We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #5 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
VIRGINA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We got our villa at a steal! Two bedrooms, two baths, kitchen, washer & dryer, living room, and dining area on the 8th floor. Comfortable beds. Nice balcony. Private beach. Convenient parking and many amenitiies. Staff was very helpful. It was cold but not as cold as Virginia and it was relaxing. Great 8 days and 7 nights. Secluded, but convenient to shopping and restaurants. Several shopping malls and outlet stores close by with good deals. The resort and our room was very clean and it was quiet. At this time of year a lot of the restaurants were closed, but we found great places to eat. The resort restaurant was great. I would stay here again. Definitely!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kepnitreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    196
    43
    17
    24
See reviews for
588
208
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived after dark in heavy fog. We were tired, hungry and frustrated because the trip here was not uneventful. This was tempered by the fact that we had left in 20 degree weather with ungodly wind chill numbers and arrived here in 64 degree weather. But it was foggy and difficult to see 20 feet in front of us.

We parked the car, walked into the hotel lobby, and were greeted by a staff of fun and good natured staff who were concerned about our needs and ready with solutions. We couldn't assess the appearance of the outside of the place because we couldn't see it. We could assess the lobby, however. It was opulent, beautifully appointed, and spacious.

Armed with our arrival package, we went to the room on the 12th floor. The room was impeccably clean, decorated nicely, well laid out. It was a two bedroom suite, and I migrated to one of the bedrooms I mistook for the master bedroom because of its size, two large beds and beautiful bathroom. MY wife called me into the other bedroom and said; "Just walk into the bathroom." I did. I was in awe. The shower - a walk in - was at least 10 feet long, and the rest of the bathroom was as big as the other bedroom. I looked at my wife and said; "We're home."

There are at least a half dozen heated pools - both inside and outside. There is a water park on site, and BBQ facilities. There is a well equipped fitness center, a sauna and hot tub available, and too many other amenities to mention. I saved the best for last. The view of the ocean and the facility from our window and balcony on the 12th floor can only be described as spectacular. We'll definitely be back here.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 8th floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a really nice place, great for kids and adults. We went during March and had a great time. It was a little cold but the resort was peaceful and the rate for the room was wonderful during this time of the year. Make sure you request ocean front, as this is the best you can also request the suites with the large balcony's off the main building.

Room Tip: Ocean front, and request the rooms with the large open balcony's overlooking the ocean and the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have stayed here three different times. Each time we've had a wonderful time. Our kids love the amazing playscape, the "flower" pool, the water slide, easy access to beach, and the fun pool activities they host. The location of the hotel makes it easy to get to all the attractions but when at the resort, it's very private. I love that there is no public access to the beach.

Room Tip: I like the Pine Building if staying with young children. Closer to the playscape and kids pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We love cruising. This year our stays at Oceanwatch Villas just converted me from cruiser to vacay clubber :-) We stayed at the Marriott OceanWatch Villas in Thanksgiving 2013 and again for Christmas week. We love it there. Coming from the DC area, its the closest (6 hour drive) you can get to mild beautiful weather. Early part of Christmas week was warm it felt like summer. The villas are beautifully appointed. You don't really need to get out of the property to enjoy. The pools are heated and even in the 40s it is still perfect to swim in 80s pool water.

The best part of our trip this December is the great customer service demonstrated by Marriott. We didn't realize until a week days since we returned from the trip that a big bag full of shoes was missing. I called Marriott and the gentleman from Loss Prevention Department was very helpful and responsive. He shipped our 'left' items immediately via Fedex and today we received the package. Kudos to your excellent staff, the housekeeping, front desk and especially loss prevention. Special thanks to Mr. Willem van Rijswijck (Loss Prevention Officer) for the special care given us. Happy 2014 to Marriott Oceanwatch Villas associates!

Room Tip: We always got ocean view and it is excellent if you are in the high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HTuanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

After a long drive it was just so pleasant to arrive at this beautiful location. We are Marriott owners and traded through Interval. Family of four. 20 year old twins. I arrived to find that the building I expected to stay in was "reserved for owners"(starfish building). I was disappointed yet Jes(I think) assured me that our room in the Maple building would provide a beautiful view. I was skeptical but once the fog cleared the view was Awesome!!! We stayed in the Maple building room 4114-11th floor. Would request this room again!! Another mention to Angela who was also very helpful. Heated pools and hot tub make swimming in any temperature wonderful!!! Visit the QVC outlet found great deals!!!
Wonderful Christmas week!!!
Note: as you review please share your building and room numbers as this is very helpful.

Room Tip: Maple building. Room 4114.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blessed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We are happy your family had a wonderful Christmas week with us! It is truly a pleasure to read your kind words for so many of our associates, including Jessica and Angela. It is our hope you can visit us again at Marriott’s OceanWatch Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed there with our infant and it really was great. The two bedroom villa was great. Super big and decked out with all of the amenities needed to have a nice vacation. This particular villa could have been a bit updated in the kitchen and living room with a way more comfortable couch but the bathrooms and master bedroom were very nicely done. We didn't suntan but we did dip our toes in one pool and we felt like it had a luxurious feel to it. The grounds were very clean and the resort offered a wide variety of pools to go to - there is even an indoor pool. There was a wonderful on site photographer and we got the most beautiful pictures on the beach which is right there. Lovely service. Would have liked it if the Marriott Hotel next door offered room service to the villas but it was a short walk so it wasn't a big deal. We did the time share presentation because we were genuinely interested in that option. Our rep was very nice. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RVAFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott’s OceanWatch Villas at Grand Dunes! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope you return to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
4.8 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing