We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The composites are small,hardly enough to put awning out. The place is so busy cars,golf carts,tractors,people consistently. Can't hardly even drive to go in or out. Nit even allowed to have camp fires!! What is camping without a camp fire. One nite cost 75.00, while it was full service plus cable that still seems pretty high then they charge u for everything,putt putt was 5 dollars a person and it was a cheaply put together course. If u like hundreds of people than his place is for u but if u like to relax and enjoy yr trip go to one of 2 state parks. They r much cheaper and the beaches are much less crowded

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We’re sorry you did not enjoy the atmosphere here! In the summer it is very busy and there is a lot of activity. We do not allow open wood burning fires on the ground during the season. For future travelers to note: you may have a portable fire pit as long as it 6 inches above ground, has a screen or cover, and you burn only starter logs/duralogs. As noted in this review the campsites are close together, so the fire rules are for safety. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and we hope you enjoy the area state parks! Maybe consider us in the off-season when PirateLand is much quieter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I can say I loved the campground and the pool is fabulous... The golf cart parade every evening made it hard to get around and the campground is very tight... Not a place for a person not able to park their camper.. Thankfully hubby parks the 5th wheel like it is his job.. Others did not do so well...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank KsB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Pirateland for off and on for 15 years. We have stayed in a camper for several years and now we rent a vacation rental each year over July 4th week. Yes there might be some things that need improvement but overall it is amazing. I do agree there is alot of underage golf cart drivers that us the responsibility of the parents to make sure their children behave and obey the rules. As the mother of a 14 year old son he will not be driving our golf cart until he is legal age to drive it. Pirateland is the best family campground at Myrtle Beach!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank TheWalkers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review the park! We agree that parents should be responsible for their children and not let them drive until they have a license. Patrol does check suspected underage drivers too. Of course we may not catch them all but with the help of parents it is an issue that can resolved. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here and we appreciate your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pirateland is the best place to camp in Myrtle Beach. There is plenty to do not over crowded. This year we was there for 2 weeks. The new splash park is great for little ones and also added more lounge chairs. I recommend renting the golf cart even tho it is a little pricey. it makes it much easier to get around. I seen on here where people are complaining about the golf carts and there music at night there is no harm in it at all it gives everyone something to do at night. If you don't like the music you shouldn't be camping in that area. There is patrol set up making sure everyone is being safe and at 11:00 PM they send you back to your camper and it is quite. We go to enjoy our self not to be the old grumpy camper. Only thing I see that could use an upgrade is the laundry area. it is always packed. also need a water slide for the teenagers. We love this place so much we are planning on buying a spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marciakay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about the campground! Great suggestion for future travelers to rent a golf cart! A lot of guests do enjoy cruising around in the evening and listening to music. If future travelers wish to avoid that atmosphere we also recommend they request to stay away from the main roads. Thanks again for your suggestions and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our 2nd time visiting Pirateland and we can't wait to go back next year! Everything you would need, is right there! The camp store is amazing, and the grill and ice cream shop is really convient! The staff was super friendly and helpful! The new splash park was so much fun! My sons first time to the beach, and to Pirateland was certainly one to remember!
We can't wait to go back down next year!
Definitely go to Pirateland, you won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelwing112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed the new pool and other aspects of the campground! We aim to give guests an experience to remember and we're honored to have been your host for your son's first beach trip!! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed at Pirateland for several years We just returned from our yearly trip with the grandchildren. I must say that I was really disappointed this year. At night, the golf carts (mostly not the rented golf carts but the ones that stay there) would parade each night up and down in front of our camper. Pirateland advertises and "Family Friendly" but the music was very loud and inappropriate for our young grandchildren to hear. It would start about 6:30 pm and last until 11~11:15 pm each night. The "Patrol" in the carts just sat there and watched it happen. If Pirateland wants to advertise as and family friendly campground free of loud and obnoxious behaviour, they should do something about this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share the dismay you had this year. In the evening guests do like to cruise around listening to music. We ask that guests be appropriate and courteous of one another; unfortunately not all are. If you ever have a specific issue here in the future please bring it to our attention so we may address in a timely manner. We do enforce quiet hours as you noted, and we recommend choosing sites away from the main road when guests prefer a quieter atmosphere.

We are a family campground and we aim to provide a fun experience. We’re very sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay and we hope you’ll consider staying with us in the future. Feel free to contact me personally at (843) 477-8005 so we may discuss this further. ~ Vickie Carmody, Rental Manager & Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My family has been going here for 50 years and we go three times a year it is very entertaining for everyone and we sometimes meet friends. The camp store is very helpful and the employees are always nice. GO TO THIS CAMPGROUND IT IS AMAZING

Room Tip: if you want to be close to everything get a rental near a one of the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the park! It's great to here you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
6.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,924 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
10.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
6.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing