We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Most Relaxing and courteous hotel service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Ranked #135 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Atlanta, Ga
1 review
“The Most Relaxing and courteous hotel service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

I thought this was a great hotel, great location, and wonderful experience overall. And I also liked the fact that I had a poolside room.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taneasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    145
    123
    74
    148
See reviews for
303
176
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

I've read mixed reviews about this hotel, either they are very poor, very good, or some what moderate. Although I believe all reviews are biased in some way ( i.e., bad staffing that one day, someones in a bad mood, a dirty sheet, etc.,) , I will truly try and give an unbiased review so when you show up you won't be disappointed.

My friends and I were between the ages of 17-18 at the time of our stay. We were going down for our senior spring break, and this hotel was one of the very few that would book us without either a. a parent or b. a credit card number. We were allowed to hold our room untill we arrived( we were thrilled) and paid cash at the front desk. The front as I can recall was clean, but small and the staff during my check in were friendly and prompt ( remember, we were a group of 18 year olds).

So off we went with our 3 room keys to our room. Yes, everything you read/hear about the elevator is true. This hotel/motel is a high rise. There is one elevator. It is slow, and worn down. Welcome to most of myrtle beach's hotels that are on the cheaper side and meant for teenages and young adults. Besides that being a pain because we weren't on the first floor and we had LOTS of luggage, we entered the room. Now wait. As you can read so far, can you guess what the room was like? Right. Nothing special. Clean, and a little out dated. Yes, it smelt. But again, I can almost assure you that 85% or more of the occupants were under the age of 21.

Yes, they probably smoked when they shouldn't have.
Spilt drinks and let them soak in.

But this hotel was far from "disgusting".
The balcony is very narrow and ALWAYS made me nervous when someone was on it. The view is AMAZING, you're literally on the beach. The pool and bar were clean, and nothing was too unusual.

The staff was MORE than willing to accomadate us. We had asked for over 2 spare keys at all hours of the night and never did they give us a hard time. (Thank you!! :-D). Room service or maids are available. We cleaned our own mess because lord knows it was terrible. Oh, and PS, 6 girls in one room needed more than one extra towel. We never had to sign up for one. Our maid on our floor was amazing and always hooked us up. Perhaps people should be a little bit more courteous to the staff and the staff will help them out. Anyways...

We even got our deposit back

All in all this hotel was FAR beyond our expectations. We read the reviews and we were expecting something WAY worse. If you're looking for a romantic get away, I surely wouldn't spend it here. If you're looking for somewhere for your family to stay, I'd reconsider it. 1. you're right in the middle of everything. It is loud. There are kids everywhere (((( at least during spring break)))). 2. The balconys aren't very safe for children. If you're looking for a place to stop on a business trip, I'd stay at the Marriot or Holiday Inn etc., But if your young, indifferent and enjoy a great deal on room prices, I'd say this place is for you. Also, honestly, from a different perspective, vacation is spent outside or doing attractions, not in your hotel. As long as its clean, and it's cheap, I wouldn't care too much.

Oh yeah! Parking sucked a little bit, but we dealt with it also.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manda29575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

Little did we know it was a busy time at the beach. A friend and I decided to stay here. The room was small, and the walls were paper thin. I had to turn up out tv to drown out the tv in the next room. The AC/heat wouldn't work right. It was okay for the money, but I will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CinR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. george, sc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

We were doing some work in Georgetown, SC and needed to stay over night. Some friends had told us about a nice hotel in Georgetown but we figured that we could get the same rate or close to it if we took that 30 min ride to Myrtle Beach in addition to it being an ocean front room.

Needless to say, we were not disappointed. This was our second stay at SandCastle but at a different location than at first. We look forward to going back again in the near future for our anniversary and having a little more time to really enjoy ourselves. Even though I would not have traded that one night and the peace that came along with it for anything in the world.

Sincerely,

Samuel & Joyce Carson

  • Liked — The bed was very comfortable. I have a bad back but I slept like a baby.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jycarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

This was a very clean hotel with a great view. Would love to see a restaurant there. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank atorlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

Warning, their advertisments are a scam. I subscribed to their e-mail service a got an e-mail today saying 50% off if you book within the next 72 hours. Well this is nice, as I checked the rates yesterday and the "standard" non discounted rate was $91 for Room type E for the week in June.

So I went back in with the EXACT same reservation with 50% off and it comes up $74. Hummmm, something wrong there!

So I went back and clicked the "rates" button on their site. Again the "standard" non discounted rate is $91.

So I call them, they said their standard rate is $130 per night, and the $91 rate I found online is already discounted 30%. I asked them where I can find the "standard" rates at, he said it is listed on their rates section. So I click on "Rates" and again with NO discount applied the "Standard" rate was $91 average per night.

So I asked him again, where I can find your "Standard Rate" of $130 that you claim, well... he couldn't. He just went around in circles and could not show me where it says the standard rate was $130.

I went to this place once and am subscribed to their e-mail list, but I am going to unsubscribe and consider other places for our next trip to Myrtle Beach. I don't like hotels that use "false" advertising and gimics like this. Makes they look terrible and what a waste of time trying to figure all this out.

When you say 50% off, give the people 50% off! Don't try to scam us, terrible decision by management!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank GelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managermanager, General Manager at Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion, responded to this review, 28 January 2009
We are sorry to hear about your problem with our reservation system. We have discounts available on-line for 25% to 30% off our rack rate. The rack rate will only be available when the hotel is 80% booked for the dates requested. As the internet and our reservation staff books rooms our rates rise. We offered our guest a 50% discount to book with-in 72 hours. This has been a great seller and lots of reservations have been booked. Some time periods the rates have already reached rack. In June the 50% rate is $65.00 to $ 74.00, our rack rate of $120.00 to $152.00 has not become available yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Greensboro, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

We have stayed at the Sandcastle at the Pavilion more than once this year and will stay many more times. My husband and I stayed at the Sandcastle and loved it so much when my daughter asked me to go to the beach with her and my granddaughter we never thought twice...it had to be Sandcastle at the Pavilion. She and I had only been back a couple of weeks and my husband and I went back to Myrtle Beach, back to the Sandcastle. The service at the Sandcastle is second to none.

We met at Myrtle Beach 42 years ago and have returned to the beach many, many times. Over the years we have stayed at several places, but after staying and the Sandcastle this will be the place for us.

We have stayed in different areas of the motel, but have had a great view each time.

One day during our stay in November, our three granddaughters and daughter stopped by to visit us. Since they were on their way home from school they decided to do their homework while we visited. There was just one problem, they didn't have enough pencils to go around. The granddaughters and I went down to the office to see if we might be able to borrow a pencil or two. The clerk on duty not only found pencils, made sure they were sharp, but even suggested the girls might take a dip in the pool once the homework was finished. The girls felt so special.

The staff at the Sandcastle always make us feel not only like special guests, but family. There is always a genuine warmness from the staff. Whether we are passing a staff member in the elevator, or outside, or in the office area, the staff is great. It is so nice to be appreciated as a guest.

  • Liked — Service and view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Greensboro_NCSkeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#96 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#108 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#123 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion

Property: Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Address: 1802 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcastle Oceanfront at the Pavilion is located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach. Our ocean front resort offers accommodations choices as varied as you are! Brightly decorated and accessorized with all the comforts of home, our resort features a variety of floor plans which offer suitable accommodations for whatever you require. Our efficiencies allow you to prepare your own meals, plus our suites feature separate sleeping and living quarters for privacy and comfort. Comfortable accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer! Our central location is 9 blocks from the famous Myrtle Beach Pavilion area where you'll be in the very heart of downtown. We're also very near Broadway at the Beach, featuring Margaritaville, Hard Rock Cafe', Planet Hollywood, Imax Theater, Ripley's Aquarium and many other vacation highlights. Sandcastle Resort at the Pavilion is your absolute best choice when you want to experience all that Myrtle Beach has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort At The Pavilion Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing