We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What We Were Expecting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
south bend, in
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not What We Were Expecting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We camp a lot....and usually have great luck in finding campgrounds that work for our family. This one is loved by others, but it was definitely NOT what we were expecting. It is HUGE. Seriously. HUGE. It felt more like a giant parking lot than a campground. We were there in mid-July 2014 and found it to be very crowded. The sites are small and the roads are packed with golf carts, trucks, and people walking. The pool is very nice. The store is large but pricey (normal for camp stores). The reservations are done by phone and through the mail. Going online would be a BIG help.

The campsites are small, crowded, and very tricky to back in---especially due to the large amount of traffic on even the side roads.

In general, we are not fans of the crowded, touristy area of Myrtle Beach. If this is your version of fun, then it would probably be a great fit.

The beach is beautiful----that is what kept us from leaving.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjlew98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay! Your comments lead me to wonder how many campgrounds in Myrtle Beach you have stayed in. We are a large park (one among many in the area) and we are the smallest of the three oceanfront parks on the south end of Myrtle Beach. The park is about 180 acres. Being oceanfront, sites are close together and July is certainly the busiest time of the year. Maybe you would enjoy it here more in the off-season. In June we completely re-vamped our website which now includes instant availability check and online reservations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    95
    58
    50
    41
See reviews for
259
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife, son, grand daughter and I just spent a week camping there and we had a very nice time. The campground is very clean and well maintained. The pool area with the lazy river and splash zone is first rate.

There are some things that may be considered cons if you aren't aware of what your getting into here. Compared to other resort type campgrounds I have seen, I thought the sites were pretty good size. I was able to get our camper (35' long bumper to hitch) in the site with 4 or 5 feet to spare. Ours has slides on both sides and I was able to have the awnings out and still put up our 10 x 10' canopy. This did go from the edge of the awning to the edge of the site but it fit and worked out fine. We were in site 1058 near the pool.

The one aspect of the campground that is hard to work around is that the streets are narrow which makes getting into your site tricky especially if you have a big camper. We needed the people across the street to move their truck so i could get in and it still took some wiggling to back in but we made it. Everyone I saw moved their truck with no problem since they probably had to have someone else do the same thing when they got there. We got in late on Saturday so the place was completely full which made it as hard as it could get. Once we were in and set up, we had a great time.

I was expecting the sites to be very small and very crowded so I was pleasantly surprised when we saw that, while they aren't huge, they aren't as small as I feared.

I think if you go down there expecting:
really small sites (expect this and you'll find they are not as bad you expected)
that you'll have to spend a little time backing in ( and be the center of attention for a little bit)
no campfires in the summer
there is free wifi but it is almost useless, needs to have much more capacity
that it is more a nice place to park your camper to enjoy the beach and pool than it is a quiet, national forest type campground
that there will be a lot of families and kids having a good time

then your expectations will be in line with the campground.


God willing, we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Sites in the beach area have a nice little pavilion over the picnic table and sites near the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVSCUBAMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manger at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest, helpful, review of the campground! There are some really great tips here for future travelers! Most importantly - knowing what to expect! The park is oceanfront and in the summer the ocean is a popular place to be! The campground roads can be difficult to maneuver; especially during the busiest times of the year. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Pirateland is - as my 13-year-old would say- as American as you can get.....rv's, golf cart parades, beer bellys, beer, and sunburns. It was a laid back, family friendly atmosphere. The kids loved the mini golf (which does cost extra) and the lazy river and pool area. The beach was beautiful, clean, and the waves were much bigger than what we are used to in Texas. We had a blast playing in the surf. I'd definitely visit again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blondi1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manger at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! It always nice to hear we've won someone over!! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moores Hill, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The composites are small,hardly enough to put awning out. The place is so busy cars,golf carts,tractors,people consistently. Can't hardly even drive to go in or out. Nit even allowed to have camp fires!! What is camping without a camp fire. One nite cost 75.00, while it was full service plus cable that still seems pretty high then they charge u for everything,putt putt was 5 dollars a person and it was a cheaply put together course. If u like hundreds of people than his place is for u but if u like to relax and enjoy yr trip go to one of 2 state parks. They r much cheaper and the beaches are much less crowded

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We’re sorry you did not enjoy the atmosphere here! In the summer it is very busy and there is a lot of activity. We do not allow open wood burning fires on the ground during the season. For future travelers to note: you may have a portable fire pit as long as it 6 inches above ground, has a screen or cover, and you burn only starter logs/duralogs. As noted in this review the campsites are close together, so the fire rules are for safety. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and we hope you enjoy the area state parks! Maybe consider us in the off-season when PirateLand is much quieter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I can say I loved the campground and the pool is fabulous... The golf cart parade every evening made it hard to get around and the campground is very tight... Not a place for a person not able to park their camper.. Thankfully hubby parks the 5th wheel like it is his job.. Others did not do so well...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KsB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Pirateland for off and on for 15 years. We have stayed in a camper for several years and now we rent a vacation rental each year over July 4th week. Yes there might be some things that need improvement but overall it is amazing. I do agree there is alot of underage golf cart drivers that us the responsibility of the parents to make sure their children behave and obey the rules. As the mother of a 14 year old son he will not be driving our golf cart until he is legal age to drive it. Pirateland is the best family campground at Myrtle Beach!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWalkers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review the park! We agree that parents should be responsible for their children and not let them drive until they have a license. Patrol does check suspected underage drivers too. Of course we may not catch them all but with the help of parents it is an issue that can resolved. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences here and we appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maysville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pirateland is the best place to camp in Myrtle Beach. There is plenty to do not over crowded. This year we was there for 2 weeks. The new splash park is great for little ones and also added more lounge chairs. I recommend renting the golf cart even tho it is a little pricey. it makes it much easier to get around. I seen on here where people are complaining about the golf carts and there music at night there is no harm in it at all it gives everyone something to do at night. If you don't like the music you shouldn't be camping in that area. There is patrol set up making sure everyone is being safe and at 11:00 PM they send you back to your camper and it is quite. We go to enjoy our self not to be the old grumpy camper. Only thing I see that could use an upgrade is the laundry area. it is always packed. also need a water slide for the teenagers. We love this place so much we are planning on buying a spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciakay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about the campground! Great suggestion for future travelers to rent a golf cart! A lot of guests do enjoy cruising around in the evening and listening to music. If future travelers wish to avoid that atmosphere we also recommend they request to stay away from the main roads. Thanks again for your suggestions and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
10.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#68 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Property: Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing