We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Place Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forest City, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Place Ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

First of all we get to the hotel and everything seems perfect. Unpack take kids to the beach, come back and go to potty and get toilet water dripping on my head and it had dripped on my stuff and all of our towels. This was not a small leak from the toilet above it was a pretty good leak, the towels were soaking wet. Called the front desk and they said they couldn't fix it right away, so for our trouble they would give us a upgrade room or suite so we said great and starting packing our stuff and they called back 5 minutes later and told us that all suites and upgrades were sold out we could move to the room next door, which would have been fine had that been true. So I went to get online to see if that was true and I couldn't cause the free wi-fi was down and had been down all day. So I went to the parking lot and got online with another hotel and found that there were pleanty of suites and upgrade rooms avail. for the entire stay. So I went to the office and ask to speak to the manger who was Tom Rice and I showed him my laptop that showed the avail. rooms and he said the website must be wrong, their own website was wrong, which I guess meant someone could book a room and get there and it not be avail. Hmmm. So at that time Tom got an attitude, so I asked for a refund and he gave it to me and we took our 4 night stay somewhere else. This was the worst thing that has happed to us on vacation have to pack up our stuff and my 15 month old and 5 year old at 9 pm and drive around to find another hotel that respected its customers. I think had there been a different manager things wouldn't have went so wrong.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandy2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,908
    1,187
    528
    292
    237
See reviews for
2,262
818
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

We just got home from Compass Cove and what a great time we had there. It was our first visit we took our little grandaughter and she had a blast. So many pools and two great lazy rivers, we were never short of something to do. Our only problem was we didn't have long enough to take advantage of all the amenities. We will most defenitly be back. The staff were so friendly and house keeping were great. The unit was very clean and had everything we needed there. So hats up to you guys what a great place you have!!
The Larkin family, Mississauga Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irisheyes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove. The rooms were clean and very convenient to the beach. All of the pools and the new slides were great.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lingard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Stayed here between 5/7 and 5/14 of 2010. Excellent hotel and good service. Rooms were clean. Wireless was a little spotty on the 10th floor. We appear to have been upgraded to a larger room for free. Plenty of beach front, more pools and water activities than you can count. Crow's nest is a good place to have some grill type food and drinks with live entertainment or karaoke.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russellensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We just spent a few days at Compass Cove for the first time and we had a wonderful stay. The staff was friendly, the room was comfortable and clean and the view of the ocean from our balcony was awesome! We enjoyed the numerous pools and hot tubs and the hotel was within a very short drive to everything. Parking was a little cramped but even that wasn't really an issue. If you are someone who likes to find things to nit-pic about no matter where you are and no matter how minor the problem then I'm sure you will find faults with this place, but if you are someone who is on a budget and wants a nice comfy place to rest at night after spending time out and about then you will be very satisfied and I highly recommend staying here. We'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDN_Firefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

the pools were dirty and the smoking around the resort was unbearable.. the room was average.. would not recommend to families..

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank apr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

This is my 5th trip for members of our family to Compass Cove. We have recommended it to others and no one has ever been disappointed. We had another couple with us this time, their first trip to Myrtle Beach and they both loved it. We were in one of the two bedroom condos and it was spacious, clean, comfortable and the view was spectacular. The things we like the best are the breakfasts at the restaurant (delicious and reasonable) and all of the pools. Something for everyone. My college age daughter went last April with 5 friends and they had a great time, too. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catloverKingston_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing