We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Annual Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carolina Dunes
Kitchener, On Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Annual Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We have been coming to Myrtle Beach each year since 1968 and for the last 18 years we have always stayed at The Caravelle. It's like home for us. The rooms are great, the service very good, the facilities excellent and the value in off season is pleasing to the wallet. We like the location, in that it is not so busy as right downtown but still in easy access to everything that is great about MB. We are looking forward to our next stay at The Caravelle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDB444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Caravelle did an excellent job making me and my family feel welcome and cared for. The rooms were comfortable, clean and extremely affordable. Staff was courteous and knowledgeable. I was in town for a wedding but now plan to bring my family back during the offseason for getaway weekends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarle, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Visited the caravelle again and the room was great - view was great - service was great
Down on business and they took care of me once again We have been staying here over 20 years I found a room that I enjoy and they are good enough to let me stay in that room unless it is rented which is great

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We make one or two trips to Myrtle Beach each year. On this occasion we were bringing grandchildren and chose the Caravelle for the availability of a three bedroom condo and the water park amenities. We found the water park to be adequate, but actually did not use them much.

We were located in room 106 of the Carolina Dunes building, which was older and needed some upgrading. Furnishings in the room were average and included nice appliances and a washer and dryer, which is nice for longer stays. The elevators were slow to react, some stairs' doors would not close properly. This building is across the street from the main Caravelle Resort building. It was quieter with less quest activity, which was very enjoyable.

There were two pools at this building, regular size and kiddie pool. We found these to fit our needs well and the young grand children enjoyed them greatly. They could play unhindered due to fewer guests.

Be aware of the beds available in each room, as they are furnished differently. Ours had one full size bed in the master bedroom, and twin beds in each of the other bedrooms. We had expected at least a queen in the master bedroom. The check-in process was very slow and we waited for an hour and a half for our room to be ready. We had requested a higher level room for our stay, but were issued one on the lowest floor. This was a disappointment. Once checked-in we did not have any issues.

Access to the beach is easy and the beach area was clean and well kept.

This is an average resort, not high end, and focused for families. Overall we enjoyed our stay and did not have any issues that detracted from our stay.

Room Tip: To avoid night pool activity and noise, choose a higher level room. The Carolina Dunes building is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We got to the hotel far before check-in and the people at the front desk were wonderful. They gave us coupons to go to the Santa Maria breakfast buffet at the hotel. It was delicious. The waffles and omelettes were a hit with us. We hung out at the tiki bar for quite a while and enjoyed the frozen drinks (the dirty monkey and strawberry shortcake were favorites). The beach is beautiful and you can rent chairs and an umbrella on a daily/weekly basis.
Now, to the condo(number 606). We were very happy to see how spacious it was! The living room and kitchen were perfect for us group of girls. The view was also amazing. There was one queen and two twin beds in the other two rooms.
The problems: I can only speak for me, but the twin bed I slept in was hard as a rock. The sliding glass door to the balcony was very difficult to open and close and the water pressure was non-existent. I mean, seriously non-existent. There are two showers. One we called the "baby shower" because you had to be incredibly short to use it. My sister is 5 foot 2 and had a hard time. The water just trickled out and it took forever to wash your hair. It was really frustrating.
Also, I used the dryer to get the wrinkles out of my white shorts, and it ruined them with rust. stains.
The pool chairs and pool downstairs are very nice, and provides shade in the afternoon. Overall, we looked at the positive and had a great time. If they fixed the issues above, I would be back no problem,
The people working there were very friendly and accommodating. Thanks to them!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMur27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in the Carolina Dunes condos- we had a great time at the beach and I can't say enough about the staff which includes the cleaning crew (Donna at the front desk and Marilyn were fantastic). Our disaapointment came in our room. I would never stay in this unit again especially after seeing other units first hand. It is a disgrace to know that we probably paid the same amount as the other units and it was night and day between the condos. I take responsibility for not returning to the front desk the next day to demand another room- at first I felt like I was being too picky (and we were on the beach most of the time) but the longer I stayed in this unit- the longer I realized things were awful. I can go on and on about the problems however the most importatnt issue was the smell in the living area. I want to say that Donna and Marilyn were terrific and we were compensated some (which was appreciated) but we still paid way too much for this unit! I understand that these units are individually owned and it is sad/disgusting that this owner has neglected her unit- I do feel like Carolina Dunes should put pressure on the owners to make sure they are maintaining their unit. Again, I will say that other untis are updated and beautiful and I would have no problem staying in those-but it will be a while as I still have a bad taste in my mouth!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This resort was ok. Check in took forever and it was packed so we were waiting 10 to 15 minutes for an elevator every time we left the room. We were on the 10 th floor and taking the steps were out of the question. The pool and lazy river were small for a resort that size and they couldn't keep pool towels stocked. The room was clean and really nice and right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Dunes

Property: Carolina Dunes
Address: 6810 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carolina Dunes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Dunes is located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC featuring one, two and three bedroom units and a large outdoor pool. Book direct to receive access to additional amenities, just steps away, including the giant outdoor block-long poolscape, Wild Water Pool, indoor pool, exercise room, top-rated breakfast restaurant, game room, sun deck and more! Plus you will receive the VMB discounts card at check-in. Come see why Carolina Dunes is a Myrtle Beach gem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Carolina Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Dunes At The Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing