We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marriott Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #2 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We are not a Marriott timeshare owner, but I have to say that if I ever purchase a timeshare property it will be at Marriott's Ocean Watch Villas in Myrtle Beach. We have rented from owners for the last 4 years and will be staying at the resort for our 5th time this month. We would compare this property to a Sandals all inclusive resort that we vacationed at recently in St. Lucia. The villas are immaculate, the pools are sparkling clean, and the staff is very courteous and professional. Marriott's Ocean Watch Villas has spoiled us and we do not want to stay anywhere else when vacationing on the east coast.
There are activities for all ages ranging from water aerobics classes to basketball clinics. There is plenty to do at this resort without ever leaving the property. You can purchase a refillable souvenir mug for $20 and use it for unlimited soft drinks and/or Starbucks Coffee. There is a Pizza Hut Express on on the property, small store with essential groceries, and souvenirs. There is also a poolside bar and several appetizers and sandwiches can be purchased there for a much more reasonable price than at the Marriott Hotel next door. There is also live music twice a week and a cookout with hamburgers and hot dogs at a reasonable price. There is a marshmallow roast for children and shrimp night for adults. I could go on and on about this place, but rest assured it is a great place to vacation at with your family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TravelDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

My family and I just returned from a fabulous 7 nights at the oceanwatch, and we enjoyed every minute. The place is beautiful and the staff is friendly. We were checked in by Elise I believe, and she was very professional. We traded for this and to my suprise we were given an oceanview villa. It was nice sitting on the patio every morning drinking coffee or eating breakfast while looking at the ocean. It is as beautiful as Cancun. Besides the ocean, there are several pools at this resort and they are kid friendly. The snack bars located by the pools are resonably priced, and the food and drinks are very good. I would like to give a special thanks to Sandy Torres Martinez in loss prevention who was responsible for sending me some of my clothing that I left behind in the villa. I will definitely return to this great place, it was an unforgettable experience that both my family and I enjoyed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the Starfish building, the rooms al face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have found that our stays at the Marriott Ocean Watch Villas have spoiled us for most other arrangements. Everyone at the Marriott is just so pleasant and friendly. Our vacations there are so relaxing. If we need to call housekeeping(for example) to say the the iron is not working within 5 minutes a new iron arrives at our door followed by a phone call to see if the problem has been solved. Service is certainly customer oriented. The pools are immaculate, the rooms are immaculate. We really have not found a thing to complain of after multiple years vacationing there.The area is so quiet. There is no noise at all at night, just the ocean. This year we bought the painted starfish from the activities room, hand painted , and all proceeds go the the Childrens Miracle Network which seems to be very generous by those involved.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I go every year and ask myself If I want to go for 2 weeks or 3, or just move here altogether. It just doesn't get any better. The villas are right on the water, you take an elevator down from your 2 room villa and then walk out onto the sand. No car, no bother, no parking. With full kitchens, you can cook, or just reheat and never have to leave. I've been here for a week with no car and never got board. The beach just doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krewerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The resort is lovely, but this was our third consecutive year vacationing there and we noticed the service is not as good as in previous years. The rooms and beach are outstanding and the front desk staff as professional as it gets, but that's where it ended. The pool was a little dirty for this level Marriott, and the pool bartender was downright rude when we told her one of the four $9.00 drinks we ordered was tasteless. Also, we wasted 45 minutes for pool snacks while the staff celebrated and left us and several other guests standing around waiting. It's little service things that make a difference at a high end resort like this.
The bikers were in town and the roads were a nightmare, so check the calendar for theme weeks unless you are looking for massive traffic and overcrowded everything. May 18 through 23 was peaceful, then they rollednin and took over the streets especially at dinner and evening.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank mytable42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

oceanwatch at grande dunes is our favorite marriott timeshare resort. Lovely property, beautiful ocean views, plenty of lounge chairs by the pool, convenient parking and great two bedroom fully equipped units. Located in an upscale section of myrtle beach - grande dunes.

Karim at the front desk did a great job getting us checked in. We had one minor maintenance issue in our unit and it was attended to promptly.

Overall a wonderful upscale timeshare resort!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachandsun064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This resort is beautiful and it's beaches were in great shape. I did not stay here as a Vacation Club member I rented for just two nights - so I suspect my perspective differs from most. Nonetheless I think this warrants mentioning at the rates that are charged here.
We had bad weather while we were there so it limited our beach time (not the Resorts fault). - My quibbles -
1) The resort would not allow a late check out (10 AM is early by most standards) even though I was a Marriott Gold Member and the weather was poor .
2) We were placed next to the building entrance and a loud trash room.
3) For the rates charged by this facility,I was surprised to see the rooms had TVs without HD capabilities.

I think the Vacation Club members get the better rooms and overall service. Caveat emptor for those renting for a couple of nights over the internet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PERRYNATEDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,756 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,347 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
4.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £124 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing