We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
168
124
66
63
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
124
66
63
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartcamp storepirate landlazy rivertravel trailercovered picnicride their bikessplash poolgeneral storeputt puttoff seasonbeach accessbeach frontmrytle beacharcadecabinlaundromat
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife, son, grand daughter and I just spent a week camping there and we had a very nice time. The campground is very clean and well maintained. The pool area with the lazy river and splash zone is first rate.

There are some things that may be considered cons if you aren't aware of what your getting into here. Compared to other resort type campgrounds I have seen, I thought the sites were pretty good size. I was able to get our camper (35' long bumper to hitch) in the site with 4 or 5 feet to spare. Ours has slides on both sides and I was able to have the awnings out and still put up our 10 x 10' canopy. This did go from the edge of the awning to the edge of the site but it fit and worked out fine. We were in site 1058 near the pool.

The one aspect of the campground that is hard to work around is that the streets are narrow which makes getting into your site tricky especially if you have a big camper. We needed the people across the street to move their truck so i could get in and it still took some wiggling to back in but we made it. Everyone I saw moved their truck with no problem since they probably had to have someone else do the same thing when they got there. We got in late on Saturday so the place was completely full which made it as hard as it could get. Once we were in and set up, we had a great time.

I was expecting the sites to be very small and very crowded so I was pleasantly surprised when we saw that, while they aren't huge, they aren't as small as I feared.

I think if you go down there expecting:
really small sites (expect this and you'll find they are not as bad you expected)
that you'll have to spend a little time backing in ( and be the center of attention for a little bit)
no campfires in the summer
there is free wifi but it is almost useless, needs to have much more capacity
that it is more a nice place to park your camper to enjoy the beach and pool than it is a quiet, national forest type campground
that there will be a lot of families and kids having a good time

then your expectations will be in line with the campground.

God willing, we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Sites in the beach area have a nice little pavilion over the picnic table and sites near the pool are in the shade under trees.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WVSCUBAMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manger at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest, helpful, review of the campground! There are some really great tips here for future travelers! Most importantly - knowing what to expect! The park is oceanfront and in the summer the ocean is a popular place to be! The campground roads can be difficult to maneuver; especially during the busiest times of the year. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Pirateland is - as my 13-year-old would say- as American as you can get.....rv's, golf cart parades, beer bellys, beer, and sunburns. It was a laid back, family friendly atmosphere. The kids loved the mini golf (which does cost extra) and the lazy river and pool area. The beach was beautiful, clean, and the waves were much bigger than what we are used to in Texas. We had a blast playing in the surf. I'd definitely visit again!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank blondi1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manger at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! It always nice to hear we've won someone over!! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The composites are small,hardly enough to put awning out. The place is so busy cars,golf carts,tractors,people consistently. Can't hardly even drive to go in or out. Nit even allowed to have camp fires!! What is camping without a camp fire. One nite cost 75.00, while it was full service plus cable that still seems pretty high then they charge u for everything,putt putt was 5 dollars a person and it was a cheaply put together course. If u like hundreds of people than his place is for u but if u like to relax and enjoy yr trip go to one of 2 state parks. They r much cheaper and the beaches are much less crowded

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We’re sorry you did not enjoy the atmosphere here! In the summer it is very busy and there is a lot of activity. We do not allow open wood burning fires on the ground during the season. For future travelers to note: you may have a portable fire pit as long as it 6 inches above ground, has a screen or cover, and you burn only starter logs/duralogs. As noted in this review the campsites are close together, so the fire rules are for safety. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and we hope you enjoy the area state parks! Maybe consider us in the off-season when PirateLand is much quieter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I can say I loved the campground and the pool is fabulous... The golf cart parade every evening made it hard to get around and the campground is very tight... Not a place for a person not able to park their camper.. Thankfully hubby parks the 5th wheel like it is his job.. Others did not do so well...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank KsB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Pirateland for off and on for 15 years. We have stayed in a camper for several years and now we rent a vacation rental each year over July 4th week. Yes there might be some things that need improvement but overall it is amazing. I do agree there is alot of underage golf cart drivers that us the responsibility of the parents to make sure their children behave and obey the rules. As the mother of a 14 year old son he will not be driving our golf cart until he is legal age to drive it. Pirateland is the best family campground at Myrtle Beach!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank TheWalkers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review the park! We agree that parents should be responsible for their children and not let them drive until they have a license. Patrol does check suspected underage drivers too. Of course we may not catch them all but with the help of parents it is an issue that can resolved. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here and we appreciate your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews