We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #5 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We always love to stay at the Marriott Ocean Watch and we were glad to see that they had a spa facility this year. I had a service for myself and my Mom and it was wonderful. It's not a full service spa, so if you're looking for steam rooms and hot tubs, it's not for you, but this was a wonderful, cozy private place to relax and get pampered! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodguy1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    198
    43
    17
    24
See reviews for
594
210
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I am not a fan of Myrtle Beach. There is a lot to do there, but too many people. However, the property is outstanding. We go to Myrtle a lot just because of this hotel. The pool, and service around it, are top notch, the beach is great and not too crowded in front of the hotel. The location is perfect as it is just south of Barefoot Landing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ECUPirates64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We own several timeshares and have stayed here a couple of times before but this time we were very disappointed. We own Platinum Plus in Aruba and used destination points to come here. Tim the room coordinator was determined to not offer us any help and could care less about what we were asking for. He was rude and should be retrained or let go!
They put us in the Pine bldg in a corner unit overlooking trees and the street. The other units in our building all have two balconies we have one and it's view is limited. We were supposed to be Ocean Side but they gave us Ocean view. It is across the street far from the beach and main pools. We have a kiddie pool and jungle gym and in door pool. Who goes in an indorr pool in July? Since ithe hotel is totally booked they couldnt move us to Ocean side so we asked if we could at least move our room to a higher floor and with two balconies so my brother and his wife can at least get a better view instead of a parking lot! But TIM refused he was too busy he said with people checking in, but it was eight o clock in the morning and no one was here yet plenty of empty rooms to move us. If you book here make sure you are familiar with the property. You want to stay in the front hotel buildings on the beach not in the back...Pine and Maple buildings for us are unacceptable I could have stayed in jersey for this view!

Room Tip: DO NOT Stay in Pine or Maple building unless you don't mind limited ocean view and limited beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Marriott's Ocean Watch Villas. We apologize the (level of service) did not meet your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us. In order for us to appropriately address your concerns, please contact our Customer Care office at Marriott Vacations Worldwide via email at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384.

Marriott Vacations Worldwide Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We are Marriott Vacation Timeshare owners and this is one of our home properties. This is our 3rd time staying at this Marriott and true to all of the MVC properties we have stayed at, we were not disappointed. We always go mid-June.l The condos are large and have just about everything you need for your vacation. Plenty of beach towels and linens, two full bathrooms, washer/dryer, etc. etc. etc. We love having the full kitchen so we can make a leaisurely breakfast, then make and take lunch down to the pool with our cooler of cocktails. The kids love that they can get frozen virgin cocktails at the bar for happy hour. There is something for everyone on this property ... you can enjoy the beach, the pool with waterslide and kiddie center, the waterfall pool beachfront, or one of the hot tubs. Oh, and of course the indoor pool. Marriott also does a nice job of having on-site activities for everyone.

As other posters have mentioned, if you want a pool chair in the shade, you do need to get down to the pool by 8:30 to reserve your chairs. Luckily for us, my husband is an early riser and enjoyed his early morning reading time poolside. I would recommend taking your own beach chair, unless you want to rent from the lifeguards. They rent two beach loungers and an umbrella for $30/day for the first day, then $20/day for the next 3 days, then $15/day for each day after. You can set up your own chairs in front of or behind their line of chairs, but you can only use your own umbrella behind their line.

There is plenty to do off site ... there is Broadway at the Beach,and the Boardwalk just to name a few. We always go to the Boardwalk to see the tigers playing. And, the kids enjoy the rides at Broadway.

Hope you get to visit sometime soon!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are so convenient when in one of the buildings beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luvvy_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins Ferry, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We are not owners just booked online after reading all the great reviews. Very disappointed for paying over 500.00 a night. There was a cockroach in the master bathroom. The swimming pool needed cleaned (oil and white film in the corners ). If you wanted a chair around the pool you needed to be sitting on it by 7:30 or else they take your towel. The workers at the pool bar were nasty. The kitchen is very small. Better ironing boards at the Fairfields and the iron did not work. The patio door was very difficult to open. Other than that the condo was nice

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travlinon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Marriott's Ocean Watch Villas. We apologize the (level of service) did not meet your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us. In order for us to appropriately address your concerns, please contact our Customer Care office at Marriott Vacations Worldwide via email at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384.

Marriott Vacations Worldwide Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We are not Marriott timeshare owners but stayed here 6/18-23. 2 bedroom villa was spacious and updated with granite in kitchen and newer appliances. This is a great family resort with several pools and located directly on beach. Lots of fun things to do within a couple miles of resort but resort is located far enough away from busy tourist areas. Great golf course options close by too. Can't go wrong! Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolverine1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We usually stay at the Marriott hotel next door to the villas which we love, but with our boys being 17 & 18 we now need to rent two adjoining rooms which the hotel cannot guarantee. So we decided to try the OceanWatch Villas next door. For starters it's cheaper than renting two rooms at the hotel which only offers 2-doubl beds. The villas are very spacious, we chose one with 2 separate bathrooms (Master with large Jacuzzi tub and standing shower, a king master suite and a room with 2-queen beds, plus a sofa bed in the living room. We brought our own DVD's for late night movie watching which with was a plus. The villas are very clean, fully loaded with extra towels, linens, and pillows and they truly offers all the comforts of home. We stocked the kitchen with breakfast and lunch foods, which was perfect because I love sitting on the spacious balcony to watch the sun rise and see the dolphins play while enjoying my breakfast in relaxation. Lunch times were a nice escape from the sun while eating and playing board games on the veranda. The property has several lovely grills if you want a do-it-your-self BBQ too. If you're an active bunch like us, check out the shuffle-board, toss game, and outdoor ping-pong table.

Though there seemed to be many people around the pool area, we never had any problems finding a comfortable spot. However, I cannot speak for peak seasons when kids are out of school or holiday times, it must be very crowded around the pool. Please note, the 3 oceanfront building pools are always heated at 85º which was way to warm for my liking, so I stuck mostly to the beach and shower hoses.

Though there is a large pool bar & grill the workers a very slow and somewhat scatterbrained, but easy solution, bring your own beer, and spiked punches poolside and all is good. But if you do prefer to have poolside lunch, order in anticipation or there is a small convenience shop with a mini pizza-hut and other assorted foods.

On the last day we decided to walk through the other hotel properties, the two building behind ours had a kid's mini water park, great for families with smaller children and plenty of room. But the hidden treasure was the indoor pool, it was fantast! It was large, very clean, with cool refreshing water, and completely empty, a real gold-mine.

In all, we had a wonderful and relaxing vacation and I'm sure you will too. Enjoy.

Room Tip: If you're staying oceanfront, for a more panoramic view of the ocean you should request a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jemsp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,649 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,043 reviews
4.5 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
4.8 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing