We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grown Men acting like Fools”
Review of Legends Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Legends Resort
Ranked #79 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

I have travelled all over for both business and vacation and I know my way around the area. This trip was business. 5 weeks actually near Coastal Carolina University so we thought The Legends would be convenient and comfortable. First suggestion - ask for an upstairs unit. These condos were built to be rentals and no thought went into what the folks on the first floor have to put up with. Just consider the fact that most units will house 4 grown men (golf groups) who are away from their wives for 3-5 days and act like they are in a college frat house. We were wakened almost every night with stomping, banging, yelling, etc. One man even fell down the stairs. Each night as we tried to sleep it sounded like a herd of elephants above us. And a new herd arrived every 3 or 4 days. Not one peaceful night in 5 weeks. We rented from an owner direct so we couldn't move. All I can say is if you want quiet don't come here. Oh and one other thing. It says there is a community hot tub in the amenities ( which we assumed would be near the community pool). NOPE. Just picture a bunch of old men smoking cigars and sipping on scotch while soaking in the Outdoor Bar/Hot Tub. Not my idea of a relaxing soak ... Haha. Just thought it important to share that tidbit. Blessings !!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna_Scott_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were there last week for my son's golf tournament. I am not a golfer so I can't say much about the courses other than from what I heard from my husband. He said the Parkland was a good course to play and was in good condition. The Mooreland however was not. He said if he had paid to play that course, he would have demanded his money back. He said it was in horrible shape. We stayed in a 3 bedroom room however the 3rd bedroom had nothing in it (no bed or pull out couch). We found the maids very friendly and good. The breakfast and lunch meals were also very good. There was a good variety to choose from. The staff at the Ailsa Pub were also very friendly. The front desk staff though was anything but friendly and polite. Others in our group also had the same thing to say about the front desk staff, so it wasn't just us. In my opinion, that is your first impression of the resort and they are going to be friendly and look like they are happy to help you, then it doesn't start your first impression off right of this resort. Overall we had a good vacation. I would not recommend this resort if you are not going for a golf vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctpfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Went this week with an annual golf group of 16 friends. Check in services need improvement. Check in time was supposed to be 4:00. We were there at 3 and didn't expect to get into our condos then, but were hoping. There were many people waiting at 3:00. You would think that at least some of the units would have been cleaned by then and they would have let those people check in to help avoid the 4:00 rush, but they did not allow this. So we waited until 4 and then were told that our group's units would not be ready until 5. Had they told us this at 3:00, we would have left the premises and went shopping. Finally checked in at 5 into a 3 bedroom unit. The 3rd bedroom only had a put out sofa, but it is my understanding that some of the 3 bedrooms have real beds in the 3rd room. In general, the unit was fine, but the carpeting was pretty dirty and there were cigarette burns on the counter top in the bathroom.

We were scheduled for 3 days of golf at different legends courses. All of our tee times were at 11:48. We are aware that legends has no control over the weather, and we had a frost delay on the first day. Our group did not get out until 1:30. We were supposed to the first afternoon group out with no one in front of us to slow play, but the morning groups were still out on the course. Up to 3-4 groups backed up on some holes. Way too many golfers scheduled per day! Second day at the heritage course was better because there was no frost delay, but still very slow play with waiting on every hole. Difficult to finish a round in daylight this time of year if you don't get out early. Plan on 5-6 hours to play a round.

Our golf package included breakfast, lunch and 2 drinks. Breakfast buffet was good and lunch was anything off the menu, so good value there.

After going to myrtle beach with this same group for many years, we have decided that we will probably move out outing further south next year and hope for warmer weather to avoid the frost delays. Overall, Legends needs some updating and better management of housekeeping and check in services.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Was scheduled to play the three Legends courses on golf package. They scheduled way to many rounds on there courses. We were to play in the afternoon on all three days. The first day we went off a half hour late.Played last hole in the dark. Next round took 3 hours and 15 minutes to play nine holes and when we made the turn there was 3 groups on the tee, unable to finish that round. Pro shop pretty much said tough luck. Last day didn't even bother. Went home early and will never return to the Legends. Worst golf trip I have ever been on.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank MIKE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Played Legends Parkland first group out. Other then it being 38 dagrees at tee time Parkland was a beautiful course. The course was in great condition, very good overseed job by the groundscrew, greens were rolling nice althought as the day went on they started to soften up a bit. Beautiful layout .
Played Legends Mooreland after Parkland, we only were able to play 2 holes before the rain rolled in and forced us to pack it in. The little bit of mooreland i was able to play you can see the course has a beautiful layout , but i was dissapointed in the course conditions unlike the parkland course the mooreland course looked more like a dull beat up course. Greens were in fair condition and the fairways were in relatively poor condition but im hoping that was just the first 2 holes. i need to give that course another shot
The staff was fantastic as well as the clubhouse . By far the best deal in Myrtle Beach free breakfast and free lunch, big proshop with everything you could want. The resort got very crowded as the day went on. The earlier the tee time the better off you will be

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Just came back from 5 nights with a group of 6. Stayed in a 3 bedroom condo that had plenty of room, washer, dryer and full kitchen. This is our 4th year staying on property. Will not stay anywhere else. Booked through Golfpackagecentral.com. Josh was excellent. We played 5 rounds all at the resort. Parkland had the best greens by far. In February Mooreland's greens were in rough shape. Heathland was in good shape.

Room Tip: If you like being near the pub be sure to ask for it. This is a large property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfer22_plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

There were only two of us sharing a two bedroom condo, but we thought that there was plenty of space for 4 guys easily. The condo itself was a little dated but not rundown and very clean. I've stayed at several condos in the Myrtle Beach area and this one was probably the most spacious and I loved the fact we had daily maid service, not many do. They hope to Wi-Fi throughout the condos soon but we a router with us so not an issue.The breakfast at the clubhouse could get quite busy but we had early tee times so it wasn't to bad for us but I can see there being issues at peak times. The included lunch was good and a great way to relax after the round. The Ailsa Pub at the condos was convenient but we felt they were trying to be more than just pub which for us would have been preferable. The menu did have some pub like food but they were obviously trying to offer something a little different and for us it didn't work. It was a good place to have a few drinks and watch football without having to drive. Maybe it is better with a larger group. The courses were in really good shape, we played all three, especially the greens. Pace of play was good considering the wind from Hurricane Sandy as it passed by. I have friend planning a trip in the spring and will definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank golfer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - West
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - West
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
366 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites at the University
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#87 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
#91 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
16 reviews
6.3 mi away
Super 8 Conway/ Myrtle Beach Area
11.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Conway
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Resort

Address: 1500 Legends Rd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-6808
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £59 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation in our Scottish Village dedicated to the game of golf or stay in our plush, new Gleneagles condominiums. At Legends Resorts, we've created the perfect play and stay golf accommodations in our villas and condominiums. Our luxurious and spacious 2 or 3 bedroom with 2 bath accommodations are specially designed for your golfing group. We feature at least 4 full-size beds per villa/condo, full kitchens and magnificent golf course views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing