We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Nice place to stay but....”
Review of Sea Watch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Watch Resort
Ranked #36 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but....”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This resort has some killer deals in the off season. Prime season though is another story. Very crowded, with lots of kids. This is a rather large resort that can be billed as a family resort in the summer. they have 2 towers that face the ocean. One tower is closer to the pool bar than the other. if you don't want to have very loud music blasting your sleep at night, make sure you request the tower not so close to all the action. the rooms are roomy for what you pay for. I usually get the one bedroom exec suite. it suffices for 2-3 people comfortably. Usually its pretty clean, but I clean kitchen and bath areas myself anyway. I did invite some family down one year and booked the 3 bdroom penthouse suite. very big, but they did a horrible job cleaning it. hair in shower...etc. it was in prime season, so I know the maids rushed it. I've been here several times over the last 10 years and I've noticed that the maids don't take as much time during peak season as compared to off season. the restaurant on premises is nothing to brag about. I tend to eat elsewhere, since Myrtle Beach has no shortness of restaurants. the pools are crowded but clean. If you like a lot of action and noise in the summer, then this is the resort for you. this is not a 4-5 star resort, but it's not the in the bottom 1-2 stars either. location is good, right on the beach. not far from Rt. 17. No room service that I know of. I would stay here again on occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beachcrazy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for sharing with everyone about your recent stay with us. We are honored by your loyalty over the past ten years, and we want to be your hotel of choice for the next ten years. I was deeply disheartened to hear past experiences with our housekeeping department. We strive everyday to provide the highest quality cleaning services. During the summer vacation season we do encounter periods of high occupancy which leads to our resort amenities to be well used. The next time your travels bring you to the Myrtle Beach area, contact me at guestservices@seawatchresort.com and we will work together to find the best unit to fulfill your needs.

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    482
    186
    107
    68
See reviews for
867
387
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The upper level price is not matched by the mid level cleanliness and services. Overall good, not great. Dust from ceiling fan and vent all over the ceiling tiles in restaurant. The staff is pleasant and in some cases, very helpful. I enjoyed the people and will returrn but maybe not more than once. Impress me!

Room Tip: Always ask to see room types on varied floors. It makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We are doing lots of renovations this year to our rooms, pool areas, and restaurant. Hopefully by the time that you come back, all of the improvement will be in place and we will have an opportunity to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This stay was a short one (3 nights) due to business. The weather was cold and windy, therefore we did not use the pools and not much time was spent on the wonderful beach. This was probably our fifth or sixth stay at Sea Watch and it has always been enjoyable. We were happy to see the improvements being made, especially the gorgeous new pool deck.

We recommend this place to friends and family and hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: We've always stayed in the North Tower and love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh K, Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We are glad that you chose Sea Watch Resort for your business trip to Myrtle Beach. We are honored that you keep choosing our hotel. Next time you stay with us, hopefully, we can get some better weather, so you can enjoy all of our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advance, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Sea Watch has really improved this resort. It is a must visit. The pool decks/lazy river deck has been completely redone over the winter. The staff has developed a mission statement and goals, which are being communicated and used in training of all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your sharing your terrific comments on your recent stay at the Sea Watch. I am so glad you enjoyed our new tile pool deck. It will be a great addition to wonderful summertime events such as our weekly pool parties, Caribbean and American nights as well as our fish fry. Our entire staff and management at the Sea Watch Resort are committed “To give our Guest the most Exciting, Fun-Filled, and Enjoyable Vacation Experience Ever!”

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We are regulars at Seawatch. Started going when Fairfield built it. Wyndham's takeover didn't make it better- actually split it into 2 worlds. Wyndham members are treated better, as we have experienced this aspect. But Seawatch as a whole is a great place to vaca.NOTE: They are under reconstruction now (Feb 2013) and South Tower is a mess. During busy times, the elevators are HORRIBLE.Some rooms have been updated and some have not. You never know what you'll get when you check in. Would be nice if the place was consistent in room upgrades. Guess that's a hazard of a resort/hotel combo. STAFF:Staff are pleasant. Amenities are plenty.DINING:They could stand to clean the dining room where you eat breakfast, and keep the buffet fresh. Hours-old gravy is nasty looking, and gobs of bacon stuck together are not appealing. The made-to-order omelets and waffles are great as are the cooks that make them. Clean the carpet, wash the dusty centerpieces, and wipe the tables well for an easy and simple improvement. Staff are friendly and do well with what they have. CLEANLINESS: Rooms are not always as clean as they could be. Always find long hair in bathroom. Blankets need laundering every use. Bedspreads are not always clean. But again, it depends on what floor you get and what room you get as to condition of room. NO CONSISTENCY IN ROOM CLEANLINESS OR CONDITION. The Seawatch staff are willing to listen to your opinion in attempt to make things better and work with you to get you to return. Basically a good value for the money. Best location in MB, in my opinion. We go in the off season when it's not so crowded.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 17Breezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay at Sea Watch Resort. The Sea Watch Plantation property organization and the operations of it remain the same as when it first opened. Their are individually owned units and timeshare units. Sea Watch Resort, LLC is still the on-site rental management company for whole ownership and is located in the lobby area of the North Tower. When the property first opened the timeshare units were managed by Fairfield however a few years ago the management of the timeshare only changed to Wyndham. The entire pool deck surfaces have recently been upgraded and there are refurbishments currently being done in the South Tower building with the elevators also being addressed. There is no excuse or reason for lack of cleanliness anywhere and I assure you such a matter will be addressed accordingly. I especially liked the Regulars title for your review and I certain aim to keep you as a returning guests. Please contact me if I can personally handle your next reservation.

Kathy King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

After having some bad experiences at other hotels in Myrtle Beach, I asked a friend (who is a little O.C.D.) what he would recommend since he travels there a couple of times a year. He said that he always stays at Sea Watch so I made reservations in August of 2011. We were blown away at how friendly the staff were, how clean the room and grounds were and the value of our stay. We are now coming up on our third year at Sea Watch and will never stay anywhere else in Myrtle Beach.

I noticed that the majority of the bad reviews seem to be coming from the south tower. The south tower have rooms that are owned by individuals and the resort owns the ones in the north tower. I would advise you to always request your room to be in the NORTH tower. Regarless of which tower you stay in, you are free to use all of the pools, lazy livers, etc.

Room Tip: Always request the NORTH tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harrisbl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSWR, General Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Please pass along a "great big thank you" to your friend who recommended us to you three years ago! We are honored by your comments of praise for the staff and the property but most importantly your loyalty as a returning guest. All the condominiums at Sea Watch are either individually owned or timeshare. Sea Watch Resort, LLC is the on-site rental management company for the individually owned units and we do not own any of the rental units. The South Tower building has just recently had a good deal of refurbishments done on the outside of the building which included weather proofing, ceilings and walls along the corridors painted as well as the entry doors and new carpet on every hallway. I am sure the guests who stay in the South Tower will be very impressed by the improvements. Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor post and we look forward to providing you with a fun filled and enjoyable vacation experience on your next visit!

Kathy King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our first visit to the Sea Watch Resort. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean and adequately furnished. Although the weather left a lot to be desired, the accommodations were excellent and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsmsw, Guest Service Manager at Sea Watch Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sea Watch on your recent trip to Myrtle Beach, and for your gracious comments about our facilities and staff. I will pass your comments on to our staff, I know they will enjoy them. We have rays of sunshine all over our resort from our smiling employees and our Southern hospitality daily, and that’s better than any weather person’s prediction! We will do our best to order better weather for your next stay.

Timothy Bratt
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,385 reviews
3.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,418 reviews
4.3 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Watch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Resort

Property: Sea Watch Resort
Address: 161 Seawatch Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Watch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Watch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Myrtle Beach
Sea Watch Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Watch Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing