We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 2Bdr Suite... $700 per night in early August”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #2 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family of four stayed at the property for one night in early August -- which I'm guessing is high season at the Villas. We do not have a "time-share" and were utilizing the property as though it was a hotel. Note that at the rate of $700 +tax per night for a 2BR suite it was expensive by most standards. The accommodations were phenomenal with a view of the ocean (we had an ocean view .. not an ocean front). Great space in the 2 BR -- 1 King and 2 Queen beds -- and a nice full kitchen. It looks to be a great place for a vacation (more than one night). There is limited eating onsite and so we needed to drive away from the villas for dinner etc. Building is right on the beach with multiple pools and activities arranged that look great for a family with young children (mine are in their late teens).

Only negative I saw was that there was a considerable wait at check-in.. We arrived at the hotel and did all the paperwork before our room was ready... we were offered a room on the first floor before the normal check-in time but were told something on a "high floor" would be available later in the day. I opted to wait for the higher floor with a view ... but it turned out to only be on the 4th floor so that was a bit disappointing. When I came back to the check-in desk to get the room assignment I waited approx 15 minutes for someone to become available... seemed like a long wait at 7pm that night... there were many more staff on duty during the afternoon.

Would recommend this location as long as money is not an issue.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having stayed at the Marriott next door for a couple years we already knew this was the perfect location for us. It's beautifully landscaped, away from the crazy downtown Myrtle area, but so close to great restaurants and attractions. Groceries and CVS are just a minute away too.

The rooms are beautifully furnished, two comfortable bedrooms and nice sized bathrooms. Although I would perfer the master bath to have more privacy. Loved having a kitchen (small, but perfectly useable). So nice to make breakfast and eat on the balcony. That was definitely my favorite spot. We had a great ocean view and pool view. At times the pool was loud at night, but not noticeable from inside with the door closed. The excessive fireworks set of by guests was annoying and it appeared mgmt did not care. I don't mind in the evening, but 12am, 1am REALLY! Night after night.

The grounds crew does a great job keeping the landscaping maintained and pools clean. Loved all the outdoor spaces. Grills to cook, cubbies to store your beach chairs and toys (might be my favorite thing), bball court, fire pit etc. .... Well done!!!

We also bought the $25 cup for unlimited coffee and soda. It was worth it, but definitely too much for the Sand Dollar to keep up with. Something was always empty. Nickolas was the only friendly and knowledgable employee there. The food was good and this place could do much better with a little overhaul. Same with the pool bar. Employees outside were great, drinks and grilled items all great, just need more than one line. So many people give up ( including us).

Loved all the resort activities for kids and adults. So much to do all day. I did most of the fitness classes in the morning.... Water aerobics, Zumba, kickboxing etc.... loved it! Jewel was an awesome instructor and so were the others! Great job!

This property has so much to offer, we stayed in the Scallop building, so close to the beach walkway it was perfect. It is hard to find a chair at the pool, luckily we come mainly for the beach. We will difinitely return!!!

Room Tip: If your facing the pool, an upper level is probably better with kids ( for sleeping/napping). From t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kterragno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Beach is beautiful, pools are big and clean. All pools are slightly different so you can find your perfect spot with or without kids. Our two bedroom villa had an amazing view BUT the space was cramped, the kitchen poorly stocked in terms of cooking gadgets (measuring cups and spoons). The balcony only had 4 chairs yet the unit sleeps 6-8 people. The pool bar has a limited menu and there is no fish on it. Hello, we are at he beach. The beach sells the place but they need to work on the amenities. We own here, we will be back because the grand kids love it but after having stayed at other marriott time shares this is far from the best.

Room Tip: Starfish building facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas. We are pleased to hear your family enjoyed their stay with us in Myrtle Beach. Your feedback on areas of improvement is appreciated and will be shared with the resort management team. We look forward to your next stay and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here June 8th-14th. Let me just say this place is beautiful!! We stayed in a two-bedroom condo. There was plenty of room for me, my boyfriend & my two kids (ages 9 & 13). We honestly could have fit at least 4 more people, without a problem! This place was just gorgeous & the kitchen had everything we needed for the week!

The grounds were beautifully kept & there was definitely lots to do. Nice for the kids!! Entertainment was AWESOME, especially Mr. Nigel at the kids pool! It was a hard decision to make on a daily basis, if we were going to start our day at one of the pools or the gorgeous beach!

Location was perfect, I loved it being quieter & away from the loud, busy downtown area! Private beaches are always better than public!!

Staff was awesome & very helpful if we needed anything or just needed a question answered!!

Would definitely stay here again, if we ever got the chance!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are owners at this timeshare property and returned for our 7th summer in a row. We continue to enjoy this property year to year and look forward to our annual visits. The staff were very friendly as always and we recognize quite a few from years past. Always nice to see familiar faces = people happy with their job. They are preparing to update the villas and have examples of what is to come in the Lobby area. I think all still looks good, but can understand the need to freshen and change things up a bit. We didn't fight for chairs much this summer. Grow weary of this year to year. Instead we spent more time at the beach and would return to the pools for a dip. We typically find that you can find a seat in the woodsy pool area at most times of the day. Always happy to return to our home resort and soak up the sun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach Bum Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review for Marriott's OceanWatch Villas! Our team is glad you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to many more to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As a Legacy owner we choose to vacation at this resort every year. Overall I have thought our experience outstanding, with the exception of last year in the midst of changing management practices. I was pleased to see that things have righted themselves and the resort has resumed a state of excellence. Staff are extremely sociable, accomidating and polite. The units are to be refreshed, but are still comfortable. I was also happy to see the pool staff enforce the pool rules, not allowing balls tossed in the pool, not allowing empty chairs to be held for more than two hours and keeping small children from the hot tubs. I do suggest if you want a covered area close to the pool get there before 7 am. My only complaint is the need for wifi service to be improved.

Room Tip: Rooms are assigned based on the view you purchased or points spent or price paid, however there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steelerschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes several times this summer and have nothing but GREAT things to say. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are very nicely furnish, free wi-first and great and friendly staff. Everything a resort should be.
The staff here, especially Kelly, went out of their way to assist us with a handicapped unit. They have anything you need for handicapped or the elderly so they can enjoy the pools and ocean (beach wheelchair and lifts for pool).
They have golf carts that security runs to help move around the resort easily. Nice pool bar, and music by the pool during the summer. A lot of games for the family and kids.
Thank you for a Great Vacation! Room tip: oceanview in Maple Building or any oceanfront building.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kagodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for sharing your five-star review on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear your visit was fantastic and we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
1.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
1.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £120 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing