We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Bad!!”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 887 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$43
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 50th Ave. N & Kings Hwy.
Description: There's just something about a fondue pot that invites conversation. Invites laughter. Invites coming together. At The Melting Pot Restaurant, we offer a dining experience like no other. A unique, interactive dining experience creating memorable moments with family and friends. From the time the first piece of bread is dipped and the last piece of dessert is savored, you'll be graced with the time to discover new things about people you thought you knew. And, those you're getting to know. We are the premier fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy a choice of fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads and indulgent desserts. It's up to you. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and dessert. Or, come by for fondue cheese paired with that perfect glass of wine from our extensive selection. That's not to say, we haven't had more than a few stop by to satisfy that chocolate craving after a movie. Whether you're celebrating romance, a birthday or anniversary - or just a night out while the babysitter is in charge - we offer something truly unique. An opportunity to interact and connect while experiencing all fondue has to offer. We look forward to your visit.
Staten Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beyond Bad!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I dont want to even waste too much time with this, but PLEASE DO NOT GO HERE!!! It is off the charts bad!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    112
    40
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decadent and Delicious”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We had dinner tonight at the Melting Pot. Our first experience at a Fondue restaurant in North America. It was lovely, innovative, accommodated our food allergies and preferences, and the service was excellent. Nick explained the process very well and made excellent recommendations. The "piece de resistance" was the "Creme caramel" fondue dessert. I would highly recommend this Restaurant for a romantic evening or a large group looking for a fun way to eat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dining, not just eating”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great for special occasions. Relax for a leisurely experience. Enjoy conversation over delicious food, cooking at your private fondue pot. No one leaves hungry after the 4 course feast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1rbsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for that "Special Meal"”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is far different than any other restaurant you can go to. The staff is fantastic and well-trained. After we made our choices for the cheese fondue, the meat & shellfish fondue and the double chocolate fondue for dessert, we waited for the cheese pot. Hot, triple cheese, and crusty breads, veggies like broccoli, cauliflower and fruits like apple, were swirled in the hot, tasty cheeses and the taste buds were really awakened.

After we had our fill of cheese fondue, a pot of piping hot broth was put on the hotplate built into the table and we had a selection of steak, chicken, pork and shrimp to cook in the hot broth and an array of dipping sauces to give each bite a different taste. It was fun to "mix and match" the different entrees into different sauces and never let the taste buds get bored.

When the entrée was completed our "yin-yang" swirl of milk and white chocolate (I have NO idea how they keep them separated in one pot) we had pound cake, marshmallows, luscious strawberries and other tasty treats to dip into either or both of the chocolates and this dessert ended off a perfect meal for our Anniversary celebration.

This was my second time at this Melting Pot and I've never been disappointed by their service, their food or the quiet atmosphere. You can go back over and over and try different menu items and never have the same thing twice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenPankowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It's an Experience”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

So we made a reservation, arrived 4 minutes early and had to wait about 9 minutes for our table. Not bad. Cute but cramped corner, so it was romantic but all the plates wouldn't fit on the table. had the 4 course meal, Bourbon Cheese never really got hot, so it was really clumpy. Apples and Cheese just do not taste good together for me. Lots of bread and uncooked vegetables, meh. Salads were both great, California and spinach bacon. Fondue Delight and Fondue Fusion, hmm.. cooking steak and lobster in boiling water just did not taste well. Luckily they had 6 different sauces to make it taste better. The veggies were good one they cooked. Dessert was the best part, creme brulee fondue was amazing. You pay for the experience, not the food I guess, so I can't really say it was over priced. But for less money, you could have gotten a better steak somewhere else. So you should go here at least once for a special occasion, should you go back? Hmm, maybe for dessert only.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing