We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for beach camping!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I've been coming since I was a baby. It's still great. It's big but easy to get around. Roads are busy with gold carts but not overcrowded. Everybody who camps here is very friendly. pools, lazy river, store, arcade and more. The beach is beautiful and clean.
Bathrooms/bathhouse are what you would expect, not gonna be perfect but that's camping.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Damiantek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the park! We are very lucky to border such a beautiful part of the coast and it's really great to hear your family enjoys many aspects of the campground! Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

very dirty site had all kinds of litter. had to clean before we parked. sites are small. poor planning went into sewer and water access. not located at the back of site as you would expect take extra sewer and water hose.bathhouses are small damp and no hot water after checking many times during the week.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank hilda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are sorry about the inconveniences you experience. We are in receipt of your email and as stated in our response we wish you would have let us know while you were here. We would have gladly sent someone to take care of any issues. It looks like you have stayed with us several times. Great suggestion about extra cords/hoses as they help campers situate in a way that will maximize the usable space.

For future travelers to note: we have daily trash pick-up from 10am to 2pm so if you happen to check-in early (before 2pm) it’s possible the trash truck has not made it around to that area yet. We also ask that guests be courteous and clean up after themselves but if ever there is an issue where the previous guest has not done so, please just let us know so we can address it in a timely manner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family has been coming here for years .. my kids have made so many friends they meet same time every year. The beach the atmosphere the friendliness is perfect.the sites are great . The golf cart ride at night is so fun. Everyone loves it . I think if you dont like the music or the kids having fun on the golf cart ride. I would stay on the lake side. The golf cart fun is 8 to 11. Many should not suffer for a few who chose not to participate. I will keep coming , its GREAT.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank nunforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for sharing you experience with future travelers! It's great to hear your family enjoys the summer atmosphere here and we are very lucky to border such a beautiful beach! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our third year staying at Pirateland RV park and I can't say enough regarding family fun. Sure, the campground is rather full, but that is because everyone wants to go there. There are numerous amenities for adults and children including the Lazy River, two swimming pools, miniature golf, basketball, fishing, paddleboating, and the beautiful beach. Everyone from the tent camper to the big rig can find a place to set up camp here but get reservations well in advance if you want the most choice sites. Located on the South end of town, you are out of the crazy traffic but near restaurants, shopping, and everything in between. They also have rental sites for those who do not have RVs but want to stay there, at very reasonable rates. We will go there again and again until we find a better value for the money which is not very likely. See you next summer at Pirateland!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review your stay! It's great to hear your family enjoys the park and our facilities! Great suggestion about booking early! The summer does book up pretty quickly especially July! We look forward to seeing you again and really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It isn't the best campground I've been to, but I enjoyed the golf carts and beach. Cruising is always a good time, even though patrol has seemed to take over. Pool is always overcrowded and there are some rambunctious teens, but overall it's usually a good stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank sam21avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We camp a lot....and usually have great luck in finding campgrounds that work for our family. This one is loved by others, but it was definitely NOT what we were expecting. It is HUGE. Seriously. HUGE. It felt more like a giant parking lot than a campground. We were there in mid-July 2014 and found it to be very crowded. The sites are small and the roads are packed with golf carts, trucks, and people walking. The pool is very nice. The store is large but pricey (normal for camp stores). The reservations are done by phone and through the mail. Going online would be a BIG help.

The campsites are small, crowded, and very tricky to back in---especially due to the large amount of traffic on even the side roads.

In general, we are not fans of the crowded, touristy area of Myrtle Beach. If this is your version of fun, then it would probably be a great fit.

The beach is beautiful----that is what kept us from leaving.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rjlew98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay! Your comments lead me to wonder how many campgrounds in Myrtle Beach you have stayed in. We are a large park (one among many in the area) and we are the smallest of the three oceanfront parks on the south end of Myrtle Beach. The park is about 180 acres. Being oceanfront, sites are close together and July is certainly the busiest time of the year. Maybe you would enjoy it here more in the off-season. In June we completely re-vamped our website which now includes instant availability check and online reservations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife, son, grand daughter and I just spent a week camping there and we had a very nice time. The campground is very clean and well maintained. The pool area with the lazy river and splash zone is first rate.

There are some things that may be considered cons if you aren't aware of what your getting into here. Compared to other resort type campgrounds I have seen, I thought the sites were pretty good size. I was able to get our camper (35' long bumper to hitch) in the site with 4 or 5 feet to spare. Ours has slides on both sides and I was able to have the awnings out and still put up our 10 x 10' canopy. This did go from the edge of the awning to the edge of the site but it fit and worked out fine. We were in site 1058 near the pool.

The one aspect of the campground that is hard to work around is that the streets are narrow which makes getting into your site tricky especially if you have a big camper. We needed the people across the street to move their truck so i could get in and it still took some wiggling to back in but we made it. Everyone I saw moved their truck with no problem since they probably had to have someone else do the same thing when they got there. We got in late on Saturday so the place was completely full which made it as hard as it could get. Once we were in and set up, we had a great time.

I was expecting the sites to be very small and very crowded so I was pleasantly surprised when we saw that, while they aren't huge, they aren't as small as I feared.

I think if you go down there expecting:
really small sites (expect this and you'll find they are not as bad you expected)
that you'll have to spend a little time backing in ( and be the center of attention for a little bit)
no campfires in the summer
there is free wifi but it is almost useless, needs to have much more capacity
that it is more a nice place to park your camper to enjoy the beach and pool than it is a quiet, national forest type campground
that there will be a lot of families and kids having a good time

then your expectations will be in line with the campground.


God willing, we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Sites in the beach area have a nice little pavilion over the picnic table and sites near the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WVSCUBAMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manger at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest, helpful, review of the campground! There are some really great tips here for future travelers! Most importantly - knowing what to expect! The park is oceanfront and in the summer the ocean is a popular place to be! The campground roads can be difficult to maneuver; especially during the busiest times of the year. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
6.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,189 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
6.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#31 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Address: 5401 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-8923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing