We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #2 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Girls' Weekend”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Recently returned from the OceanWatch Villas after a wonderful wknd with my 3 bestfriends. This is a Marriott vacation property so be prepared to be offered a "showing". They were not pushy about the offer which was a big plus. We chose the 2 BR ocean front view overlooking the pools and it was gorgeous. Lots of space and furnished nicely. Smelled fresh and clean which seems to be a problem with some properties in Myrtle Beach. I love that the key card is 'touch activated'. Fully stocked kitchen and beds that rivaled the "Heavenly Bed" at the Westin. The only two complaints I have is I could have done without the practically see through "window" in the master shower and the parking garage is pretty tight with not too many available spaces after dark. The property is located on the north end and away from the traffic and noise of the 'strip'. But this is the off season so it may be a different case in a couple months. I usually stay on the strip but moving forward I think I may chose this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We are happy to read your five-star review of Marriott’s OceanWatch Villas! . We look forward to your next girl’s vacation to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    200
    43
    17
    25
See reviews for
611
215
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Over the years, we have stayed in many hotels and condo's in the Myrtle Beach area. We discovered the OceanWatch Villas a few years ago and we now stay there at least two weeks out of the year. Clean, quiet and a lot to do - even if it's not beach or pool weather. For me, this is hands down the nicest facility in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: In the front buildings (Conch & the other escapes me), the middle rooms have a big, beautiful ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lrg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A friend and I went to Myrtle Beach for three days of shopping. I searched many hotels looking for a nice 2 BR spot with good ratings and also one which most people described as clean. The Marriott Oceanwatch Villa was like an oasis for us. It was spacious, clean and gave each one of us a private bedroom and bath. We chose the gardenview unit to save money and because it was not beach weather in Feb; however, the view overlooked the garden and pools which were pretty. We requested a low floor to avoid elevator time. I called ahead that morning and Warren kindly agreed to let us check in a little early since we were heading out again. Check out time was 10 AM, but the front desk also allowed us to stay until 11 AM. Everyone was very nice and my requests were accommodated. We have already made plans to return next Feb. and stay again - hopefully in the same unit.

Room Tip: I would not choose a low gardenview room during busy seasons because it could be noisy with pool ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKCL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are pleased you chose to visit us at your “oasis” in Myrtle beach! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Marriott’s OceanWatch Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Ok, this is my second time to stay here. I wish I had remembered to ask for the villas that are on the ocean. We wound up in the ones behind the tower that is on the beach. I have some tips: It is best to book through the Marriott, and specify that you want to be on the beach if that is important to you. All rooms in these villas are oceanview, oceanfront, etc. The view will be very limited from the other buildings unless you insist on a high floor. This is what I did. We asked, because we had booked through Expedia and could not change our "room type" , for a high floor. They were kind enough to put us on the top floor, floor 16. We had a great view, but it is still distant, and you are still looking at the Marriott Hotel and the other villa building. If you are planning to cook, and can manage to do this, bring your knives, and other things you must have. The pans were awful (again), knives would not cut butter, and they don't even give you salt or pepper. The thing that really ticked me off was that there is a full kitchen, the villa is for 8 people, and when I arrived, the only thing they give you in the kitchen is a little box with 2 creamers, 1 sugar, 1 sweet n low, and a stirrer. Attached to this? A note saying that this one's on them, but you can go BUY the rest if you plan on drinking coffee during your stay. So please, do yourself a huge favor, bring your spices, sugars, etc. You don't want to have to go out and buy all of these things just to make a simple cup of coffee or scrambled eggs! Oh! And warning: the restaurant is awful here. I love the Marriott, but they have GOT to step it up if they are going to charge outrageous prices in the restaurant! The simple 2 eggs, hashbrowns, and toast breakfast is $16. Juice is like $4. Hence the reason, with a family of 5, I choose to bring my eggs, pancake mix (bring your cooking spray for their awful pans), bacon, bread, etc., and eat in the villa. There is a kitchen, but they try to make it to where you can't make a good meal without a lot of trouble, in hopes that you'll give in and go to the restaurant. Not nice, Marriott.
OH! Watch out for the timeshare people!!! They will try, every chance they get, to rope you in! It is quite uncomfortable, honestly. When you check in, they will say that you are to walk over and get your welcome gift. DO NOT GO OVER THERE! If you want taffy or whatever it is, go to the store and get some! It's flat out trickery!!

Room Tip: Read the review for my tips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessehly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott’s OceanWatch Villas! As a loyal Tripadvisor contributor, we truly appreciate your detailed feedback about your stay. The view type is dependent on the villa category reserved, whether it be ocean front or ocean view. Our recommendation is to reserve through Marriott as we offer the Best Rate Guarantee and will provide an additional 25% off if you find a lower rate.

Our team also appreciates your feedback on in-room amenities, restaurant offerings and the complimentary gift at check-in. We will share your thoughts with the appropriate managers to ensure our guests are receiving the best service possible. Thank you again for visiting and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two-bedroom suite in February of 2014 during regions record cold weather spell. The suite was quite nice, with two bedrooms, three beds, two bathrooms and full kitchen. Everything was clean and in working order. A variety of pools and hot tubs on the property and you are right on the ocean. Plenty to do in the area especially if you like to golf, plenty of courses nearby. Fifteen minutes to airport by car. Restaurants galore within minutes of the resort. Everyone working at the resort was pleasant and helpful. Nothing to complain about during our trip, five star rating.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
As a loyal Tripadvisor contributor, we truly appreciate your five-star review for Marriott’s OceanWatch Villas! Our team is thrilled you had a great visit even with the colder weather in the area. We hope you visit us again on your next trip to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Birthday trip for my husband!! Love the space of a full two bedroom condo. We have stayed here before when our daughter was running a half marathon. You feel like you are in your own home but with an awesome view of the ocean! Love Myrtle Beach during off season. Upon checkin a little tip, they will say step over across the lobby for our free welcome gift. What it really is a representative trying to set up an appointment for a timeshare tour. I don't mind these pitches at times but after a four hour ride, it's really a turnoff for me. I would suggest bypassing the free boxed salt water taffy or tote bag and just head to your room. Parking is no charge. Housekeeping could be improved, showers and bath tubs were not cleaned daily. Good value during off season, not so much during the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bankerchic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We are happy you chose Marriott’s OceanWatch Villas to celebrate your husband’s birthday! Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at Marriott OceanWatch and we were wowed. What a beautiful place to vcation. It was one of the most memorable vacation we have had. The resort is beautiful and the staff bent over backwards to accomodate us. Spacious and comfortable, this reosrt has it all. The kitchen has everything that you will need and in room laundry bonus.As with all of the marriott vacation club properties the beds are the most comfortable in the world.
You will not even have to leave the place as it has it all !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,689 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
4.8 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing