We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$182
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Vista(Myrtle Beach)
Book now, pay at stay
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
150
116
64
61
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
116
64
61
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartcamp storepirate landlazy rivertravel trailercovered picnicride their bikessplash poolgeneral storeputt puttbeach accessoff seasonbeach frontmrytle beacharcadecabinlaundromat
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family has been coming here for years .. my kids have made so many friends they meet same time every year. The beach the atmosphere the friendliness is perfect.the sites are great . The golf cart ride at night is so fun. Everyone loves it . I think if you dont like the music or the kids having fun on the golf cart ride. I would stay on the lake side. The golf cart fun is 8 to 11. Many should not suffer for a few who chose not to participate. I will keep coming , its GREAT.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank nunforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for sharing you experience with future travelers! It's great to hear your family enjoys the summer atmosphere here and we are very lucky to border such a beautiful beach! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our third year staying at Pirateland RV park and I can't say enough regarding family fun. Sure, the campground is rather full, but that is because everyone wants to go there. There are numerous amenities for adults and children including the Lazy River, two swimming pools, miniature golf, basketball, fishing, paddleboating, and the beautiful beach. Everyone from the tent camper to the big rig can find a place to set up camp here but get reservations well in advance if you want the most choice sites. Located on the South end of town, you are out of the crazy traffic but near restaurants, shopping, and everything in between. They also have rental sites for those who do not have RVs but want to stay there, at very reasonable rates. We will go there again and again until we find a better value for the money which is not very likely. See you next summer at Pirateland!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review your stay! It's great to hear your family enjoys the park and our facilities! Great suggestion about booking early! The summer does book up pretty quickly especially July! We look forward to seeing you again and really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It isn't the best campground I've been to, but I enjoyed the golf carts and beach. Cruising is always a good time, even though patrol has seemed to take over. Pool is always overcrowded and there are some rambunctious teens, but overall it's usually a good stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank sam21avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We camp a lot....and usually have great luck in finding campgrounds that work for our family. This one is loved by others, but it was definitely NOT what we were expecting. It is HUGE. Seriously. HUGE. It felt more like a giant parking lot than a campground. We were there in mid-July 2014 and found it to be very crowded. The sites are small and the roads are packed with golf carts, trucks, and people walking. The pool is very nice. The store is large but pricey (normal for camp stores). The reservations are done by phone and through the mail. Going online would be a BIG help.

The campsites are small, crowded, and very tricky to back in---especially due to the large amount of traffic on even the side roads.

In general, we are not fans of the crowded, touristy area of Myrtle Beach. If this is your version of fun, then it would probably be a great fit.

The beach is beautiful----that is what kept us from leaving.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rjlew98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay! Your comments lead me to wonder how many campgrounds in Myrtle Beach you have stayed in. We are a large park (one among many in the area) and we are the smallest of the three oceanfront parks on the south end of Myrtle Beach. The park is about 180 acres. Being oceanfront, sites are close together and July is certainly the busiest time of the year. Maybe you would enjoy it here more in the off-season. In June we completely re-vamped our website which now includes instant availability check and online reservations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife, son, grand daughter and I just spent a week camping there and we had a very nice time. The campground is very clean and well maintained. The pool area with the lazy river and splash zone is first rate.

There are some things that may be considered cons if you aren't aware of what your getting into here. Compared to other resort type campgrounds I have seen, I thought the sites were pretty good size. I was able to get our camper (35' long bumper to hitch) in the site with 4 or 5 feet to spare. Ours has slides on both sides and I was able to have the awnings out and still put up our 10 x 10' canopy. This did go from the edge of the awning to the edge of the site but it fit and worked out fine. We were in site 1058 near the pool.

The one aspect of the campground that is hard to work around is that the streets are narrow which makes getting into your site tricky especially if you have a big camper. We needed the people across the street to move their truck so i could get in and it still took some wiggling to back in but we made it. Everyone I saw moved their truck with no problem since they probably had to have someone else do the same thing when they got there. We got in late on Saturday so the place was completely full which made it as hard as it could get. Once we were in and set up, we had a great time.

I was expecting the sites to be very small and very crowded so I was pleasantly surprised when we saw that, while they aren't huge, they aren't as small as I feared.

I think if you go down there expecting:
really small sites (expect this and you'll find they are not as bad you expected)
that you'll have to spend a little time backing in ( and be the center of attention for a little bit)
no campfires in the summer
there is free wifi but it is almost useless, needs to have much more capacity
that it is more a nice place to park your camper to enjoy the beach and pool than it is a quiet, national forest type campground
that there will be a lot of families and kids having a good time

then your expectations will be in line with the campground.


God willing, we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Sites in the beach area have a nice little pavilion over the picnic table and sites near the pool are in the shade under trees.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WVSCUBAMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manger at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest, helpful, review of the campground! There are some really great tips here for future travelers! Most importantly - knowing what to expect! The park is oceanfront and in the summer the ocean is a popular place to be! The campground roads can be difficult to maneuver; especially during the busiest times of the year. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews