We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Skeptical but it Won Me Over”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Was Skeptical but it Won Me Over”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Pirateland is - as my 13-year-old would say- as American as you can get.....rv's, golf cart parades, beer bellys, beer, and sunburns. It was a laid back, family friendly atmosphere. The kids loved the mini golf (which does cost extra) and the lazy river and pool area. The beach was beautiful, clean, and the waves were much bigger than what we are used to in Texas. We had a blast playing in the surf. I'd definitely visit again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blondi1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manger at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! It always nice to hear we've won someone over!! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    99
    60
    51
    41
See reviews for
269
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moores Hill, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The composites are small,hardly enough to put awning out. The place is so busy cars,golf carts,tractors,people consistently. Can't hardly even drive to go in or out. Nit even allowed to have camp fires!! What is camping without a camp fire. One nite cost 75.00, while it was full service plus cable that still seems pretty high then they charge u for everything,putt putt was 5 dollars a person and it was a cheaply put together course. If u like hundreds of people than his place is for u but if u like to relax and enjoy yr trip go to one of 2 state parks. They r much cheaper and the beaches are much less crowded

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We’re sorry you did not enjoy the atmosphere here! In the summer it is very busy and there is a lot of activity. We do not allow open wood burning fires on the ground during the season. For future travelers to note: you may have a portable fire pit as long as it 6 inches above ground, has a screen or cover, and you burn only starter logs/duralogs. As noted in this review the campsites are close together, so the fire rules are for safety. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and we hope you enjoy the area state parks! Maybe consider us in the off-season when PirateLand is much quieter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I can say I loved the campground and the pool is fabulous... The golf cart parade every evening made it hard to get around and the campground is very tight... Not a place for a person not able to park their camper.. Thankfully hubby parks the 5th wheel like it is his job.. Others did not do so well...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KsB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Pirateland for off and on for 15 years. We have stayed in a camper for several years and now we rent a vacation rental each year over July 4th week. Yes there might be some things that need improvement but overall it is amazing. I do agree there is alot of underage golf cart drivers that us the responsibility of the parents to make sure their children behave and obey the rules. As the mother of a 14 year old son he will not be driving our golf cart until he is legal age to drive it. Pirateland is the best family campground at Myrtle Beach!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWalkers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review the park! We agree that parents should be responsible for their children and not let them drive until they have a license. Patrol does check suspected underage drivers too. Of course we may not catch them all but with the help of parents it is an issue that can resolved. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here and we appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maysville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pirateland is the best place to camp in Myrtle Beach. There is plenty to do not over crowded. This year we was there for 2 weeks. The new splash park is great for little ones and also added more lounge chairs. I recommend renting the golf cart even tho it is a little pricey. it makes it much easier to get around. I seen on here where people are complaining about the golf carts and there music at night there is no harm in it at all it gives everyone something to do at night. If you don't like the music you shouldn't be camping in that area. There is patrol set up making sure everyone is being safe and at 11:00 PM they send you back to your camper and it is quite. We go to enjoy our self not to be the old grumpy camper. Only thing I see that could use an upgrade is the laundry area. it is always packed. also need a water slide for the teenagers. We love this place so much we are planning on buying a spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciakay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about the campground! Great suggestion for future travelers to rent a golf cart! A lot of guests do enjoy cruising around in the evening and listening to music. If future travelers wish to avoid that atmosphere we also recommend they request to stay away from the main roads. Thanks again for your suggestions and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our 2nd time visiting Pirateland and we can't wait to go back next year! Everything you would need, is right there! The camp store is amazing, and the grill and ice cream shop is really convient! The staff was super friendly and helpful! The new splash park was so much fun! My sons first time to the beach, and to Pirateland was certainly one to remember!
We can't wait to go back down next year!
Definitely go to Pirateland, you won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelwing112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed the new pool and other aspects of the campground! We aim to give guests an experience to remember and we're honored to have been your host for your son's first beach trip!! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed at Pirateland for several years We just returned from our yearly trip with the grandchildren. I must say that I was really disappointed this year. At night, the golf carts (mostly not the rented golf carts but the ones that stay there) would parade each night up and down in front of our camper. Pirateland advertises and "Family Friendly" but the music was very loud and inappropriate for our young grandchildren to hear. It would start about 6:30 pm and last until 11~11:15 pm each night. The "Patrol" in the carts just sat there and watched it happen. If Pirateland wants to advertise as and family friendly campground free of loud and obnoxious behaviour, they should do something about this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share the dismay you had this year. In the evening guests do like to cruise around listening to music. We ask that guests be appropriate and courteous of one another; unfortunately not all are. If you ever have a specific issue here in the future please bring it to our attention so we may address in a timely manner. We do enforce quiet hours as you noted, and we recommend choosing sites away from the main road when guests prefer a quieter atmosphere.

We are a family campground and we aim to provide a fun experience. We’re very sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay and we hope you’ll consider staying with us in the future. Feel free to contact me personally at (843) 477-8005 so we may discuss this further. ~ Vickie Carmody, Rental Manager & Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
1,513 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#63 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
781 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Property: Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing