,

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sspsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We try to be a family friendly resort and do apologize you were not able to enjoy some of the amenities you were hoping to. We hope you would consider visiting us again and if you have any questions about events, crowds, rates or anything else please contact our Guest Service Manager Steve Showers. We appreciate you choosing Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,907 - 1,913 of 4,435 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the hotel. Each time we have stayed there, you can see the upgrades they have made to the place. They try to keep it modern. It was crowded there but no issues. One point to note. You need to get to the beach early in the morning to get an umbrella. The staff was excellent and took care of our all our needs. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with 2 double beds and a murphy bed and had an ocean front room. It was nice getting up early in the morning and getting a cup of coffee from the Rose restaurant and sitting on the balcony and watching the sun rise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajc0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort. Nothing beats sunrise over the ocean. We pride ourselves on having such a friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I loved that it was clean. My son loved the slides. Lots of activities for kids. Bed wasn't particularly comfortable, hard and lumpy. Patio was larger than the average patio. This was our first time staying here and we will be back. Great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort. We love being able to provide so many water amenities for our guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a good experience in the Compass Cove resort. It has several pools, both indoors and outdoors and that makes it easy for families to have fun. The place is well organized and the staff is very friendly. Everyone we met throughout the hotel was very polite. Our only complain has to do with housekeeping in the room, it felt incomplete and one of the days they skipped our room completely. Overall we were happy with our choice though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Polykarpos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We love being able to provide so many water amenities for our guests. We are happy to employ such a friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoy taking our kids here. But we did encounter some issues with teenagers taking over the indoor lazy river. More supervision needs to be taken seriously. My daughter most got ran over kids racing thru the lazy river. But other that I really enjoy coming here.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your most recent stay here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We love being able to provide so many water amenities for our guests. We are happy to employ such a friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I would have put five but the only thing I didn't like was they said our room was ocean view...and it wasn't view it was more a view through the palm trees ..and looking at the indigo inn..so I wish there was more a view than we had. Next time I will get a ocean front! But all in all love this place!! We had a blast! Nice clean spacious rooms and access to grills outside loved it!!

Room Tip: Choose ocean front only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DNW0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent vacation here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the resort. We look forward to seeing you for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great stay here. All of the staff were professional, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. It was crowded, but it was during summer so that was expected. We loved all of the pools, lazy rivers and hot tubs and access to the beach was great. The food at Crow's Nest was surprisingly very good and we ate there several times. Although the decor was dated, the rooms were very clean and housekeeping consistently did a great job!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Firestorm8102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CompassCoveResort, Admin Assistant at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove Resort during your recent vacation here in Myrtle Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the resort. We love being able to offer our guests such a wide variety of water amenities. We pride ourselves on having such talented cooks who put out delicious food. We look forward to seeing you for many years in the future.

Danni Dwiggins
Compass Cove Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,650 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,064 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing