We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”

Myrtle Beach State Park
Ranked #5 of 116 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This little gem is tucked away at 4401 S Kings Highway. We paid around $8 for two people. They do discount disabled vets to $3.25 instead of the normal $5 per adult. The attendant simply looked at our disabled vet plates. We took our dogs around 6 pm and it was fun for all of us! (they cannot be on the beach after 10 and before 5- they must ALWAYS be leashed) Super relaxing and the perfect time of day. There is a nice pier there and restrooms. Bring a chair or towel and R E L A X!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank milspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    375
    95
    39
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clay, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a pretty big park, I know I didn't see it all, but the parts I saw were nice. There are a lot of picnic areas, large, old trees, and a big playground. There is plenty of parking, and the walk to the beach is not far at all, and there is a handicap accessible ramp from the parking lot to the sand. There is a small shop between the parking lot and the beach that sells drinks, ice cream, etc. The bathrooms are also right there. There are only 3 stalls, which seemed kind of small to me, but they were all kept very clean and well stocked, which is not always the case at a beach bathroom! So that did impress me at least. Also, there are no changing rooms, just stalls. The actual beach was pretty clean, and there is a large pier right there. We didn't go out on that, but people were fishing off it, etc. There is a foot shower and also a regular height shower outside for rinsing off. Overall, a great place. The one down side is the price. We had to pay per person ($5 adults, $3 for children). I have been to other beach state parks in South Carolina and only had to pay per car. To go to the beach in Myrtle Beach we would have to pay for parking anyway, so it is sort of worth it when you consider the amenities that come with this place. Another note... the park is a little removed from the hustle and bustle of the strip, and the beach atmosphere is a little more natural than it would be if you went down a bit where most of the hotels are.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank teknoturtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I am from Ct we go to RI beaches frequently. The waster temps never get higher then 65 only time I venture in past my calves is when the air temp is 85 & up high humidity. When my son and I got to this beach we jumped in the bathtub like water. Beautiful, clean very nice beach. We do not want to go back North.

Helpful?
2 Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful find off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

LOVED it! There is a $3.00 charge to enter the park, but the money is well used. The park is beautiful,clean and all aspects are very well maintained! The beach is mostly locals, so it's not crowded at all. Great pier for fishing or just seeing the scenery. If you are a sea shell lover- this is your place! Shells every where and they are larger and more colorful than you find on the hotel portion of the grand strand

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fieldslttlbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point
Level Contributor
870 reviews
389 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A little something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

A little something here for everyone very young ,young ,young at heart

Check out their website for all the details little too much To list here enjoyed definitely will go through this area again if back in the area

Very clean and well-maintained for State Park

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myrtle Beach State Park also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Myrtle Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing