We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Softball trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Ranked #137 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Softball trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Got a great price on an ocean view efficiency. Room was clean. Toilet clogged first day, maintenance took immediate care of it. Maids were ok. 1 day when we came back to room, 1 bed was made but other was not. Rest of room was clean. Wifi was very intermittent.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    145
    124
    74
    149
See reviews for
305
177
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here two nights and wish we had read more reviews and stayed somewhere else. Parking is across the street almost 2 blocks away. To get a hairdryer you must go to the front desk- next building over and put a $10 deposit down. The comforter was very thin and looked as if it came from the 1960's. A light was burned out in the stairway. Trash was in the stairway. The housekeepers have carts that are falling apart. Someone stole our "do not disturb" sign and placed I on their door because there were not enough to go around. There are old used mattresses, furniture, broken toilets in the parking garage.
Basically it's just an old nasty worn out hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been.
Our parking is directly across the street from our hotel, not two blocks away. Most oceanfront hotels in this area have parking across the street as there is no place else to have parking due to how close we are to the ocean.

Hairdryers, for the time being, are available at the front desk for a $10 cash security deposit until they can be properly placed in all of our units.

Its unfortunate to hear that someone stole your do not disturb sign, however we do have plenty available if one gets misplaced. A request can also be made for no service at check in to avoid scenarios such as this.

Over the winter, we replaced many mattresses, toilets, and added updated furniture. The old items that were replaced are in our parking garage, however they are sectioned off away from parking spaces until all of the items can be discarded.

Once again, we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not all that was expected. We encourage you to visit us again in the future. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room was great as well as the view of the ocean every morning. The staff was very friendly.
We have stayed in the same room for the past 4 years and enjoy more an more every year. It is like a home away from home. The property is very well maintained, the pool was great. We will see you again next year. I have suggested the Sandcastle to a lot of my friends to stay there and some of them have and have enjoyed their visit as much as we do everytime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review!

We love hearing from our repeat guests, and what they enjoy about the changes we make year after year. We look forward to seeing you and your friends on future visits!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailey, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The room was clean(only good point). Let me start by saying that you get what you pay for. The front desk staff was rude. Our air conditioner sounded like it was about to launch into space. We called it in the moment we checked in and nobody came and checked on the unit. We woke up this morning to a pile of water on the floor. Our bag was on the floor and all of our clothes were soaked. We called the front desk yet again and we were offered to "move". I proceeded to tell them that I wanted my
money back. They said no. My husband went downstairs and spoke with a manager and he finally gave a number to a 3rd party and they gave us back a potion of our money. I say spend the extra $50.00 and stay somewhere that is nicer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Two positives about this hotel:

We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our room.
We got a very cheap group rate.

Other than that, all I can say is our room smelled so bad every time we opened the door we had to immediately open the sliding door to get air in there. The maid came once in 5 days. Getting extra extra towels and blankets (it was cold) was like pulling teeth. The air conditioner/heat unit would switch from heat to a/c randomly and was loud cycling on and off all night long. Overall not a relaxing or restful stay. The maid who never showed up all week was knocking on our door 20 minutes before checkout time wanting us to get out now.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamom122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Took a chance on staying here for a quick weekend away. Front desk staff horrible and slow. Couldn't have cared less. Room very economy. Bathroom tiny. Bug crawling across nightstand. Indoor pool had no chairs or towels. Not worth the money

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jecbd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I reserved this hotel because of the favorable reviews on this site and the reasonable price. I think the reviewers had this hotel mixed up with someplace else. We booked 2 nights, but left after one, with no apologies (or offer of compensation) from the front desk. As a matter of fact they kept telling me how "lucky" I was to have a room there. They were not totally booked and I didn't feel lucky. The pavilion is 1/2 mile away so I would not call it "at the pavilion." We complained twice that there was no wifi. We were told twice that it was available, but when I pulled out my phone I was told it was not available in the lobby. Our room was very dated, musky, and only marginally clean. There was no clock radio. The sliding glass door on the balcony wouldn't close completely. There was a coffeemaker but no coffee. The sheets did appear clean. It was too cool to swim in the pool so we decided to try the indoor jacuzzi, but when we turned it on the smell was putrid! I complained at the desk and my response was "yes, mam". I warn you to stay away from this hotel at any cost. You will not be comfortable and no one will care.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pirategirlecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are sorry that your stay with us was not all that it should have been. We cannot stress enough that what you described in your review is nowhere near our standards.

The area that we are located in, is known as the "Pavilion Area". We use it in our name to emphasize how close we are to many of the famous attractions in the area. Most of which are walking distance.
We recently did some renovations to our lobby to enhance comfort for our guests, however the WiFi is still being worked on for lobby use. Many cell phones require configuring to connect to a public network; in the event that they do, we keep a list of customer service numbers for most well known phone manufacturers to be able to assist and connect you quickly.

Our hot-tub is located in our recently renovated oceanfront indoor pool area and is checked and maintained several times a day to ensure clean, comfortable, and safe swimming/relaxing conditions. Due to the pools proximity to the ocean, the ocean air mixed with the steam can create a temporary odor that will last for a few seconds.

It is unfortunate that your visit with us was not all that it should have been, but I can assure you that your review will be used to address the issues you mentioned to ensure that they do not and will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#104 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#112 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#77 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#125 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion

Property: Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Address: 1802 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion is located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach. Our ocean front resort offers accommodations choices as varied as you are! Brightly decorated and accessorized with all the comforts of home, our resort features a variety of floor plans which offer suitable accommodations for whatever you require. Our efficiencies allow you to prepare your own meals, plus our suites feature separate sleeping and living quarters for privacy and comfort. Comfortable accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer! Our central location is 9 blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion area where you'll be in the very heart of downtown. We're also very near Broadway at the Beach, featuring Margaritaville, Hard Rock Cafe', Planet Hollywood, Imax Theater, Ripley's Aquarium and many other vacation highlights. Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is your absolute best choice when you want to experience all that Myrtle Beach has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort At The Pavilion Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing