We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diappointed driving from NC,and was told wrong information, and business walk out the door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Ranked #81 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had reservations for two bedroom which was for April 17-April 21 2012. When arriving on the 17th the room that my husband reserved wasn't right when we got in the room. He was told over the telephone that a king size bed in one room which was correct, but the 2nd room was totaly wrong, the reservationist told him that room would have a queen size bed, however it had two twin size beds, my sister and her husband was not going to sleep in that small bed. My husband addressed the front desk person she stated she don't why they told him this, and he told her her he wanted his money credited back on his card, and my sister requested their money back on their card, she said she couldn't do it, but we wasn't going for those words, when asked for her manager she stated no one was available she didn't try and componate us, so she called her manager and told he/she we wanted our cards credited back,and asked her manager how to perform the refund, because she didn't know how, and she said it would take three days before we would see it , but our thing was she just let business walk out the door, as though she could care less, and this holtel is where we stay every year, and to get that type of treatment was terrible, we had to load everything backup. However we got another resort and it was even better with king bed in our room,and my sister and husband had queen bed in there room and a better price, and welcome us there with the best caring atmosphere. I feel when making reservations on the telephone everybody needs to be recorded.

Room Tip: Get the name of the person you making reservations with, and a recorder. crawlinson33@yahoo.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and i stayed for 5 nights in mid-April and were very pleased. The one bedroom suite, though not luxurious, was clean, large and comfortable. The managment group takes very good care of the property and rooms. The rooms are nicer than many others I've seen in the local beachfront hotels & timeshare rentals for similar prices. All of the one-bedrooms are located on the side with side balconies only, offering only a small slice view of the beach with a small balcony. If you get a one-bedroom on the north side above the 9th floor you probably can see over the adjacent building and get a bigger 1/2 beach view. We were on the 7th floor and not as interested in balcony or view. If you want view - go for the 2 bedroom units. The one bedroom had a king bed and did have a small alcove with a bunk bed for small kids - it would be good for a family of 4 with kids under age 10. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfmBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel in late April. Overall, it was a great experience. Had a 2 BR, 2 Bath unit with full kitchen. The hotel is literally 10 steps away from a very nice beach. It could use a little updating, but nothing is subpar from a quality standpoint. Lots of room, the racquetball court and gameroom/exercise room on the 15th floor were a nice amenity to have. Couldn't think of a better place to stay other than the outdated decor. Great views of the ocean through the floor to ceiling Master Bedroom windows too!

Room Tip: If you can manage it, the 2 BR units are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chadbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in the beachfront, 2 bedroom and had a wonderful experience. The beds are comfortable, although the twin beds didn't have a blanket, only the bedspread. The best part was how quiet the rooms are. The kitchen with full sized appliances was great, especially the dishwasher and they provided dishwasher detergent. I would bring a nonstick skillet as I had a tough time with their stainless steel one. The floor to ceiling windows in the master bedroom was nice. Would be nicer if they could open just a bit to hear the ocean. No lazy river- not a problem for us. The whirlpool was actually hot and the jets powerful enough to relax tired muscles. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Got a great price thanks to orbitz
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khu870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed at the Schooner II from 4/4-4/7/12. We were very pleased with our stay. We stayed in room 703, which is a one-bedroom suite, with an angled ocean view. All of the one bedrooms have the angled ocean view and all of the two bedrooms are oceanfront. The common areas (lobby, 2nd floor lounge, elevators) are pretty dated, but don’t let that discourage you. The suites/condos are spacious and have everything we needed. When you walk in there is a small open room with bunk beds. In the back is the master bedroom (nice size), then the bathroom and extra outside sink (a little dated but clean and nothing anyone should complain about) and in the front is an eat-in kitchen with full size appliances (stove/microwave, fridge and dishwasher) and living room. There is a sectional sleeper sofa in the living room, so there is plenty of seating. Both the living room and bedroom have good size flat screen TVs and there is a DVD player in the living room. You can check out videos from the front desk, but we never did this so I can’t advise what kind of selection they have. The pool is a little small, compared to some of the others we saw, but it wasn’t always crowded and the beach is right there. The hotel is in a very good location. It’s at top of where the shops/restaurants begin, so it’s convenient to everything without being in the middle of the commotion. Although we rented a scooter for a few days, we were in walking distance from anything we needed. The front desk staff (Nikki) was great! We were able to store our bags before our room was ready and after we checked out before our flight home. Would definitely return and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattaltieri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at the Schooner II over Match Break and had a predominantly positive experience at the hotel.

The rooms are spacious and although the decor is slightly dated the rooms were clean and the appliances were obviously new.

the hotel was fully booked yet was still quiet as it tends to appeal more to adults and couples rather then families with young children as there is little for them to do at the hotel.

There isn't a restaurant at the hotel but there is a Starbucks on the corner and other bars/restaurants in close proximity so it isn't a problem.

Overall the hotel was fine however a couple of things negative things do stick with me. The smell in the communal areas and the cleanliness of the bedding. We were on the 13th floor and every time we went out into the hallway there was a less then pleasant smell. The bedding was another issue. The smell was not great (to the point where my wife went out to Walmart to get a Fabreeze spray) and they looked old and were not exactly the whitest sheets.

In fairness we asked for the bedding to be changed and they did change the bedding but the smell was exactly the same. Im assuming its something to do with the washers they use or the products but it was not a pleasant smell.

Room Tip: try not to get a room ending in 3.... All of them are the rooms closest to the elevator shaft and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband took to me Myrtle Beach to celebrate our 19th anniversary and my 51st birthday which both are on January 25th. We were there with a group of three other couples. When I made the reservation through Hotels.com I was booked at the Schooner I. We arrived ahead of the other couples, checked in and realized we were booked at the Schooner I not Schooner II. One of the other couples were booked incorrectly as well but was able to correct the error before checking in. My neice explained to the front desk personnel at Schooner II (do not have her name) that we were at Schooner I and not Schooner II. The young lady took the time out of her busy schedule to contact the front desk personnel at Schooner I explain what happened and they decided if we were in agreement we could stay the one night at Schooner I and move to Schooner II the next morning. Needless to say we were very pleased with this kind gesture of the front desk personnel at Schooner II. We were able to join the rest of our group and enjoy our planned weekend together.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms have a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,062 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#86 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camelot by the Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.0 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
1.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club

Address: 2108 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3224
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £51 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Ii Beach/Racquet Club Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing