We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay Good prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Ranked #135 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Saint Pauls, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay Good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel was nice and a very good view of the beach.They were clean and the staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. We stayed 2 nights..This is our 2nd vacation here and I highly recommend others to come

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    145
    123
    74
    148
See reviews for
303
176
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We pulled in without any reservations, after driving over 13 hours we pulled into sand castle resort and immediately we were accommodated! Our room had a awesome view of the ocean. The rooms were very clean. Even though it was a but chilly outside our kids still wanted to swim in there clean pools. Next time we travel to myrtle beach, sand castle resort is where we will stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and sharing your stay with others! We look forward to seeing you again in the future and providing another memorable vacation to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deadwood, South Dakota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

the hotel was pleasant enough with nice view. it was off season so not many amenities were available such as resturant closed and outdoor pool area looking a little dirty and run down and tiki bar closed but wasn't going to use the outdoor pool anyway since temperature in the 50s. Indoor pool suited our needs nicely. hotel its self a little run down but our room was very clean and comfortable with a nice price too.

Room Tip: ask for ocean front not ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommabee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

During the time of year that you visited us, many of our amenities are closed for the season. Including the outdoor pool, tiki bar, and restaurant. We encourage you and your family to visit us again during one of Myrtle Beach's beautiful warm months and take advantage of our low rates!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us a review and share your experience with the online community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in January, and what a delight it was! My room was located on the northern most side of the three building complex, and overlooked a city park. So the room I had booked with the "partial ocean view" was actually a room where my view was almost completely unobstructed! I left the curtains opened my entire stay, because there was little chance anybody could see in, and as I would awake I would open my eyes looking at the ocean. WHAT A WAY TO START THE DAY! I took photos, which I am sharing of the view of the beach, taken from my bed, as well as a sunrise I took from my balcony. The best part of my stay was that, because it was the off-season, I paid very little for this room. The towels in the bathroom were configured to resemble shells, and the tub was a pleasure to soak in. I was in the room one of the days when the young lady who cared for the room was there. Her name was Linda, and she was a delight to converse with. The boardwalk is only a little distance south down the beach. I just can't say enough good things about this place. I am eagerly looking forward to my next stay here. Good job, Sandcastle management team! (I wish there was a selection button that exceeded "Excellent" on the "Value" icon below.)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1goodfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Nothing makes us happier then seeing a guest enjoy the time that they spend with us at our resort. I will pass your compliments along to our team member Linda, who will also be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Wasn't sure about this hotel for two reasons. 1) Because high or low price oceanfront can turn out to be anything. 2) The reviews were a wide mix.

First of all when arriving Chris that was at the front desk gave the information that showed we should have called the hotel to book as it was $177 less and there would be an extra day. This prompted a call to Hotels.com and the money refunded and the day added. Chris was very courteous and the fact that he took time to take care of his customer went far in the decision whether I would visit here again even without seeing the room.

The room was oceanfront and had a great view as I love to look at the ocean no matter what time of the year or how hot or cold it is. The room itself was a bit worn and a bit outdated however there was nothing bad about the room and most rooms that are used as often as those that are oceanfront on a popular beach get run down pretty quickly. I have stayed at many rooms on the beach at Myrtle Beach and North Myrtle Beach and they are all very similar.

The water pressure was wonderful. The housekeeping assisted with everything that was requested. The bed .... Well I am picky and almost all hotel rooms that are not going to cost me several car payments for the week have uncomfortable beds that I really hate. I suggest that if possible and if you travel often to get a mattress topper from a place like Walmart and keep it moving.

The first night I was having a hard time sleeping and every time I fell asleep some people were in the hallway hollering back and forth. I finally called the front desk and within 5-10 minutes the noise stopped after two slammed doors. The immediate attention to this was very much appreciated especially because I enjoyed my relax time however I was not feeling very well a lot of this particular trip and needed sleep.

While leaving arriving at the hotel when using the front entrance the greeting of the individual working each time (very unusual to get all the people to be so nice) was very nice and appreciated.

Unfortunately due to circumstances that changed the trip was cut a day short and the gentleman at the desk seemed to actually care and also looked to see if he could assist us with the missed night. We didn't even think to ask about this as it wasn't expected .... Usually once you reserve and arrive you don't get a refund, credit or even a person that cared to look. This was much appreciated and no he was not able to because we had booked third party however the time to look, seemed to care and apology that he couldn't do anything about the missed night was impressive and moved the Sandcastle into the will return list.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hjpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray Hawk, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our room was nice, it was a corner suite, had a great view of the ocean & beach, easy access to elevators and parking. Sandcastle at the Pavilion is easy to find, location is great to shops and restaurants

Room Tip: Use Sandcastle on line booking, great value and easy instructions, SAVE!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Layne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Most recent stay was a long weekend, September 14-16, 2013. I have stayed here three to four times a year for the last five years. The customer service representatives are professional, efficient, friendly, and helpful. The cleaning staff is quick and friendly; not to mention, will go out of their way to provide what you may need in your room. I most enjoy the ROAR of the ocean. I like to walk on the beach, past the pier, and to the Boardwalk. A most convenient location. A wide range of rooms available. I recommend oceanfront or oceanfront efficiency for the full effect, yet have stayed sideview when needed a more reasonable price. The rooms are reasonable even during peak season. The decor was recently updated. Indoor and outdoor pools, kiddie pool, lazy river, cabana, hot tub and Italian Restaurant. Plenty of parking including a parking deck convenient to property. Best deals available online. This is my home away from home.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay above the second floor for a full, uninterrupted view of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and the online community!

Guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits, and we are very appreciative that you have allowed others to read your experiences with us numerous times.

As always, we look forward to seeing you again! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#96 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#108 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#123 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
1.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion

Property: Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Address: 1802 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion is located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach. Our ocean front resort offers accommodations choices as varied as you are! Brightly decorated and accessorized with all the comforts of home, our resort features a variety of floor plans which offer suitable accommodations for whatever you require. Our efficiencies allow you to prepare your own meals, plus our suites feature separate sleeping and living quarters for privacy and comfort. Comfortable accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer! Our central location is 9 blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion area where you'll be in the very heart of downtown. We're also very near Broadway at the Beach, featuring Margaritaville, Hard Rock Cafe', Planet Hollywood, Imax Theater, Ripley's Aquarium and many other vacation highlights. Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is your absolute best choice when you want to experience all that Myrtle Beach has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort At The Pavilion Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing