We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
180
127
67
65
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
127
67
65
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart camp store bath house pirate land lazy river travel trailer concrete sites covered picnic ride their bikes splash pool laundry mat general store been coming here for years putt putt beach access off season beach front
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

very dirty site had all kinds of litter. had to clean before we parked. sites are small. poor planning went into sewer and water access. not located at the back of site as you would expect take extra sewer and water hose.bathhouses are small damp and no hot water after checking many times during the week.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank hilda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are sorry about the inconveniences you experience. We are in receipt of your email and as stated in our response we wish you would have let us know while you were here. We would have gladly sent someone to take care of any issues. It looks like you have stayed with us several times. Great suggestion about extra cords/hoses as they help campers situate in a way that will maximize the usable space.

For future travelers to note: we have daily trash pick-up from 10am to 2pm so if you happen to check-in early (before 2pm) it’s possible the trash truck has not made it around to that area yet. We also ask that guests be courteous and clean up after themselves but if ever there is an issue where the previous guest has not done so, please just let us know so we can address it in a timely manner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family has been coming here for years .. my kids have made so many friends they meet same time every year. The beach the atmosphere the friendliness is perfect.the sites are great . The golf cart ride at night is so fun. Everyone loves it . I think if you dont like the music or the kids having fun on the golf cart ride. I would stay on the lake side. The golf cart fun is 8 to 11. Many should not suffer for a few who chose not to participate. I will keep coming , its GREAT.

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank nunforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for sharing you experience with future travelers! It's great to hear your family enjoys the summer atmosphere here and we are very lucky to border such a beautiful beach! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our third year staying at Pirateland RV park and I can't say enough regarding family fun. Sure, the campground is rather full, but that is because everyone wants to go there. There are numerous amenities for adults and children including the Lazy River, two swimming pools, miniature golf, basketball, fishing, paddleboating, and the beautiful beach. Everyone from the tent camper to the big rig can find a place to set up camp here but get reservations well in advance if you want the most choice sites. Located on the South end of town, you are out of the crazy traffic but near restaurants, shopping, and everything in between. They also have rental sites for those who do not have RVs but want to stay there, at very reasonable rates. We will go there again and again until we find a better value for the money which is not very likely. See you next summer at Pirateland!

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review your stay! It's great to hear your family enjoys the park and our facilities! Great suggestion about booking early! The summer does book up pretty quickly especially July! We look forward to seeing you again and really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It isn't the best campground I've been to, but I enjoyed the golf carts and beach. Cruising is always a good time, even though patrol has seemed to take over. Pool is always overcrowded and there are some rambunctious teens, but overall it's usually a good stay.

Date of stay: July 2014
Thank sam21avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We camp a lot....and usually have great luck in finding campgrounds that work for our family. This one is loved by others, but it was definitely NOT what we were expecting. It is HUGE. Seriously. HUGE. It felt more like a giant parking lot than a campground. We were there in mid-July 2014 and found it to be very crowded. The sites are small and the roads are packed with golf carts, trucks, and people walking. The pool is very nice. The store is large but pricey (normal for camp stores). The reservations are done by phone and through the mail. Going online would be a BIG help.

The campsites are small, crowded, and very tricky to back in---especially due to the large amount of traffic on even the side roads.

In general, we are not fans of the crowded, touristy area of Myrtle Beach. If this is your version of fun, then it would probably be a great fit.

The beach is beautiful----that is what kept us from leaving.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rjlew98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay! Your comments lead me to wonder how many campgrounds in Myrtle Beach you have stayed in. We are a large park (one among many in the area) and we are the smallest of the three oceanfront parks on the south end of Myrtle Beach. The park is about 180 acres. Being oceanfront, sites are close together and July is certainly the busiest time of the year. Maybe you would enjoy it here more in the off-season. In June we completely re-vamped our website which now includes instant availability check and online reservations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews